Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Furuno LS6100-Need help

Old 05-07-2003, 04:38 PM
  #1  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Niantic, Clinton CT
Posts: 83
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

Well guys, based on the excellent information gleaned from THT on the merits of the LS6100, I just installed the unit on my new Seapro 220WA. Once in the water I had a chance to use the unit and, much to my surprise, I was very unhappy with what I saw.
First, the screen visibility and clarity were very poor. It was a sunny day here in CT but I did have the bimini top up, so I can't blame it on sun glare. I messed with the brilliance and contrast to get the best looking screen possible and still had a hard time reading it! I do wear glasses and my guess is with sunglasses on the screen would be almost non-readable. Am I missing something in the adjustments? Anyone else have a similar problem with this unit?

Secondly, running in auto mode there is a lot of clutter (band of fuzz) at the zero line as well as a considerable distance below the bottom line.
Haven't tried using the manual mode since I got so bogged down in fideling with the the various adjustments in the auto mode.

Thirdly, the Furuno manual sucks. It really doesn't explain a thing, other than how to make adjustments, but not what they should be for optimal performance.

I need some serious help from those experienced in using the 6100. Or, do I just have a lousy unit and should I be talking to Furuno about warranty issues? What am I missing guys? I hate to think it is just a matter of adjustinng the unit properly and I'm missing it. Any and all help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

George
george2431 is offline  
Old 05-07-2003, 06:29 PM
  #2  
jlr
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Huntington, NY
Posts: 1,374
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

I have the same unit and similar issues. I tried running in the manual mode and it helped somewhat but basically, I still can not get rid of the clutter at the o line.
jlr is offline  
Old 05-08-2003, 07:16 PM
  #3  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Magnolia, Delaware
Posts: 21
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

Don't feel like the lone ranger guys. I too bought a 6100 after reading the rave reviews here. Not only do I have massive "fuzz" at the zero line, this thing had a heck of a time "seeing" concrete pipe on the bottom in 40ft of water. I'm not at all impressed with the performance of this unit.
GradyWhite244 is offline  
Old 05-09-2003, 09:39 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

Well now I don't feel like the Lone Ranger. Manual sucks. Fish alarm goes off all the time but never marks any fish. Getting very annoyed with this unit.
fishgut is offline  
Old 05-09-2003, 11:03 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh / Morehead City, NC
Posts: 1,144
Received 95 Likes on 55 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

What transducer are you guys running with the LS6100?? Thru-hull, in-hull or transom mount??
Billable Hours is offline  
Old 05-09-2003, 01:18 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 281
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

Hmmm.......my boat goes in water tomorrow and i installed the 6100 on it. This does not look too promising. I'll post my impressions tomorrow.
Sal.

If you run - you'll only die tired.
Cpt. Kompot is offline  
Old 05-09-2003, 04:30 PM
  #7  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Niantic, Clinton CT
Posts: 83
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

Airmar transom mount with speed and temp. I've installed fish finders before so I know the installation is correct. Contacted Furuno, they are absolutely no help, other than recommending I get the unit checked out by an authorized dealer. My old Apelco 265 never gave me this kind of grief! Anxious to hear Kompot's evaluation. Based on "Power Boats" evaluation, this is the greatest unit under $400 since sliced bread and Coca Cola. Maybe those of us having problems are just stupid or, something was lost in the translation of the manual from Japanese to English. Feeling pretty frustrated at this point. Afraid to trust the unit to even tell me where the bottom is so I don't run aground. Sure would like to hear from some of those folks on this board who have good experiences with the 6100.
george2431 is offline  
Old 05-10-2003, 08:35 AM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: stuart,fl
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

Afraid to trust the unit to even tell me where the bottom is so I ~~~'t run aground. [/QUOTE]

...well my unit drops readings around 3 feet.. so i therefore know i'm close to running aground.. can't find any adjustment to correct this.. anyone have recmdations? ..otherwise unit performs acceptibally..
bummer12 is offline  
Old 05-10-2003, 09:14 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Nor\'East - MA
Posts: 2,385
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

quote:Originally posted by bummer12:
... well my unit drops readings around 3 feet ... can't find any adjustment to correct this ...

Per Furuno Tech Service, their algorithm won't display to 2' and there are many reports it won't read to 3-4' below the puck anyway . If you really need to know where the bottom is ... that ain't the machine for you and even Furuno staff admitted that to me.

Nice deep-water performance though!

"Life's too short to own an ugly boat ..."
Reel-Rascals is offline  
Old 05-12-2003, 06:59 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh / Morehead City, NC
Posts: 1,144
Received 95 Likes on 55 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

Neither my old 1650DF or my current 582L would/will read below 3ft, so it's not just the LS6100. I've found that in shallow water, I have to switch to manual mode and drop the gain way down in order to get a decent depth reading/bottom graph. If I leave either in auto mode in shallow water, they'll lock up.
Billable Hours is offline  
Old 05-12-2003, 07:22 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gulf of Maine
Posts: 2,942
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

I took at least 6 months to decided on which fishfinder I was going to put on my small boat. I too read the review that rated the 6100 as the top machine in the under $400 class. When I looked at the display in the store however I was very disapointed in screen resolution and knew that it would probably be near to impossible for me to see in direct sunlight (or any light for that matter).

I looked at the furuno 600L (color machine about $700) and liked it much better but I kept reading reports about sunlight viewability. I finally decided on the 1650WF which is a combo plotter/sounder. The screen is easily readable in direct sunlight because of the AR coating furuno now uses...this coating is not available on the 6100 or 600L. The sounder portion is the same as the 582L which is a 600 watt RMS machine and vastly superior to the 600L. Some guys reported that the screen is small (6" --5.6" viewable) when trying to use the split screen option. While I tend to agree with them I found that it is so simple to switch from sounder to plotter that I simply switch back and forth.

I have just started using the machine but I know that it is nescessary to put it in manual mode ( instead of the factory's default auto) and adjust gain, range, clutter, signal level, white marker and even background color in order to achieve optimum performance. I dont know if the 6100 has these options but it might be worth the time to break out your manual and experiment.

I guess the bottom line is you get what you pay for. A $400 machine is only going to perform so well (regardless of a written review). The 1650WF is a tremendous overkill for my little boat but I am happy with every penny I spent to get something I can enjoy. IMHO thats what boating is all about.
Codfisher is offline  
Old 05-12-2003, 08:44 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 281
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

Ok, gents!!!
Put the boat in the water on Saturday and tried out the new machine. I definitely like the screen better than the LS6000 i had before. Its much sharper and easier to read. Not sure about the direct sunlight though. Under the t-top it was very nice. My biggest concern was the ducer installed so damn close to the trim tab but i'd have to say that i never lost the bottom cruising.
The clutter at the surface level kinda sucks. True. But i will break out the manual and see what i can do. So far the only disappointment i have is the fact that the NMEA cable i had going into the unit doesn't fit anymore. I guess they changed the pin layout. I'm not even sure where it was coming from but i guess from the GPS (Garmin 180). This was just a preliminary test. Will test it further and post my impressions.

Sal.

If you run - you'll only die tired.
Cpt. Kompot is offline  
Old 05-12-2003, 09:45 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh / Morehead City, NC
Posts: 1,144
Received 95 Likes on 55 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

If I understand correctly, the LS6100 is basically the same as the LS6000, but with different screen and set up to handle dual frequency, right?? If so, shouldn't the algorithms be the same?? Which leads me to another question - is the surface clutter evident at both 50 and 200 kHz?? Shallow or deep water, or does it matter?? Running or not running, or does it matter??

Cpt. Kompot - did you have to do anything special to set up the LS6000 when that was installed on your boat? Does that mean you're using the same transducer/installation and just swapping one unit for the other, or did you change ducers, too?

I have not installed mine yet. I got it for up in the marlin tower, just to use it occasionally to get a bottom contour reading on the break, not for detailed fish finding (i.e. didn't need to spend another $1000 or so to put a 582L up there). It should be going in this week or next. I'm using a thru-hull transducer already installed in the boat (Airmar 525ST-MSD). I will let you know if this makes a difference.
Billable Hours is offline  
Old 05-12-2003, 12:06 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 281
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

The LS6000 came with the boat, so i didn't install it. I had to change the transducer for the new unit, which kinda sucked. Because of the new ducer's design i wasn't able to mount it in the old spot which was near the centerline, at the lowest point of the transom. Now the new one is RIGHT next to the starboard trim-tab.
Now about the units. The LS6100 does handle both frequencies. But the main reason for replacement was the screen. The readability of the old one was very poor. The waterline clutter really doesn't bother me that much. Seems like i get less of it in 200kHz mode. Like i said, i will play with it more and see what i can come up with.

If you run - you'll only die tired.
Cpt. Kompot is offline  
Old 05-12-2003, 12:31 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: South Shore - Boston, MA
Posts: 152
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

I had problems the first time I ran with my 6100. Tuned it the other night & I am very happy with it - I was able to read at up to 35MPH.

Still tuning it, try 200 only for inshore and dual or 50 for deep.

Reading is no issue for me as it's in an electronic box under the t-top.

Interested to see how you guys make out.

Good luck!

Roop

Pressure Drop
Roop is offline  
Old 05-13-2003, 04:50 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: On the Water VA.
Posts: 167
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

I had that unit when it was first introduced to replace an old Lowrance 350a When buying the unit I purchased for some of the same reasons Best under 400 ect I must say the screen reso was not what I expected , Surface clutter," even though can can be corrected with adjustments ect , well I use the unit for about 2 weeks of hard fishing offshore & inshore and it wasn't for me so it traded for the Garmin 240 blue which used the same ducer and it to me should have been #1 sounder hold bottom at 30miles or better reads bottom to 1ft very user friendly read out and numbers that are visible seein direct sunlight ect.
Personally I think the Furuno machine just introduced will turn out to be a bit better The LS4100 basically the same as the 6100 but in a 5inch model same reso 320 x 240 same wattage
Just my 2 cents
Bertram
Bertram is offline  
Old 05-14-2003, 01:24 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 281
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

To Roop: Can you share with us exactly WHAT you tuned? I'm sure sharing these individual setups will be very helpful.

I was reading the manual the other day and noticed that they mention having a very good GROUND and using closed lugs for electrical connections. Could this waterline clutter be attributed to insufficient ground ?

Just an idea.

Thanks,
Sal.

If you run - you'll only die tired.
Cpt. Kompot is offline  
Old 05-15-2003, 10:24 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: South Shore - Boston, MA
Posts: 152
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

Cpt Kompot & others - won't be running until Sunday and will note what the exact settings are.

I know for me, shooting thru the hull with a transom mount 'ducer, I used a poly based resin for my inital connection to the hull and had some distortion. Then used 5 minute epoxy on top and made sure all crevices were full and got a beautiful shot - hell I was able to mark the difference between crap under us and fish....

I know that going to the 200 frequency and adjusting made a significant impact wwhen I switched back to dual mode. Will get exact infor this weekend.

Best of luck,

Roop

Pressure Drop
Roop is offline  
Old 05-19-2003, 07:18 AM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: South Shore - Boston, MA
Posts: 152
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

OK, put me down as disappointed.

I was tuning it yesterday, took it off the auto mode, set the depth, kept re-adjusting depth & gain - when we were into fish, pulling them out from under the boat, it didn't show a damn thing + I was drifting across a flat and it showed the bottom at 6' when it was 2' and less.

Will let you know what Furuno has to say.

Roop

Pressure Drop
Roop is offline  
Old 05-19-2003, 05:43 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: On the Water VA.
Posts: 167
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Furuno LS6100-Need help

Too much hipe on this machine its a piece of crap chuck it the first chance you get
Bertram is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.