Notices

PA Speaker Setup Question

Old 04-15-2003, 09:01 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 448
Default PA Speaker Setup Question

Hey fellas - I got a PA speaker for my VHF off of ebay. The PA has a black and white wire coming out of it; but my VHF has an RCA jack for the PA output. Any thoughts or recommendations on installation? TIA

Oh yeah, I have a Standard VHF the PA speaker is made by SPECO. Thanks!

BuckTales
Edgewater 247CC
BuckTales is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 09:14 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Surfside Beach, TX, USA
Posts: 2,474
Default PA Speaker Setup Question

Sounds like a trip to Radio Shack and about two dollars expense for the connector.
savage is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 09:20 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 448
Default PA Speaker Setup Question

Thanks savage! Not to sound dumb, but I assume you mean there is a way to make the exising white and black wires from the PA speaker form one single RCA jack?

BuckTales
Edgewater 247CC
BuckTales is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 09:40 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Surfside Beach, TX, USA
Posts: 2,474
Default PA Speaker Setup Question

The connector you pick up from Radio Shack will unscrew. Once inside, you'll attach the white wire to the center post and the black wire to the outer ring. You may need a soldering iron to make it right but some connectors have internal screw terminals. Quick and easy!
savage is offline  
Old 04-16-2003, 05:27 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 448
Default PA Speaker Setup Question

Thanks again savage. I'll be installing 2nite. Mounting this beast to the t-top should be really interesting.

BuckTales
Edgewater 247CC
BuckTales is offline  
Old 04-16-2003, 07:40 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default PA Speaker Setup Question

This is what you need. This is a package of 6 but you can get them singularly at the shack for a buck or two. Solder the white lead to the center pin, the balck lead to the outside pin/ground. A word of caution, SHRINK WRAP IT!! And I mean first shrink wrap the RCA connector you solder on to seal it, and then shrink wrap both connectors (vhf and pa speaker) after pushing them together. You will need a big peice for this a couple inches long.

http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...5Fid=274%2D451

Birdman, Capt of

Scout Abaco 280 Click here!
Birdman is offline  
Old 04-16-2003, 08:40 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 448
Default PA Speaker Setup Question

Thanks Birdman! Sounds like a great plan. Any suggestions on mounting it to the t-top. Are there brackets made so I don't have to drill through one of the t-top mounting plates to bolt it on?

BuckTales
Edgewater 247CC
BuckTales is offline  
Old 04-16-2003, 12:18 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default PA Speaker Setup Question

quote:Originally posted by BuckTales:
Thanks Birdman! Sounds like a great plan. Any suggestions on mounting it to the t-top. Are there brackets made so I don't have to drill through one of the t-top mounting plates to bolt it on?

BuckTales
Edgewater 247CC

Brackets to mount what? The radio?

Birdman, Capt of

Scout Abaco 280 Click here!
Birdman is offline  
Old 04-16-2003, 05:47 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Surfside Beach, TX, USA
Posts: 2,474
Default PA Speaker Setup Question

Could you mount it to the bottom of the electronics box? That might be easier than drilling a hole in the bottom of the pipe. But if you do have to drill into the alloy, start with an indent (nail, centerpunch, phillips head) so that your drill bit doesn't start walking on you.
savage is offline  
Old 04-16-2003, 08:04 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 448
Default PA Speaker Setup Question

My VHF is already mounted in the elec. box. I'm just trying to figure out how/where to mount the PA speaker itself. Thanks guys, this has been really helpful!

BuckTales
Edgewater 247CC
BuckTales is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread