Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

New Garmin Update out today - fixes some GSD 22 issues

Notices

New Garmin Update out today - fixes some GSD 22 issues

Old 11-01-2010, 11:06 AM
  #21  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 413
Default

I am also having trouble with the 6.20 update. It seems to stop at a certain point and say "flushing demo failed" and then it says flushing something else also failed. I had to install it on each 4200 series plotter on the network to get them to all update to 6.20. I think Garmin screwed something up on this one.
Yamaha900 is offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 06:39 PM
  #22  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: N.J. USA
Posts: 835
Default

Yep, me too. 4210 loads then networked 4208 says "flushing demo map failed" called Garmin they told me to force the download-- holding power and up cursor etc... Did not work. Right now Only 4210 shows the 6.20 software. cant get the 4208 to load wout failure.
cnthings is offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 07:39 PM
  #23  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 66
Default

Disconnect the networked monitor from the network that has yet to take the update. You will then attempt to load the update on this unit. It should take. Take the time to check both units for the update using the Configure button (5212) and check system info. Reconnect all. Should all work fine.
hwbjr is offline  
Old 11-02-2010, 05:53 AM
  #24  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: N.J. USA
Posts: 835
Default

Hw, thats what G rep had me do --it didnt take. I even bought a new sd card and reloaded. It gets to either 98 or 97 % then fails at the end. I will try again. One of my units is nwere then the other but they say thats not the issue.
cnthings is offline  
Old 11-02-2010, 05:54 AM
  #25  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: N.J. USA
Posts: 835
Default

nwere= newer
cnthings is offline  
Old 11-02-2010, 07:29 AM
  #26  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Has anyone reported these updating problems to Garmin? Have they indicated that they understand the problem and are working on a fix?
rwidman is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 08:02 AM
  #27  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default

I'm sure they are aware, probably getting allot of calls on it like mine.
Birdman is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 08:55 AM
  #28  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default

Screenshot from yesterday using vers. 6.2. Works REALLY nicely. This shot shows lots of bait (small sandeels), and a bunch of Stripers on them. We had 8 or 9 keeper bass yesterday on this hump, and a few shorts in just an hour or 2:
Attached Images  
Birdman is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 11:06 AM
  #29  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southeast, Fl
Posts: 394
Default

My 4212 is stuck right now with "downloading software" on the screen. It has been at least 30 minutes. I am just letting it go to see if she comes out of it.
dolphan is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 12:08 PM
  #30  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

I usually keep up with the updates but since these two don't seem to have anything I need, I'll just wait a while and watch the bleeding.

I would hope that if Garmin is aware of a problem they would pull the update until they find a fix.
rwidman is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 01:08 PM
  #31  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southeast, Fl
Posts: 394
Default

Ok I had to call Garmin support. Went straight to an actual American person with no hold time! She had me hold the up arrow and power at the same time. The software quickly loaded and the unit fired up. I had to power down 1 more time to get it to recognize the radar and gps and we are ready to rumble. We'll see how it performs next week. Windy forecast until then.
dolphan is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 01:31 PM
  #32  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: LINDENHURST, NY
Posts: 1,775
Default

Originally Posted by Birdman View Post
Screenshot from yesterday using vers. 6.2. Works REALLY nicely. This shot shows lots of bait (small sandeels), and a bunch of Stripers on them. We had 8 or 9 keeper bass yesterday on this hump, and a few shorts in just an hour or 2:
You forgot that 'bruiser' that you lost was on that hump too, Chris!

Gotta admit, seeing is believing, and that Garmin and transducer is the sh*tzit!

Hell, the entire boat is, it's, it's just 'Oh, so nice!"

Same time Saturday, Chris?
Big E is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 01:54 PM
  #33  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by dolphan View Post
Ok I had to call Garmin support. Went straight to an actual American person with no hold time! She had me hold the up arrow and power at the same time. The software quickly loaded and the unit fired up. I had to power down 1 more time to get it to recognize the radar and gps and we are ready to rumble. We'll see how it performs next week. Windy forecast until then.
Where is the "up arrow" on a 5XXX series?
rwidman is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 02:07 PM
  #34  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southeast, Fl
Posts: 394
Default

I have a 4212 if you are asking me not a 5xxx so I do not know.
dolphan is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 02:23 PM
  #35  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default

Originally Posted by rwidman View Post
Where is the "up arrow" on a 5XXX series?
LOL!! You just hold the power key down, and apply power the unit. Hold it down until you hear 3 beeps. Takes about 1 or 2 minutes, "keep holding it". 2 minutes holding a button is a l-o-n-g time.

As soon as you apply power, the Garmin logo shows up, then a few seconds letter it says "HOLDING KEY" under the logo in small red letters. Keep holding it down, then you will hear 1 beep, a few seconds later a second beep, then a 3rd beep and the unit will reset itself to re-load the OS. You need to have the update chip in the slot when you do this.

WARNING!!! ONLY DO THIS IF YOU ARE IN A JAM!!!! And/OR call Garmin tech support FIRST!! This forces the OS to reload after the system has become corrupt, so don't do it unless you need to.
Birdman is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 02:32 PM
  #36  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by Birdman View Post
LOL!! You just hold the power key down, and apply power the unit. Hold it down until you hear 3 beeps. Takes about 1 or 2 minutes, "keep holding it". 2 minutes holding a button is a l-o-n-g time.

As soon as you apply power, the Garmin logo shows up, then a few seconds letter it says "HOLDING KEY" under the logo in small red letters. Keep holding it down, then you will hear 1 beep, a few seconds later a second beep, then a 3rd beep and the unit will reset itself to re-load the OS. You need to have the update chip in the slot when you do this.

WARNING!!! ONLY DO THIS IF YOU ARE IN A JAM!!!! And/OR call Garmin tech support FIRST!! This forces the OS to reload after the system has become corrupt, so don't do it unless you need to.
I would have stumbled on that proceedure anyway in about three hundred years!

Thanks, I'll print it out and stick it in the outdated manual.
rwidman is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 02:32 PM
  #37  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default

Originally Posted by Big E View Post
You forgot that 'bruiser' that you lost was on that hump too, Chris!

Gotta admit, seeing is believing, and that Garmin and transducer is the sh*tzit!

Hell, the entire boat is, it's, it's just 'Oh, so nice!"

Same time Saturday, Chris?
Thanks! Now you see why I have been clammering on here about the Garmin and GSD22 for 3 seasons now. Those that don't drink the coolaid, need to see to believe.


"The Bruiser" Can't stop thinking about that!! That was definitely going to be my best fish ever!! I couldn't get the rod up off the gunnel, felt like a bluefin for gods sake!!

Saturday for sure weather permitting!! I need a monster fish or that is going to haunt me all winter long!!!
Birdman is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 02:36 PM
  #38  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default

Originally Posted by dolphan View Post
Ok I had to call Garmin support. Went straight to an actual American person with no hold time! She had me hold the up arrow and power at the same time. The software quickly loaded and the unit fired up. I had to power down 1 more time to get it to recognize the radar and gps and we are ready to rumble. We'll see how it performs next week. Windy forecast until then.

Same result for me. After selecting Marine, then tech support, frist ring picked up, actual American technician. Problem solved in 1 minute. And he explained what had happend, why and how to avoid in future. I get awesome support from Garmin.
Birdman is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 05:22 AM
  #39  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by Birdman View Post
Same result for me. After selecting Marine, then tech support, frist ring picked up, actual American technician. Problem solved in 1 minute. And he explained what had happend, why and how to avoid in future. I get awesome support from Garmin.
So how do you avoid it in the future?
rwidman is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 06:07 AM
  #40  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Freeport, Grand Bahama
Posts: 1,382
Default

Garmin should not release updates that do not install properly without using some trick from tech support to install it. Don't they test the software before they put it out ? They should come up with another update that installs properly real quick to make things right.
NOLIMIT40 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread