Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Simrad NSE8 Power Off?

Old 02-23-2011, 02:23 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 822
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Simrad NSE8 Power Off?

Anyone have a problem turning their NSE8 off?

I try to turn it off, go through the hold button/release bit and it shutdowns. We'll about 5 seconds later I hear it reboot. Tried searching the menu to see if something funny was going on. We'll I have an email in and tried to get in contact with Navico today, hope better luck tomorrow.

Thanks
Old 02-23-2011, 05:04 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: mechanicsburg , pa.
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Fish
Let me get this right you tried to get a hold of Simrad (Navico) Customer sevice and you couldnt get anybody?

Charlie
Old 02-23-2011, 05:43 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 482
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

If it is like the Lowrance you are not supposed to hold the button in as it is a computer. Mine, you hit the power button and a drop down menu comes up and then you go to the power off button on the screen to shut it down properly.
Old 02-23-2011, 05:43 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 14,783
Received 616 Likes on 464 Posts
Default

I'd suggest a phone call may be more effective. Mid-week the wait shouldn't be too bad.
Old 02-24-2011, 09:34 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location:
Posts: 241
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Is the yellow wire connected to +12v or negative at all?
Old 02-24-2011, 06:19 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 822
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I was very surprised to get a detailed message from a technician on my phone this morning followed by an email with the same detail. Then was able to get in touch with him easily through his extension when I called him back.

Problem is still there, will try another troubleshooting idea with him.

Salty, good point on the yellow wire, it is not connected to anything. This problem came up after about 8 months of usage, before that it was fine.
Old 02-25-2011, 07:06 AM
  #7  
vc
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Welaka,FL
Posts: 1,918
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

please do keep us updated. And I am glad to hear they are quick to contact you back and trying to resolve your issue.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.