Notices

Running VHF right to battery......

Old 04-14-2003, 05:17 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: North Shore
Posts: 966
Default Running VHF right to battery......

I was told today by several people that I should run my vhf right to the battery if at all possible. They said this would be crucial should things go wrong with the "other" wiring and you needed to use the radio.
Thoughts?
Lobsta is offline  
Old 04-14-2003, 05:51 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Skaneateles, New York
Posts: 5,483
Default Running VHF right to battery......

It is not necessary, but if you do be sure to put a fuse in line near the battery and be sure to turn the unit off. Use quality Ancor or similiar wire.

Boston Whaler, "MUMBLER", 24' Outrage, twin 175 HP Evinrude Ocean Pros. Snowball, the cat...
Mumblerone is offline  
Old 04-14-2003, 06:14 PM
  #3  
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 33
Default Running VHF right to battery......

run it directly to the battery? I understand what you say about other wires failing but seems to me the probability of that occurring is no higher than your VHF wire run having a problem. If you really want to wire it direct I'd prefer to run it directly to a distribution or fuse block panel. That way it is still in effect wired directly to the battery but you avoid the clutter "rats nest" potential from all kinds of wires coming from the battery terminals.
Chisnik is offline  
Old 04-14-2003, 08:48 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Running VHF right to battery......

Exactly. Running a single wire all the way to your battery is probably WORSE than connecting it to a local distribution/fuse block close by.

If you want to be sure your VHF works when you have electrical problems, carry an emergency hand hand VHF. You can pick one up for under a hundred bucks now-a-days. Well spent potatoes the day you need it.

Birdman, Capt of

Scout Abaco 280 Click here!
Birdman is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 03:49 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default Running VHF right to battery......

One thing to consider when using a single feed to a distribution block.

The wires must be large enough to power everything on at the same time as transmitting. You dont want only 10 volts getting to the vhf because the stereo and bilge pump is running. And when it's panic time, you may not think to shut everything off just so the vhf can transmit at full power.

My vhf has it's own power leads to the battery (so does my FF, and radar). Redundancy is a good thing on boats.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 04-16-2003, 03:05 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Thornton's Ferry,NH,USA
Posts: 10,659
Default Running VHF right to battery......

There are wiring attachments you can put on your battery to accept several circuits. I've seen them in several catalogs, Cabela's and I think, Basspro and Overton's.

This will allow a dedicated hook-up for your priority circuits.

Good Luck!

--
One day at a time.
Kamper is offline  
Old 04-16-2003, 06:53 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MA and ME
Posts: 16,795
Default Running VHF right to battery......

The reason someone might have told you this was to avoid any electrical noise from other components in the circuit. I was given this same advice when I installed a 250 watt kicker in my truck. I did as advised and that radio was clear as vodka. Installed a 100 bass tube and could not be bothered with the directions that came with it. They said a straight shot to the battery for both wires. It was clear as well. I guess it's anyones guess. I would not care to have too many loose wires hanging around the battery posts. Like someone posted, a hand held would be a good choice or even a length of wire from the toolbox to make a direct hookup if really needed.
Mist-Rest is offline  
Old 04-17-2003, 04:38 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: North Shore
Posts: 966
Default Running VHF right to battery......

Thanks for the input.
I decided I would go to the panel and then carry a spare set of wires that would reach from the VHF to the batt if needed.....
Lobsta is offline  
Old 06-08-2003, 03:53 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Orleans La, USA
Posts: 18
Default Running VHF right to battery......

Sea-Trac of Metairie La. had me run my vhf power directly to the battery. You want as little voltage drop as possible. I used 12 ga. wire and put them in a drill and twisted them to make a harness. This also makes them shielded from electrical noise. Be sure to fuse at the battery with a 10 amp fuse and then use a small fuse at the radio.
You will like the increase in your radio output. My wire run was just short of 25 ft.
Gary

1995 Sunbird Neptune 24 ft.
2001 Evinrude Ram Fitch 250, new style viper 14.75x19
Raytheon 10xx radar, Garmin 2006,
The Wanderer is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread