Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

New Garmin Update out today - fixes some GSD 22 issues

Notices

New Garmin Update out today - fixes some GSD 22 issues

Old 10-26-2010, 06:19 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,399
Default New Garmin Update out today - fixes some GSD 22 issues

A new Garmin update was released today. Fixes some GPSMAP 4000/5000 issues and also fixes 4 items with the GSD22 around depth calculation and auto power transmit.
SaltyG is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 08:13 AM
  #2  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Elberta, AL
Posts: 1,736
Default

I thought they just released a update a couple of weeks ago? Is this something new?
cold beers is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 08:20 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,797
Default

Meh, it fits thei SOP. They will frequently dump a huge release, bugs will be found, and then they will issue a smaller follow-up release fixing some of the issues found in the big release.

I usually don't install big releases when first issued (unless it has something I must have), but wait until the smaller secondary release happens.

It saves a lot of drama. Maybe they even cleaned up the screen locking issue they introduced.
gerg is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 12:23 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,399
Default

This apprears to mainly be an update to the GSD22 software that came out a couple of months ago. So to your point, this is the bug fix release for the GSD22 major release this summer. So, this should hopefully really clean up any remaining issues with GSD22. I have not applied it yet. Hope others do and report back.

For the new chart plotter release that was just put on earlier this month, that causes some of the lock ups, they have not yet released any update to that. I hope to see that in probably another month.

So hopefully by end of year...all of the current stuff will be about as stable as it is going to get, with as many new features as they will probably add. First of the year, they might start releasing new products????
SaltyG is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 05:35 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: marblehead
Posts: 2,346
Default

Salty, Where's it at? All I see is one from Oct. 9. You got something newer?
Ethan is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 06:09 PM
  #6  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: N.J. USA
Posts: 835
Default

Does it fix the XM glitch on the nav screen from the last update?
cnthings is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 08:00 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,399
Default

Here is the link to the newest update, as of 10/26
http://www8.garmin.com/support/downl...ls.jsp?id=4749

I dont think it fixes the XM glitch, just a few patches for GSD22
SaltyG is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 05:48 AM
  #8  
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 38
Default

If you mean the XM softkey no longer works after the 6.10 update then no it does not fix that issue. I have been on the phone with Garmin support and they are stating that they have not heard about the problem! Last call the tech said they setup 4 4000 series units and have been unable to reproduce the problem. If you have this issue you need to let garmin know.
dsi183 is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 05:56 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 11,836
Default

Jeez...good thing I forgot to carry the SD card with the last update down to the boat last weekend. Re-format and download AGAIN...
Wolakrab is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 07:26 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Floaters
Posts: 6,168
Default

Change History

Changes made from version 6.10 to 6.20:

  • Changes to support manufacturing.


What is "Changes to support manufacturing"?
Miss Trial is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 07:55 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default

Originally Posted by Miss Trial View Post
Change History

Changes made from version 6.10 to 6.20:
  • Changes to support manufacturing.
What is "Changes to support manufacturing"?

Ussually that would mean a part from a vendor (a chip or something) is changed, so they adjust the software to accomodate it. Or, we can now use our 5215 for manufacturing something??

Awesome, Garmin is REALLY putting alot of time and effort into perfecting this software....

Salty, tell them to fix/change the data boxes before they call it quits on it!! We need more customizing of the data boxes.
Birdman is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 09:24 AM
  #12  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: N.J. USA
Posts: 835
Default

Originally Posted by dsi183 View Post
If you mean the XM softkey no longer works after the 6.10 update then no it does not fix that issue. I have been on the phone with Garmin support and they are stating that they have not heard about the problem! Last call the tech said they setup 4 4000 series units and have been unable to reproduce the problem. If you have this issue you need to let garmin know.
Just got off the phone with garmin--- they say they cant replicate. they want me to load the new"er" update and see if it still happens. I should just keep the laptop on the boat with an sd card! But I do remember when software updates cost money, so you cant beat the ease of a free download.
cnthings is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 09:38 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,399
Default

Please let us know if the "newer" update fixes it. Thanks.
SaltyG is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 11:59 AM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Floaters
Posts: 6,168
Default

did the update at lunch. seemless, but i don't see any changes. i tried to manufacture something with it to no avail.
Miss Trial is offline  
Old 10-28-2010, 12:30 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,399
Default

Yeah, I doubt most of us will see any difference. Most of the updates seemed to be around power level settings, which would only show up in the deeper waters. I dont think there were any new features or any bug fixes to menus / options or stuff like that. I think more power / gain settings and properly using the XID chip in the transducers. Hopefully in deeper water, it will mean you will get a better image on auto settings.
SaltyG is offline  
Old 10-30-2010, 08:22 AM
  #16  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Holtsville, NY
Posts: 16
Default

Here is an answer from Garmin about the XM button. My neighbor and I have the same problem with the same 4210.

We have been testing all of the 4000 series chartplotters in the Product Support Department to see if we could duplicate your issue. We have not seen the issue but we do not have a 10” screen model to test. We didn’t think that we would need to test the exact model you have because the same software update applies to the entire 4000 and 5000 series units regardless of screen size. I was ready to give you a couple trouble shooting steps when I received a message from our Software Engineering Department. Below is that message.

Version 6.10 (and subsequently 6.20) of the 4010 and 4210 contains a bug where the XM audio data bar will not work properly with the bottom soft key. The bug is limited to those models. A fix will be part of our next maintenance release. We currently do not have a timeframe for getting that out.

At this time, we cannot give you a date for the software fix but we now know what is going on. Please relay this information to your friend that is experiencing the same issue.

With best regards,

Michael H , Marine Product Support Specialist
GARMIN International | 1200 E 151st Olathe , KS 66062
1-800-800-1020| Fax 913-440-8280
email techsupp@garmin.com
H8892711 is offline  
Old 10-30-2010, 02:01 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Braunfels, Tx
Posts: 8,763
Default

Can't beat that for customer service being backed by excellent engineering.
ReelWork is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 07:43 AM
  #18  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt Pleasant, SC
Posts: 16,105
Default

It isn't just held to the 4x10's.
Joe is offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 08:07 AM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default

Word to the wise:

Be carefull doing this latest udpate (6.20), it takes a l-o-n-g time (20 or 30 minutes). Normally these updates only take a minute or two, this one seems to take a long time. I thought mine was hung up, so I powered down and up and gto a currupt OS. I had to reset it with a special keystroke (with tech support on line) to get it to reload again.

So when you do this update, have patients and let it run, it take a while.
Birdman is offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 08:56 AM
  #20  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt Pleasant, SC
Posts: 16,105
Default

I did the same thing, but did not have to do a reset. I powered down after 10 minutes or so and the update didn't take, so I did it again and let it finish.It took probably 15-20 minutes on my 4208.
Joe is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread