Notices

Temperature on Ducer -- how important?

Old 04-15-2003, 11:53 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Miami, Florida USA
Posts: 632
Default Temperature on Ducer -- how important?

Mainly S.Fla/Keys bottom fishing 30 to 200 feet;

Fish mostly all year ... Hate to loose the temp feature but my mech. is pushing for shot through installation of my Furuno LS 6100 ..

Wonder what you guys think of the temp feature
(sorry for many posts but the job is being done almost as we speak ) Thanks in advance..
rayos is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 12:33 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default Temperature on Ducer -- how important?

It serves no purpose bottom fishing.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 12:52 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lakeland, FL Scout 185SF
Posts: 422
Default Temperature on Ducer -- how important?

What's more important is what kind hull do you have??

My crummy Scout has a cored hull so you can't use a shoot-thru transducer. Try it before you make it permanent.
work2fish is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 12:55 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Miami, Florida USA
Posts: 632
Default Temperature on Ducer -- how important?

Them scouts..

I have a solid fiberglass .. going to place it down with a bag to see readings before pick a spot.
rayos is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 01:14 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mass.
Posts: 924
Default Temperature on Ducer -- how important?

If you decide later you want to add temperature, you can get a separate temperature sensor and mount it on your transom. You need a special Y cable, but it would be a very simple proposition and not too expensive.
Saltdog is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 02:04 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Miami, Florida USA
Posts: 632
Default Temperature on Ducer -- how important?

Thanks Salt .. that sounds like the solution.
rayos is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread