Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine S1000 Auto-pilot

Old 11-02-2010, 12:00 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Panama City, Florida
Posts: 1,058
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Raymarine S1000 Auto-pilot

I am thinking of added a Raymarine S1000 Auto-pilot to my battlewagon. I am wondering if this unit is big enough to handle my boat. Also wondering about durability issues with the wireless remote.

If you have one of these units, can you pleae tell me what kind of boat, size, and motors on your boat. Also tell me if you like it, pros and cons.

I have a 07 Angler 2700. twin 225 yami's 4 bangers. Will this system work for me. Its rated for boat up to 25 ft. Well my boa tis basically a 25 w/2 ft pulpit. So isnt my boat in reality a 25 ft? thanks for your time and help. must appreciated.
Old 11-02-2010, 12:13 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 494
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Wraypau View Post
I am thinking of added a Raymarine S1000 Auto-pilot to my battlewagon. I am wondering if this unit is big enough to handle my boat. Also wondering about durability issues with the wireless remote.

If you have one of these units, can you pleae tell me what kind of boat, size, and motors on your boat. Also tell me if you like it, pros and cons.

I have a 07 Angler 2700. twin 225 yami's 4 bangers. Will this system work for me. Its rated for boat up to 25 ft. Well my boa tis basically a 25 w/2 ft pulpit. So isnt my boat in reality a 25 ft? thanks for your time and help. must appreciated.
As CME BOSTON said and I stand corrected by him the smaller pump should be fine-there should be no problem with the 1000-I'm running a 30' cat with 300 etecs and 5 ton weight and the x-30 type 2 pump and is perfect for mine.

All others that I have read about with your size boat-What cmeboston has said should be fine.

IKAT
Old 11-02-2010, 12:19 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 5,188
Likes: 0
Received 1,260 Likes on 686 Posts
Default

I plan to add one when I'm done my formula 233. I think it all comes down to how much CFM the steering pump of your outboards need to operate vs the pump that comes with the unit. That will be the deciding factor but you can upgrade the pump I believe. I am more concerned about tracking a true course between points and not waisting fuel zig zagging when making a 25 mile run.
Old 11-02-2010, 12:30 PM
  #4  
Senior Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ormond Beach, FL
Posts: 566
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Friend of mine's got an Everglades 27 with twin 250's and it works just fine for him. He installed the AP pump before the steering assist pump and it has no trouble at all. I like his S1000.

I use the TR-1 Gladiator on my 24 and it is a nice AP as well, but costs 3x more.
Old 11-02-2010, 02:44 PM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 49
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=Wraypau;3316762]I am thinking of added a Raymarine S1000 Auto-pilot to my battlewagon. I am wondering if this unit is big enough to handle my boat. Also wondering about durability issues with the wireless remote.

If you have one of these units, can you pleae tell me what kind of boat, size, and motors on your boat. Also tell me if you like it, pros and cons.

QUOTE]

This is one of the few boat devices I have that after years of ownership, I still grin every time I use it. I highly recommend it.

I had an S1000 on a 3000 pound 21' Whaler Outrage w/ single 200 for several years (Can't remember exactly, maybe 5 years). When I sold the boat I removed it and put it on my new 27' Everglades, which is a 6000 pound hull with dual 250's. Both with Seastar systems. Its been there almost a year, 150 + hours with no problem. The Everglades has a power steering assist, and I installed the Auto Pilot pump ahead of the assist pump at the helm.

Pro's: Installation takes almost no time. (Configuring the baud rate on my GPS took longer than the hardware install) Once you troll with this, you will never own a boat without it. It holds course perfectly, meaning no tangles, and will continue to hold course while you reel in fish. I have a crows nest and stand up there with the remote so I can steer and follow weed lines while others fish. Its also great for going point to point. Sit back and relax while the boat goes where it should.

Cons: The batteries in the handheld only last a month or so. I would prefer one that charged from the boat batteries while in its holster. Also, the software seems to have a hard time initially getting to the correct track. If you drift off the plotted course before engaging the autopilot, sometimes it takes a long time to get to the course, sometimed it simply goes the wrong way. I updated the software, which helped, but found the best solution is to get on course, and run for a minute or so, then engage the autopilot. Once on track, it never varies by more than about 50 feet. I have run to Bimin and back many times without the need to steer at all. It works in any sea conditions.
Old 11-02-2010, 04:47 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Panama City, Florida
Posts: 1,058
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

GRUBBAB, thanks bro, you nailed it. that's exactly what I was looking for in a response. Thanks!
Old 11-02-2010, 05:32 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: north of tropic ofr capricorn west oz
Posts: 990
Received 29 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

I have installed the RM 1000 on my Glacier Bay 2680 twin outboards and also a heavy boat loaded
The pump is noisy at troll speeds
It certainly steers straight and is an easy installation
I t is top value for the cost and does everything i want from an A.P.
Old 11-03-2010, 02:48 AM
  #8  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Merritt Island ,Fl
Posts: 663
Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

I have this unit on a hydra-sport 25 vx with 150's, it works ok I cant do routes with mine and it does tend to veer of course some what. Do a seacrh here on it. For the money i cant complain.
Old 11-03-2010, 03:49 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 294
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I had that ap on my wellcraft for years and I took it for my 2700cc angler I have not finished hooking it up yet it always did what I wanted it to,the only drawback is I cant troll tube and worm it will not keep a fix that slow
Old 11-03-2010, 08:20 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Low Country of the Carolinas
Posts: 986
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Like they said above its really not about the weight of the boat. The pumps are sized for the hydraulic volume in the rams of your steering system. Running dual rams or single, and there volume plays a bigger factor.
Old 11-03-2010, 08:36 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: orlando madbeach, fl
Posts: 9,007
Received 1,443 Likes on 668 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by hoejef View Post
I have this unit on a hydra-sport 25 vx with 150's, it works ok I cant do routes with mine and it does tend to veer of course some what. Do a seacrh here on it. For the money i cant complain.
You may need to update the software or re-configure the unit. I have taken my boat to the Bahamas and back several times without having to steer and have never veered off track. It is dead on everytime.
Old 11-03-2010, 10:11 AM
  #12  
THT SponsorCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wisconsin And Marathon,Fl
Posts: 8,919
Received 2,440 Likes on 1,090 Posts
Default

I had one on my 24' CC it was my first auto pilot and I loved it. I installed it my self with no problems, the only issues I had with it is it may not work at real slow troll, under 3 knots. Also I had mine set on a coarse onetime I was going about 30 knots and it made a sudden 90 degree turn on me and allmost threw me out of the boat as I was not at the wheel. I never left the wheel again and it only did it the 1 time. As others have said it is loud. But for $800 you cant beat it.
Old 11-03-2010, 10:37 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: orlando madbeach, fl
Posts: 9,007
Received 1,443 Likes on 668 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mikeloew View Post
I had one on my 24' CC it was my first auto pilot and I loved it. I installed it my self with no problems, the only issues I had with it is it may not work at real slow troll, under 3 knots. Also I had mine set on a coarse onetime I was going about 30 knots and it made a sudden 90 degree turn on me and allmost threw me out of the boat as I was not at the wheel. I never left the wheel again and it only did it the 1 time. As others have said it is loud. But for $800 you cant beat it.
There were reports of the ''Crazy Ivan'' turns from the first generation units. I am pretty sure that has all been worked out with the later models and software updates.
Old 11-03-2010, 11:33 AM
  #14  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kent Island, Maryland
Posts: 66
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The two complaints i have heard are:
1) holding course at slow speeds
2) the remote doesn't float
Old 11-03-2010, 12:50 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 6,117
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

It is the best money I have spent on my boat to date. Mine stays on course very good.

The only mistake I ever made with mine was changing course at 20knots. Don't ever try this at home! We were running in the troughs of 4 - 5 footers and I had the AP running an easterly course. I decided I would go southeast towards another reef. I set my A65 chartplotter to the course and then changed the S1000 to follow that course.

It very nearly threw me and my 16 year old son out of the boat as when it made the sudden turn to the left the boat jumped off the wave and turned left all at the same time!

I learned a valuble lesson: Do not change make major course changes while under way!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 11-03-2010, 01:51 PM
  #16  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 52
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just used mine yesterday for the first time after installing it on my Hydra-sports 2500cc. All I can say is wow. After auto learning on the way out (took all of about 3min) it tracked my course all the way 50 miles out without exceeding a cross track of about .01. 95% of the time it was within 25 feet! Trolling was great using zig zags. Made the day much easier. Running home in 3-4' chop was no problem for it as well.
Old 11-03-2010, 07:05 PM
  #17  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,869
Received 214 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

The Crazy Ivan problem is user caused....Here's why.

Since the AP needs a GPS input vs a heading sensor, then the only data it uses is gps data (for direction). So, make sure that you go a few boat lengths BEFORE you hit "auto" on the remote. You need to give the AP enough solid COG data to derive your heading... If you kinda get in a hurry and activate the AP too soon, when it does know what heading to turn to, it may very well be a huge turn port or starboard....hence, the crazy ivan.

I used mine for almost 4 years and once you get into the habit I mentioned above, no more Crazy Ivans.
Old 11-04-2010, 05:24 AM
  #18  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Panama City, Florida
Posts: 1,058
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Good Solid Advice CME. I will make sure I do that once I have it installed.

For those who have installed a Raymarine S1000 AP, how difficult was it to install? Also, will i need a heading sensor? Thanks!

I have the C-120W, well my list of electronic is posted in the OP. Thank ya!
Old 11-04-2010, 06:13 AM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: orlando madbeach, fl
Posts: 9,007
Received 1,443 Likes on 668 Posts
Default

Took me about 3 hours. No heading sensor needed for the unit to operate. It works off the GPS signal.

The most difficult part of the install if you want to call it difficult, was the wiring. They are very tiny wires and a bit tough to work with. Other than that it was a breeze.
Old 10-22-2012, 07:23 PM
  #20  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 51
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I just removed my S1000 from my old boat and I am installing it on my new boat. I have done all the wiring but I need to know where to connect the hydralic lines as the new boat is equipped wiith power assist. Can anyone help? Is there a diagram out there? ;?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.