Notices

RayMarine ST6001 Autopilot

Closed Thread

Old 11-15-2004, 09:26 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 434
Default RayMarine ST6001 Autopilot

I have the Raymarine ST5000+ autopilot now that is having problems. I am pretty sure it is just the pump, but they want 600 for the pump. I can get a whole new ST6001 kit for 1050$.

Is it worth the extra $$$ for the whole new setup? Or should I just replace the pump on the one I have?
Snapper Slapper is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 10:37 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location:
Posts: 2,286
Default RE: RayMarine ST6001 Autopilot

I think the best part of the new ST6001 over anything old is the new rate-compass option, this greatly improved control. But that said, if everthing is working well and it is just the pump, I think I would opt for just replacing the pump, not an easy 123 swap when installing autopilots.
marlinmike is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 11:12 AM
  #3  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wilson NY
Posts: 95
Default RE: RayMarine ST6001 Autopilot

Actually if you do choose the new pilot which is heads and tails above the the 5000. You replace the pump which is easy enough and everything else is plug and play reroute your fluxgate power pump wiring to new corepack and seatalk from corepack to head the controlhead is nolonger the brain. It also comes with the smartheading sensor built in allowing you to do radar overlay on your chart.(sg1) By purchasing new also gives you extra parts just in case they are cheaper with the package than seperate.
fishrman is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 11:14 AM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wilson NY
Posts: 95
Default RE: RayMarine ST6001 Autopilot

you can also leave power to your 5000 head use seatalk and use it as a data repeater for depth speed whatever
fishrman is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 05:01 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bay Shore, N.Y.
Posts: 415
Default RE: RayMarine ST6001 Autopilot

How old is your 5000?....For the extra $550, aside from all the spare parts, you also get a whole new warranty.
JPBass1 is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 05:59 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 434
Default RE: RayMarine ST6001 Autopilot

5000 is out of warranty, 2 years+.

You guys know if they both use the same pump?

Just doesn't sound like the features are worth it, but maybe the warranty is a good point.
Snapper Slapper is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 06:05 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 434
Default RE: RayMarine ST6001 Autopilot

What is the diff between the standard 6001 vs. the G version?

"G" version corepacks feature a built in Rate Gyro sensor and Raymarine AST (Advanced Steering Technology).

Anyone know if this is worth double the price?
Snapper Slapper is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 06:36 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa.
Posts: 1,977
Default RE: RayMarine ST6001 Autopilot

I can tell you this much. I have the 6001 head with the g-1 core pack, we used it all last summer and it worked great. It holds a true course, there's no S wakes behind the boat. We went through some rough weather on lake Huron this summer, had 10' following sea's and the system worked great. Best money I ever spent on the boat.
C Dave is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 06:39 PM
  #9  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wilson NY
Posts: 95
Default RE: RayMarine ST6001 Autopilot

same pump
fishrman is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 07:18 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: mid/lower Chesapeake
Posts: 870
Default RE: RayMarine ST6001 Autopilot

The ST5000 has the same pump,rudder reference & fluxgate as the S1 & the S1G so none of that will have to be changed. You'll just have a spare compass & feedback. If you can spring the extra $500,go for the S1G with the built-in rate compass...it'll be worth the extra$$$.
Boomerang is offline  
Old 11-16-2004, 09:52 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 3,235
Default RE: RayMarine ST6001 Autopilot

Try eBay for a pump.
HDRyder999 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: