Notices

Garmin BlueChart chip/MapSource

Old 01-25-2003, 11:12 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: HOuston
Posts: 24
Default Garmin BlueChart chip/MapSource

I've now got my Garmin 188 with BlueChart chip hooked up to my PC. Have been able to transfer tracks, routes, waypoints back and forth, no problem. I thought, though, that I would be able to transfer the Bluechart detail (depths, channel markers, etc.) from the GPS/chip to the PC/MapSource so that I could see this level of detail on the PC too. I've read and followed every instruction I can find, but haven't figured it out yet.

I would certainly think this should work since I've paid Garmin for the GPS, the chip, and MapSource. You think they would all be able to talk to each other, but now I'm wondering if I cannot upload this detail. Anyone?
Bruce J is offline  
Old 01-25-2003, 12:36 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Garmin BlueChart chip/MapSource

I don't think that is what he said.

If I read it right he has Bluechart on a data card, but not the CD version. He also has Mapsource from somewhere, who knows where but its not the BlueChart subset of Mapsource.

His expectation is that data from his BlueChart data card (chip) can be transfered from his GPS over to his PC when he has MapSource up and running. That is not the case. You can transfer Waypoint, route, or track information but you can not transfer the map it overides.

It would work the other way if he had bought the BlueChart subset of the Mapsource CD, what some folks just call the CD BlueChart. If he had that and a blank data card he could transfer Map information from his PC to his blank chip, and he could transfer waypoint, route, and track back and forth between the PC and the GPS (it is not held on the data card, but is held in the GPS's memory).

That's one of the reasons a person has to think through how they are going to use the machine if t hey decide to buy the BlueChart on CD and then use it with a GPS that can use insertable data cards.

Thom

"For every complex question, there's a simple answer. And it's wrong."
(--H. L. Mencken)
Thom is offline  
Old 01-25-2003, 02:45 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: HOuston
Posts: 24
Default Garmin BlueChart chip/MapSource

Thom, you got it right, unfortunately for me. I have the MapSource software because I have a Streetpilot system in my car. Had the 188 with the Blue Chart chip in the boat before I had the Streetpilot and just hoped the two systems would talk together. Still don't know why Garmin wouldn't have set it up to work either direction, but thanks for getting me the clear information that it does not work that way. I guess I'll either spend for the Blue Chart CD software (too) or live without the detail on the computer screen.
Bruce J is offline  
Old 01-26-2003, 04:19 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: West Boylston,Ma.,USA.
Posts: 614
Default Garmin BlueChart chip/MapSource

Garmin MapSource is the software that runs on Garmin's Latest series of Chart Ploters. The Data Cards are the same as the earlier G- Charts units.The data that is on the cards is only readiable within the system the data was writen in. G-Charts data cards will only read on G-Charts unit,G Chart data cards can't be read by MapSource units and MApSource Data can't be read by G-Charts.If you own a G-Chart unit Garmin allows you to trade-in the G-Chart unit and G-Chart data cards towards a new Map Source unit.But the trade-in value they allow is not much!!
MapSource data can be purchased two ways;on the CD,or a preprogrammed data card. The preprogrammed Data card is the way most people go,and is read into the chartplotter by just placing it into the slot on the Chart Plotter and it is loaded into the MapSource chart plotter automatically. Data from the CD is transfered into the chartplotter via two methods:a serial transfer from the home computer serial port thur a Garmin serial cable for the chart plotter(each chartplotter model has it's own serial cable type)into the chartplotter.Or thur a USB data card programmer/with a inserted blank data card attached to a USB port on the home /portable computer(there are two USB programers they only difer size-one the size of a hockey puck ,the other the size of a box of matches).The G-Charts data cards can be erased(but all preprogrammed data($$$) is lost) with the USB Programmer so new MapSource data can be downloaded to it and read by MapSource chartplotter.The blank data cards of 16 Mb will take one unlocked area off the MapSouce CD rom.The data that is unlocked from the MapSource CD is useable on two different serial numbered MapSource chartplotters that are registered with Garmin at the time they release the unlock code for the area you chose to have use to.Otherwise if the USB programmed data card is used in another than registered chartplotter the trail of position marks will not be stored in that unit,so where you have been can't be seen on screen. So a Garmin's Pre programmed data card is more versitile between machines than a Data Card you program off the CD rom.(they have all the bases covered so you can't just program a card for anybody else).Also the area thats on a preprogrammed MapSource data card can't be read back to the home/portable computer thur the serial cable,USB card programmer and used by the MapSource software(the have you coming and going) .Otherwise the data is the same.
The Garmin Topo MapSource software has inshore wrecks listed by name on the charts but you cannot run/overlay the TOPO and MARINE data at the same time on the chartplotters.The MARINE charts do not list the wrecks names.
The only way to input the trail of position marks into a home computer,and any other data you have stored in the chartplotter is thur a serial cable dump into the home/portable computer...Anymore questions anyone???
tuna1 is offline  
Old 01-27-2003, 05:22 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Westchester Co., NY
Posts: 105
Default Garmin BlueChart chip/MapSource

I just bought a GPSMAP176 with a 64Meg chip. I have the Bluecharts CD on order. If I load the chart for my area onto the card and also get something else like Topo or the Metroguide and load that on, will one mask the other?

Bill

Incommunicado
20' Grady White
225 Yamaha
BSartist is offline  
Old 01-28-2003, 11:12 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: West Boylston,Ma.,USA.
Posts: 614
Default Garmin BlueChart chip/MapSource

The answer is it won't work.A data card can only have 1 mapsource product on it at a time.All Bluechart,all Typo,or all Road & Recreation,ect..
The 64 Megabyte card is a little too large for Bluechart use i feel (unless you going down the coast or to the cribe.,and wish to have multiple unlock areas on 1 data card),16Mb will hold all of 1 unlock area from the Bluechart CD rom.If your chartplotter has 2 slots then you can chose which card slot to run and two products can be run ,1 product on a card-but again only 1 card at a time.
Hopes this helps!
tuna1 is offline  
Old 01-28-2003, 01:32 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Garmin BlueChart chip/MapSource

Just as a point of clairification; the old G-Chart format is dead, it is not the same as the new "Bluechart" chips or the blank ships. They are physically quite different, with the later stuff being considerably smaller.

As a matter of saving a few bucks I don't think I'd be a bit worried about not being able to transfer mapping information back into the PC. It does't bother me a bit to loose my Bluechart background when I transfer routes, waypoints, or tracks out of my 2006 onto the computer, where I put it ontop of a MapSource Roads and Recreation CD that I have.

Thom

"For every complex question, there's a simple answer. And it's wrong."
(--H. L. Mencken)
Thom is offline  
Old 01-28-2003, 03:55 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Conley, GA
Posts: 184
Default Garmin BlueChart chip/MapSource

To answer BSartist question. Yes and no. I have a 176C, Bluecharts and Metroguide. If you have all turned on, Garmin's priority is Metroguide then Bluecharts. So in areas where both have data you will see Metroguide and not Bluecharts.

Solution is very simple. There is a menu choice that lets you turn on and off which you see. If you are in the vehicle you turn on Metroguide. If you are on the water you turn Metroguide off and Bluecharts on. Works like a charm.

Contrary to tuna1's post, if you want to load both Metroguide and Bluecharts the a 64 meg memory card is not to large. True bluecharts do not take up that much space, but Metroguide DOES. I have a 64 meg card, and I currently have it loaded with 60 megs of data! Oh, and you most certainly can have more than one type of data on a memory card at the same time. I DO!!
GeorgeP is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread