Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Garmin GPS 176C NMEA to ICOM-IC M304 NMEA

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin GPS 176C NMEA to ICOM-IC M304 NMEA

Old 10-21-2010, 06:41 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Garmin GPS 176C NMEA to ICOM-IC M304 NMEA

I am trying to hook up my GPS 176C to My new Icom IC-M304 VHF radio. The 4 wire/ 4 prong plug that runs from the Gamrin GPS has a small brown and small white wire while the ICOM radio has a small yellow and small green wire. The book for the ICOm says the yellow wire is the NMEA in (+) and the green wire is the NMEA out (-). I do not know what the wires are on the GPS 176C. Also, I am confused on hooking up the grounds for this connection. Could someone please help?
Old 10-22-2010, 10:27 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 17,576
Received 2,705 Likes on 1,454 Posts
Default

http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...questions.html

I *think* the solution is in there...
Old 10-22-2010, 11:11 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 2,130
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

You can download the Garmin Owners Manual here-- https://buy.garmin.com/support/manua...o=010-00214-00
Old 10-22-2010, 11:21 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Winterville, NC
Posts: 376
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Its very simple, but unfortunately my manual is at home and I cant remember which wires are what!
Old 10-26-2010, 09:02 AM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ok, I was on the phone with tech support for Garmin and ICOM. I have the ICOM IC-M304 yellow NMEA In (+) hooked up to the GPS Map 176C brown NMEA Out (+). I also have the ICOM green NMEA In (-) hooked up to the GPS main black ground wire. The GPS white NMEA In (+) isn't used as the ICOM has no hookup for this wire. The ICOM only has the yellow and green while the GPS only has the brown and white. I have updated the GPS software to version 4.1 and set the interface to NMEA In/ NMEA Out that automatically has a baud rate of 4800 and can't be changed.

However, the radio still doesn't see a position. When I press and hold the DSC/ POS button for a second, the screen indicates 'No Position'. Can anyone tell me what I am missing?
Old 10-26-2010, 09:59 AM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I read through the thread indicated by OldPete but do not see anything in there that would help.

I was digging through the manual that NoFear Eyes posted the link for and see where the GPS NMEA ver. is 2.3. While the ICOM NMEA ver. is 2.0 or 3.01. Would this be the cause of the problem? I never knew there was a different version. I know there are 2 different standards like 0183 and such. The intial contact with Garmin tech support said this shouldn't be a problem. Just want to hear it from someone else I guess.
Old 10-27-2010, 06:52 AM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Still researching for the resolution

I have been doing lots of reading and research in the forums and have a few questions that i could definitely use some help with as I will be boating to the Bahamas soon and would really like to get this communication issue resolved. The ICOM IC-M304 is not reporting any GPS position. I have ICOM yellow NMEA In (+) connected to the Garmin GPSMap 176C brown NMEA Out (+). The ICOM green NMEA In (-) is connected to the black GPS ground. The GPS white NMEA In (+) is not utilized. I also have the NMEA In/ NMEA Out interface selected which automatically selects a baud rate of 4800.

1) I see from the ICOM IC-M304 manual that the radio communicates using NMEA0183 ver. 2.0 or 3.01 while the Garmin GPSMap 176C uses NMEA0183 ver. 2.3. Would this be the root of my communication problem?

2) I see the ICOM sentence format is RMC, GGA, GNS and GLL while the GPS sentence formats are GPRMC, GPGGA and GPGLL. No GNS sentence is indicated in the GPS. Does the GP before each sentence type make a difference? Or is it just Garmin Protocol and doesn't mean anything special?

I find it hard to believe that such a common GPS and VHF cannot communicate.
Old 10-27-2010, 07:48 AM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

See reply to your duplicate thread....

http://www.thehulltruth.com/3304773-post5.html
Old 10-27-2010, 08:12 AM
  #9  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I still have the same issues. I appreciate the help and hope for some successful advice soon. Try and try again right...
Old 10-30-2010, 04:37 PM
  #10  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Here is the reply I got from Garmin after confirming that I had the wires connected correctly. I will have to wait to check this until I get back to the boat in 3 weeks or so. I will post the findings.

Thank you for contacting Garmin International.

The only other suggestions to try and troubleshoot this issue would be to check another setting and use a volt meter to measure if the device is actually outputting NMEA data.

To check the setting, please follow these instructions:

1. With the device powered ON, press the Menu button twice.

2. Highlight the Setup tab on the left side of the screen.

3. Highlight the Interface tab at the top right of the screen.

4. Press the Menu button one time.

5. Highlight Advanced NMEA Setup and press the Enter button.

6. Highlight the setting for GPS Status (GSA, GSV) and press the Enter button.

7. Highlight ON and press the Enter button.

Press the Quit button to back out of this menu. Now the device should be sending out GPS data.

If that still does not work, please use a volt meter to measure the output voltage of the Brown wire to see if the device is outputting NMEA data. To do this, connect the red lead (positive) of the volt meter to the brown wire coming from the 176c.

Then connect the black lead (negative) of the volt meter to the ground of the boat, where the VHF radio is grounded. You should now see a spike in voltage of about 3 volts every second or two. This will indicate that the device is outputting NMEA data. If it is not, please connect the Red and Black wire of the 176c's power cable to the power source on your boat and test again.

If this still doesn't work, it may be a bad cable or the device could be faulty and is having some internal hardware issues that will not allow it to output data over that port.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.