Notices

Garmin 2010

Old 04-06-2003, 06:52 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Gettysburg, PA, USA
Posts: 231
Default Garmin 2010

Can you shorten the antenna cable for the 2010. I onely need about 5 feet of the 2o foot of cable that is supplyed with the antenna.

Tom
Tom 47 is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 09:13 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: LINDENHURST, NY
Posts: 1,775
Default Garmin 2010

Just do a neat job and use a new, good quality, marine rated BNC connector!

The Truth is that Saddam has SARS- Severe Acute Regime Shrinkage!
Big E is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 10:26 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mass.
Posts: 924
Default Garmin 2010

No real problem if you are very careful when cutting down the cable. The "antenna" cable for a 2010 is not really an antenna cable at all. The sensor unit is a self-contained GPS receiver. You can buy one seperately as a Garmin 17N.

You are basically connecting a power cable, a switching cable, and NMEA data out cables to the display head. It is not like the old days where the antenna cable was not meant to be cut. There is no connector on the 2010 cable, not sure what Big E has in mind.
Saltdog is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 11:47 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: LINDENHURST, NY
Posts: 1,775
Default Garmin 2010

SO, SO, SORRY!

Good catch, salt dog!

I reran the VHF coax, cell antenna coax and straightened out some other cable runs on my boat yesterday. Between that and the blizzrad we are having today I got a good case of "brain freeze"!

As he mentioned, it is a collection of diferrent wires unlike a shielded coax or transducer cable. No connector. Just make good solid connections where you join the shortened run. Seal them up too!

The Truth is that Saddam has SARS- Severe Acute Regime Shrinkage!
Big E is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 12:38 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Key Largo, FL, USA
Posts: 593
Default Garmin 2010

You can certainly cut off the cable to the 5', but then you have to skin the cable, re-strip and tin all of those #24 wires that you will need. If you can get by with just coiling up the excess cable and binding with ty-raps, it may be a better way.

I would also check the post here 4/2/03 dealing with terminating 2006c wires which is the same as your 2010. BIRDMAN has an illustration of an excellent terminal strip for these #24 wires.
Gil Morgan is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread