Notices

RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

Old 04-04-2003, 08:46 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: HELENA, GA, USA
Posts: 704
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

I WOULD LIKE TO GET SOME INFO FROM ANYONE OUT THERE WHO IS USING THIS NEW DSM250 SOUNDER WITH THE RAYMARINE HSB PRODUCTS. I AM ABOUT TO PURCHASE ONE OF THE COMPLETE SYSTEMS & WOULD LIKE TO KNOW HOW THEY PERFORM,PROBLEMS, ETC.THANKS IN ADVANCE. CAPT DASH
CAPTDASH is offline  
Old 04-04-2003, 09:13 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Lure, NC,USA
Posts: 472
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

Going to install mine Saturday, may be week or so before in water test.

Will be using a L760 Hi-Brite for the display. It needs all the help it can get as far as marking fish, especially at 200khz.

Scout 202 SF Yamaha F200
Capt Ahab is offline  
Old 04-05-2003, 10:05 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: HELENA, GA, USA
Posts: 704
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

CAPT AHAB, KEEP ME POSTED ON HOW THAT 250 PERFORMS. I WILL BE BUYING THE RL70CRC OR THE RL80CRC IF I CAN FLUSH MOUNT A 10 INCH SCREEN ON MY DASH.I WILL PROBABLY USE A L760PLUS FOR A SECONDARY SCREEN. IT WILL PROBABLY BE ABOUT 3 WEEKS BEFORE I GET MINE PUT TOGETHER. I HAVE BEEN USING THE 470 & 265 RAYTHEON FISHFINDERS ON MY 23. THEY HAVE BEEN VERY RELIABLE. I HOPE YOU HAVE GOOD LUCK WITH YOURS. CAPT DASH
CAPTDASH is offline  
Old 04-05-2003, 12:13 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

I can tell you this, I saw/demo'd the unit last night with Raymarine (at a small boat show). The new DM unit and software is AMAZING!! Really nice stuff. Cant' comment onhow well it atually works as we were in a store in sim mode, but I can tell you they have come along way with their software. LOTS of really cool new features and easier to use.

I have the L470 fish finder and love it. Works perfect for me with a Nylon thru hull ducer, holds bottom at 50+ MPH. I also have the RL70CRC color radar/chartplotter and I love that even more. That machine is amazing and still has the best color screen available.

Birdman, Capt of

Scout Abaco 280 Click here!
Birdman is offline  
Old 04-06-2003, 04:11 AM
  #5  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location:
Posts: 21
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

I'm in the process of installing that package now. Make sure you buy from someone with good support. Consumers Marine is sending me my third DSM 250 because of interfacing problems. It will not show on the displays at this point. Should have another by 4/9. If this one works I will post opinion. The guys at CM have been great. The guys a Raymarine tech support could use some lessons in customer care. The pompous selfcentered a$$ at Simard can lick sand.

Bruce
cliffhanger is offline  
Old 04-06-2003, 04:56 PM
  #6  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location:
Posts: 21
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

Just got back form lake and the sounder worked with the transducer hooked up. It would not work in the simulator mode sitting on the trailer. If it works this good on the big pond, than I have no complaints. It is really clear and detailed. I will call CM in the morning to stop the third unit from being shipped. I guess this problem-not being able to use simulator mode-is due to it being a new system. Other than that problem, I am very pleased with the system. If you have any questions that a rookie like me can help with, please let me know.

Bruce
bpmac2@yahoo.com
cliffhanger is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 05:28 AM
  #7  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Nashua, NH USA
Posts: 1
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

I took a test run on board a Contender during the Miami Boat Show. It was incredible. We were running directly behind a barge and the sea-clutter was not interferring. We also got up to speed approx 50 mhp and the unit was registering instantly. When we went over a school of bait fish, not only did we see the individual fish, but you can detect their swim bladders, usually only visable with larger fish. You will truly be amazed when you see it for yourself.

Denise Nystrom
deenystrom is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 09:07 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Garett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 24,168
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

I don't know about you, but I find your post and follow up hard to read with all capital letters. Also I think it was first said by Birdman, "it's like your shooting at us" and I second that.

Lower case would be appreciated. Sorry to rain on your parade with your effords to be different, but thanks.

Once bitten, twice shy
Garett is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 04:23 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: HELENA, GA, USA
Posts: 704
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

hey garret how is this ? you may know how to type better than i do, so good for you. this old dumb red-neck was playing ball, while you were in that canadian typing class. i am not shooting at anyone. from now on email me your complaints & leave this site for its purpose-boating & fishing.
thanks capt dash
CAPTDASH is offline  
Old 04-08-2003, 07:09 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: South Florida
Posts: 800
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

CaptDash, I know the owner of the 48' Ocean that Raymarine installed a DSM250 and Raymarine was using to demo at the Miami show. I was on the boat a couple times before the boat got shipped to Puerto Rico. The display was very nice. I was with a tournament captain that runs DEEP BLUE a 45 Viking and he liked the unit but he prefers the FCV1100 they have on their boat.
Bamboozle is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 07:16 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerville, MA, USA
Posts: 181
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

Anyone using a DSM sounder added to an L760 Fishfinder/Plotter? I'm thinking of making the upgrade, but I'm having trouble finding out whether it will improve on the already good L760 sounders abilities. I'd love to hear from anyone with this combo before I drop $500+ on the unit.

Jay

2002 Bluewater 2550 w/ T200 HPDI's
JayB is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 07:35 AM
  #12  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Huron, Ohio, USA -
Posts: 1,292
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

JayB,
DO IT!
I previosly ran the standard L760 and added the DSM250 this year. All I can say is I am totally impressed. My fishing is on the great lakes - open water trolling situations where it is important to be able to find schools of baitfish and find the walleye or salmon we are looking for near - under - in the bait. I am amazed at how well it works from trolling speed to 50mph.
Steve
FreeByrd is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 08:21 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Yorba Linda.CA.USA
Posts: 249
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

I've got one on my 26 foot diesel-powered center console. Located the transducer about 5 feet forward of the outdrive using a through-hull with the high speed faring block. As long as I'm not getting too much turbulence under the boat I never lose bottom. The ten inch screen is fantastic to look at under all conditions. My impression is that this unit is quite good at "seeing" fish. I previously had a 600L which I liked a lot but this seems way better. A funny thing about fishfinders, we all seem to think we know what we are looking at. I hear guys say they see baitfish or schools of this or that. How do you know? I would love some expert tips on how to interpret the stuff on screen. The other day while trolling, nothing on the screen and then, two solid red spots appeared. "Get ready", I said. Suddenly, wham-a nice Mako (aka a couple of red spots???). My crew thinks I'm an expert Ha Ha. How do you guys use your machines?
Ron
helpu2c is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 08:36 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Yorba Linda.CA.USA
Posts: 249
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

Oh yeah, one more thing. My unit is the combo setup with radar and chartplotting as well. The radar is quite good but in all honesty I find the chartplotter very clunky.

Reasons: Slow redraw and then only if you make a significant turn. The map doesn't move, only the cursor moves in north up setting. In the other settings you go all the way to the edge before redraw occurs. This means you sail right off the screen unless you refresh it manually. The track memory is too small to store anything but a low detail crumb trail. Is memory that expensive? I added a Garmin 182c to the console to ease my frustration. Now that's how a chartplotter should work.
Ron
helpu2c is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 11:55 AM
  #15  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sheepshead Bay
Posts: 55
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

quote:Originally posted by cliffhanger:
I'm in the process of installing that package now. Make sure you buy from someone with good support. Consumers Marine is sending me my third DSM 250 because of interfacing problems. It will not show on the displays at this point. Should have another by 4/9. If this one works I will post opinion. The guys at CM have been great. The guys a Raymarine tech support could use some lessons in customer care. The pompous selfcentered a$$ at Simard can lick sand.

Bruce

Typical, typical,typical RAY stuff. Rush it out to buyers with not enough testing. Give medium support and waste time swapping units. Lots of out of box problems and DOA's. When will tey learn?

Wassa matta you?
Made Man is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 12:12 PM
  #16  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niantic,CT
Posts: 67
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

Mine is awesome

help2c: Did you adjust the track point interval? There are some things that I would like on the chartplotter as well, but overall, I am very satisfied with the product. The fishfinder is tremendous.
Joeguy is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 06:51 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerville, MA, USA
Posts: 181
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

Well I'd be buying mine as a refurb from the repair center in NH. The guy who upgraded the firmware in my 2 year old HSB2 units was great and tested the DSM250 while they were at the facility. He said he's got a number there that he's tested and they work. Sounds like it might be worthwhile to upgrade if everyone is liking them that much.

Jay

2002 Bluewater 2550 w/ T200 HPDI's
JayB is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 07:21 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Yorba Linda.CA.USA
Posts: 249
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

Joeguy, yes I have adjusted the interval on the track. Being that the less often you drop a crumb the less memory used but also you get a less than detailed track. One reason I like a finely detailed track is so I can mark a track around a reef or other object of interest. A detailed track is also more accurate to follw in the dark or fog. Even a 4 year old cheapie Lowrance unit that I previously owned did better that the Raymarine. I know I'm being pickie but how much memory does it take to draw a track and hold it in memory?
helpu2c is offline  
Old 11-15-2003, 09:23 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 2,406
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

Helpu2c,

Do you have the HSB2 upgrade? If not, get it done. It adds a ton of video memory which really improves redraw time. Also, mine never goes to the edge of the screen...it goes about 2/3 to 3/4 of the way up, then recenters. This may be a firmware/software issue. Mine has the latest as of July...version 4.09 I believe.

Harry
Harry Brosofsky is offline  
Old 11-16-2003, 02:29 AM
  #20  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sheepshead Bay
Posts: 55
Default RAYMARINE DSM 250 SOUNDER

quote:Originally posted by JayB:
Well I'd be buying mine as a refurb from the repair center in NH. The guy who upgraded the firmware in my 2 year old HSB2 units was great and tested the DSM250 while they were at the facility. He said he's got a number there that he's tested and they work. Sounds like it might be worthwhile to upgrade if everyone is liking them that much.

Jay

2002 Bluewater 2550 w/ T200 HPDI's

Gee, on the market only 6 months and already refirb units out there!! See!

Wait until all bugs are complained about and watch what happens when you got to unrig everything and spend money to send back to Ray to upgrade, Things that used to work won't.

Your installer has a "number of them" there that he tested and work? Wow, that's nince. Aint tey suposed to work?

Wassa matta you?
Made Man is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread