Notices

Raymarine radar problems(continual!!)

Old 11-29-2002, 04:30 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Jacksonville, FL.
Posts: 10,782
Default Raymarine radar problems(continual!!)

Like the Energizer bunny, the problems go on and on and on. I have posted some of this information before. To recap, I bought a Raymarine SL70 radar less than 3 years ago. It has had multiple problems causing me to remove and re-install the entire unit many, many times(not alot of fun). It was fixed under warranty but always fails again in just a few months. Recently, it failed again(it's always the same problem) only this time, it was out of warranty and I was told the part I needed was $550 plus labor plus I had to ship my unit back to Raymarine. Remember this is a unit that only cost around $1500 new. I complained to Raymarine and they had me ship the unit to them again for the 6th or 7th time. I wrote down specific questions I wanted Raymarine to answer. 1. Why does it keep doing this and what are they going to do to prevent another failure now that it is out of warranty? 2. What happens the next time the same problem crops up? Etc, Etc. Raymarine fixed the radar at no charge and sent it back with no explanation of what they did. I sent 2 faxes to service where they have answered before but got no answer this time. I then mailed a letter to the president of the company, again, no response. It is obvious to me that Raymarine has washed their hands of me. So here is my opinion. The radar is nice...when it works which has not been very often. They have refused to fix the root cause of the problem. They have not done the right thing in this case. They have provided poor customer relations and have lost a customer forever. This radar and trying to work with Raymarine has been a nightmare. I guess it is OK to spend $1500 on a radar and another $200 for installation every 2-3 years because it is disposable. Not that they will go out of business because I will never own another product from Raymarine but I hope that anyone looking to buy electronics takes pause and considers what happened to me. Sorry for the ranting. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif[/img]

FOR SAIL
A 27' Tiara Express...for now
JAGSARE1 is offline  
Old 11-29-2002, 09:13 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,026
Default Raymarine radar problems(continual!!)

In general I concurr . . . my previous boat, a 36' big name sportfisher had Raytheon gear and it seemed like I was always getting something worked on. My buddy with a 27' pilothouse has an all Raytheon helm right now and same thing . . . always something in the shop. I'm sure its good stuff but my personal experience is negative. My current boat is all Simrad (radar, dgps, chartplotter, color fathometer) and I couldn't be happier.

21' Custom Aluminum CC, Honda 90
Chaps is offline  
Old 11-29-2002, 11:09 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Miami, FL - 2003 Seacraf
Posts: 100
Default Raymarine radar problems(continual!!)

I've got an L760 and RL70C with a 2kw radome and have been very happy with them. The only problem I've had in the past 2 years is the screens were fogging. Sent them both in for a retrofit of a new type screen and upgraded them to HSB2 while they were at it. Not a problem since. I'm kinda curious what all of these problems are that you're having though... Who did your installation? If it's a cable problem why send in the unit? As a matter of fact why pay the shipping for the repair at all? If you got your unit at Boat US they'd send it in for you at their expense. They did for me anyway... [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

SEVENX

Bruce Braunstein CCP
sevenx@bellsouth.net
sevenx is offline  
Old 11-30-2002, 04:31 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
PLEDGERPLEDGERPLEDGERPLEDGER
 
Snapper Head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Republic of West Florida - the ORIGINAL lone star state
Posts: 17,780
Default Raymarine radar problems(continual!!)

I have Raytheon stuff - radar, chartplotter, echo sounder. It all has served me well. I did have to send the GPS/chartplotter in one time, and could not get a clear explanation of the repair that was done (it stopped finding satellites).

I like my gear, but I'm glad to see your post and am not going to try to convince you that Raytheon is the best. So rave on Jags, that's what THT is for. Thanks for sharing your experience. Voting with your wallet, the purest essence of the American way.


Big Al
Snapper Head is offline  
Old 11-30-2002, 05:46 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Skaneateles, New York
Posts: 5,483
Default Raymarine radar problems(continual!!)

I bought my boat with a Raytheon radar, VHF, and depth sounder: so to match I also added a Raytheon hailer. All have preformed flawlessly...I take all the stuff off for winter storage. I certainly inderstand your frustration...You mention you had multiple problems. Were they related to installation or manufacuring? In general, you here very little comment on this site vs problems with Raytheon (now Raymarine). Maybe we can help! [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif[/img] [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif[/img]
Mumblerone is offline  
Old 11-30-2002, 12:07 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Hanover, NJ, USA
Posts: 251
Default Raymarine radar problems(continual!!)

Hello,
I also have the 760 with chart, I think the resolution to be exceptional, great unit. I sent unit in for soatware upgrade for plus2 upgrade, since my unit was fairly new they did it for nothing. Installed there radar, with HSB2 you can overlay onto chart, which I like, helps confirm what your seeing. I have never had a problem. Called Tech a few times for installation questions, they were very helpful. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]
Steelhant is offline  
Old 11-30-2002, 05:17 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Jacksonville, FL.
Posts: 10,782
Default Raymarine radar problems(continual!!)

A few details I left out that may explain some things. Not an installation problem. Normally I install everything myself but in this case an electronics guy did it because the boat was across the state. It has always been the same thing, boards that are in the array and the head unit. I forgot what they are called. My local authorized Raymarine technician said that the problem was that my radar needed an upgrade that was on all the later models. Unfortunately, Raymarine never told me about the upgrade and never offered. When I asked about it, they were adamant that the upgrade would not fix the problem. Guess what, when they fixed it the final time, they sent me all the upgrades(unfortunately I had to install them but at least I have them).

I will say what I said before, when it works, it is very nice and I am satisfied with the performance. I am not satisfied with the reliability or longevity. I can't tell you how many boats I have seen with total Raymarine electronics packages on new boats that crap out within 1-2 years. Check out alot of the Luhrs Raymarine pkgs and you will see alot of units that no longer work. Thanks for listening. I certainly wish good luck to all who have a Raymarine product but I have been burned by them and will not give them another chance.

FOR SAIL
A 27' Tiara Express...for now
JAGSARE1 is offline  
Old 12-02-2002, 07:52 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Posts: 118
Default Raymarine radar problems(continual!!)

Articles like this one are the best ever Furuno Advertisements.

jjmcdonald@hotmail.com
jmcdnald@cisco.com
irish is offline  
Old 12-02-2002, 03:08 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Raymarine radar problems(continual!!)

I also have a Raymarine L470 ff, 70CRC radar /charploter with 2kw radome. I've had no problems in 2 years. I've had questions and watned to upgrade mine and contacted Raymarine many a time. If find they are VERY helpfull. It's actually amazed me how much help they've given me. However, don't bother Emailing them cause I don't think they have an Email system yet!! [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif[/img] I tried that and got responses weeks later. But if ya call, they help.

Birdman, Capt of
Birdman is offline  
Old 12-03-2002, 07:12 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Jacksonville, FL.
Posts: 10,782
Default Raymarine radar problems(continual!!)

I know that some have had good luck and I am happy for you guys. I really tried to work with them and they were very difficult and haven't figured out how to communicate with their customers. Their official stance with me right now(I am guessing) is to not respond to me at all. They have never made an attempt to discuss anything with me ever.

Someone earlier was right, this should get someone to consider the alternatives. For me, Furuno will get my future business and at 39 years old, there are alot of boats in my future.

FOR SAIL
A 27' Tiara Express...for now
JAGSARE1 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread