Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

ACR Spotlight

Old 03-22-2003, 07:15 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Newport News VA
Posts: 641
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ACR Spotlight

I am having a little trouble installing an ACR remote sotlight I recently purchased. The 7 wire harness that came with it just isn't long enough. I did a little calling around and couldn't find anyone that carried a 7 conductor wire. I also have to be careful because I am routing it through my bow rail and sapce is very limited by the time I pull that and 2 more wires through for power. Anyone have any suggestions? Thanks for the help.
jdfnav69 is offline  
Old 03-22-2003, 09:34 PM
  #2  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Topsail, NC USA
Posts: 66
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ACR Spotlight

I was thinking about getting one of these too. where did you mount yours?
pdice is offline  
Old 03-23-2003, 06:09 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Skaneateles, New York
Posts: 5,483
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default ACR Spotlight

jdfnav69...that's a bummer. I have the RCL100D. Totally different wiring, uses coax cable for the run from pad to control box. Are you trying to mount it on the bow pulpit? Have a T-top? If you have to add too much wire, you then have to consider the gauge. Stagger the joints when you add wire to keep size of cable down. Possibly run all new cable with one size bigger wire? Doesn't look like an easy solution. Even if you went to the RCL 100D You'ld have to mount the control box (not pad) foreward and run coax and two wires for power in rail.

Boston Whaler, "MUMBLER", 24' Outrage (1996), twin 175 HP Evinrude Ocean Pros. Snowball, the cat...
Mumblerone is offline  
Old 03-23-2003, 06:15 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 19,824
Received 793 Likes on 448 Posts
Default ACR Spotlight

I've always found the people at ACR to be very helpful - why not call them, explain your predicament and ask them if they can send you the additional length of cable you need?

Tell them that when they built your light they must have been running out of cable as the one that came with your light was too short.
First Light is offline  
Old 03-23-2003, 06:21 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Islip, NY
Posts: 460
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ACR Spotlight

What ga. wire do they recomend. You can buy a multi cable and solder the connectors on. A 10 conductor cable will give you all the communication and power in one cable.
Mogrod is offline  
Old 03-23-2003, 07:06 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Newport News VA
Posts: 641
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ACR Spotlight

I built a bracket out of starboard to mount the light on the very front of my pulpit bowrail. It sandwiches around the rail. I went with the bow rail instead of the hard top at the suggestion of several friends. They all said they had a lot of trouble with glare with theirs mounted on the hard top. Also the one side of my hard top that has wires fished through is pretty much full and I have had no success getting a wire down the other side.
I don't know what size they recommend. The supplied harness is 22 gauge. I'll try to call the manufacturer and see what they have to say tomorrow. I know they sale a 17 foot extension, but if I use that I will have to cut off the plugs and splice it due to size considerations where I am running the wire. Plus it is $32.
I did find a 7 strand wire at Lowes today. It was 22 gauge and was solid core conductor verses stranded. I think it is wire used for the thermostats on hosehold hot water heaters. Do you see any problem with this other than it isn't marine grade? I was planning on soldering the connections, liquid electrical taping them, and then heat shrinking them. I also thought of zip tieing the wires together to ensure the connections didn't get stressed at all.
Thanks for all the suggestions so far.
jdfnav69 is offline  
Old 03-24-2003, 05:42 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Skaneateles, New York
Posts: 5,483
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default ACR Spotlight

First of all, you're gonna love the light; worth the effort. When you say 22 gauge, I assume you mean the contol wire, with the power be a much heavier gauge. I WOULD NOT use single copper wire...the problem is that when it brakes from vibration, your done. Secondly, not being tinned, a little salt water will turn it to mush. Go with individual Ancor (tinned) wire, stranded 22 gauge...use the same color to save money. Boat US, West Marine, etc. will have it. Be sure to label well. No need to get seven 25' rolls. Good luck. Stagger joints to keep the bundle small as possible. Be patient, you'll soon 'see the light'. Incidently, I'm not sure what your buds are are saying about glare...I have none, and the light is mounted higher. A second consideration is that I'm able to use it behind the boat as well. I never considered, putting the light elswhere, that's why it turns 360 degrees.

Boston Whaler, "MUMBLER", 24' Outrage (1996), twin 175 HP Evinrude Ocean Pros. Snowball, the cat...
Mumblerone is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 05:14 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Newport News VA
Posts: 641
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ACR Spotlight

Well here is how it turned out once I finally got it mounted.

Mumbler, I already have spreader lights for the back deck. Maybe the glare depends on how far forward or aft you mount the light on the hard top. I used 12 guage wire for the power and pulled it all the way back to the battery switch and tied in an in line fuse.
jdfnav69 is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 05:28 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Republic of Panama
Posts: 999
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ACR Spotlight

nice install jdfnav69, i was wondering how you ran your wires to conceal them?
waynesworld is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 05:42 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Newport News VA
Posts: 641
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ACR Spotlight

I pulled the aftmost leg of my bow rail and drilled through the bottom plate, then drilled a hole down into the gunnel to get back to the helm for the control panel, and also aft to the battery for power. Up at the light I drilled straight into the inside of the bowrail. The mount is 2 seperate pieces of starboard, one above the rail and one below the rail, so the wire comes in between them and then up through the top one and into the bottom of the light.
jdfnav69 is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 06:58 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Skaneateles, New York
Posts: 5,483
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default ACR Spotlight

Excellent job, first class...this light was not availabe when I got mine. Great Light. Well worth the effort.

Boston Whaler, "MUMBLER", 24' Outrage (1996), twin 175 HP Evinrude Ocean Pros. Snowball, the cat...
Mumblerone is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.