Notices

Icom GP-360ML Chartplotter

Old 12-04-2002, 08:29 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 6
Default Icom GP-360ML Chartplotter

Bought one on sale. Has anyone had any experience with this unit? It uses Navionic Cartography.
seatug is offline  
Old 12-04-2002, 09:23 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Icom GP-360ML Chartplotter

You might get a better answer if you asked if anyone has had any experience with the same model by Micorlogic. ICOM bought them out about 2 years ago, inherited the model, and has been selling it, in small quantitys, every since.

Thom

"Just because you're on their side doesn't mean they're on your side."
(--Teresa Nielsen Hayden)
Thom is offline  
Old 12-04-2002, 10:17 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 6
Default Icom GP-360ML Chartplotter

Thanks Thom
seatug is offline  
Old 12-04-2002, 01:22 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Icom GP-360ML Chartplotter

Seatug,

I could have given you a better answer, but I was at work and didn't have a bunch of time.

I have only used two of those units and that was a while back. As I recall they were very easy to use (because I don't recall having had any problem figuring out how it worked) and that it was about equal to the old Garmin 210 I had at the time when it came to screen redraw and such. I recall that the screen quality was pretty good, and in fact it occurs to me that I thought it was clearer than the Garmin, in that it had better contrast, though maybe not the resolution. It seems to me that, and please remember this was a while back, that the screen was a bit on the small size. I do definitly remember that it locked on very quickly, in fact I remember that part very well indeed. Overall I think it was a pretty nice unit.

Again this is just from memory, but as I recall Micrologic actually went tits-up before ICOM came in with the checkbook. When the company folded it seems to me that an electronics supplier somewhere on Maryland's eastern shore bought up all the spare parts and such and was going to continue servicing the units into the future. Of course ICOM will now have that responsibility, but I just thought it might be of some interest to you.

So in a nutshell, its a nice unit. Its design is a couple of years old so if you were to set it next to one of todays latest and greatest you'd probably find it a bit slow, but that's not really all that important. I liked the brief exposure to the thing that I had and I suspect it will serve you well. One thing that is pretty nice, I don't recall anyone ever bitching about one breaking down on them. Lot to be said for that .....

Thom

"Just because you're on their side doesn't mean they're on your side."
(--Teresa Nielsen Hayden)
Thom is offline  
Old 12-05-2002, 03:57 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 6
Default Icom GP-360ML Chartplotter

Thanks again...
seatug is offline  
Old 12-06-2002, 09:49 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Posts: 118
Default Icom GP-360ML Chartplotter

I have one of the 270s which does not have a chart reader with it. I had bought it as a backup for the Standard Horizon CP 170 to give me a backup GPS due to the Trimbul dying on me.
I was very impressed with the speed and use of the unit, and the fact that it has tide and current charts for the entire US built into it as a database.
As Thom said, VERY readable and useful. With the new Navionics, it is a Very good implementation for a chart plotter.
I don't use the 270 because I bought a Furuno 1850 DF on a Extrodinary good sale and now have a second spare GPS unit that I will probably give to a friend as a backup for his.
I believe the 360 also has built in Tide and Currents database for the US. This can be very useful.

Jim

jjmcdonald@hotmail.com
jmcdnald@cisco.com
irish is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread