Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

I updated my Garmin GPSMAP 5212 software version 6.10 and now I'm crooked...

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

I updated my Garmin GPSMAP 5212 software version 6.10 and now I'm crooked...

Old 10-18-2010, 05:08 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Floaters
Posts: 6,470
Received 609 Likes on 298 Posts
Default I updated my Garmin GPSMAP 5212 software version 6.10 and now I'm crooked...

my screen doesn't match the same angle as the boat?

For instance, when I'm cruising through open water, or more importantly, a marsh, I like to follow the tracks where I've already been before so I know it's safe... especially at low tide. The tracks go to the left, but the boat is going down them. I've I try to steer down the tracks, it leads me off course.

Imagine the "|" is where it shows I am going, and my existing tracks are the "X"it looks like this...

x |
x |
x |
x |
x |
x |
x|

So, the boat shows it going well right of the existing tracks even though I am following them. I grazed a sand bar before daylight Friday morning because of this. What would cause this? Other than the update, nothing has changed.

Last edited by Miss Trial; 10-31-2010 at 02:01 PM.
Old 10-18-2010, 05:10 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Floaters
Posts: 6,470
Received 609 Likes on 298 Posts
Default

Well, the site takes out the extra spaces I put in so that diagram didn't help much...
Old 10-18-2010, 06:45 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Highlands, NJ
Posts: 1,351
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

can't understand the problem from your description. has the unit changed from your previous orientation? sometimes you have to redo preferences. also, you can now choose between the bearing line being "heading" or "cog". maybe that is it.

maybe you can describe a little better. ron
Old 10-18-2010, 06:52 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Floaters
Posts: 6,470
Received 609 Likes on 298 Posts
Default

here's another way to explain it. I'm going straight and the past boat on the screen is literally pointing 15 degrees to the left, as is my old tracks, but i'm not going the way the boat is pointing...
Old 10-18-2010, 06:53 PM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Garmin added an option about this recently.
8. Added a user control to the 2D maps that allows the "Heading Line" to use Course over Ground instead of Magnetic Heading.
Did you perhaps have it switch on you when the option was added?
Old 10-18-2010, 07:00 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Floaters
Posts: 6,470
Received 609 Likes on 298 Posts
Default

Unless it did it automatically. I wonder where that option is? I haven't seen it.
Old 10-18-2010, 08:25 PM
  #7  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,759
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

It has nothing to do with the update. Sounds like your heading is off. If you have the GHP10 AP installed, you either need to calibrate the heading/compass on it, OR, just turn the CCU (looks like a ball). The CCU is the heading sensor on the GHP10, and that feeds your plotter.
Old 10-31-2010, 01:50 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Floaters
Posts: 6,470
Received 609 Likes on 298 Posts
Default

Birdman,

I tried turning the ball and could get it lined up but then it went right back to doing what it was doing before. I tried to figure out how to reset the AP and start over from scratch with doing the circles in the bay but did not see that option.

This is what it looks like:






Confusingly, at idle (or at this heading) it lines up perfectly.

Old 10-31-2010, 01:52 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Floaters
Posts: 6,470
Received 609 Likes on 298 Posts
Default

After I posted that it occurred to me that it was pointing toward the East in photo number one and photo number two (right in one and left in the other).

The one where it's lined up correctly i'm headed on a heading or 90* (due east).

now i'm even more perplexed.
Old 10-31-2010, 02:28 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Point Pleasant,NJ
Posts: 127
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

I had the same problem, try turning off the auto pilot, if the problem goes away you need to recalibrate
Old 10-31-2010, 03:56 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Floaters
Posts: 6,470
Received 609 Likes on 298 Posts
Default

How do you recalibrate? I couldn't find that option on the autopilot.
Old 10-31-2010, 05:57 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Do you have a KVH compass, feeding the plotter?
Old 10-31-2010, 06:47 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Floaters
Posts: 6,470
Received 609 Likes on 298 Posts
Default

I don't know what that is.
Old 10-31-2010, 08:31 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

If you have a remote compass feeding the plotter, heading info and the compass has not been recalibrated recently, then what is happening could be caused by the compass.. I had the same problem, and the compass was the problem..Boat picture was about 20 degrees left of actual course line..
Old 11-01-2010, 03:17 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: marblehead
Posts: 2,379
Received 58 Likes on 47 Posts
Default

Just take the boat out and do some slow 360's. That should work.
It did with mine.
Old 11-01-2010, 07:50 AM
  #16  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,759
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

You have to put the AP in Dealer Setup mode. Power it off, then press and hold both the center and right hand button, and then also press and hold the power button (holding all 3 buttons at once) UNTIL you see the heading displayed. Then select Menu, Setup and Dealer setup. Choose Calibrate Compass.
Old 11-01-2010, 08:03 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,897
Likes: 0
Received 464 Likes on 271 Posts
Default

Something seems weird in your pictures. It looks like your existing tracks go directly over dry land. I assume that is not how they were laid down?

If so, something seems to have shifted in how your cartography is aligning in addition to your heading being skewed.

Very odd.
Old 11-01-2010, 08:19 AM
  #18  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,759
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

I drive over land, and down 1/4 mile of beach every time I enter the canal for my marina. That's called a round world turned flat error.
Old 11-01-2010, 09:42 AM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Floaters
Posts: 6,470
Received 609 Likes on 298 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gerg View Post
Something seems weird in your pictures. It looks like your existing tracks go directly over dry land. I assume that is not how they were laid down?

If so, something seems to have shifted in how your cartography is aligning in addition to your heading being skewed.

Very odd.

It's always been like that. I thought it was mine, but its slightly off on most every chartplotter I've seen in our area of the world.
Old 11-01-2010, 12:59 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 402
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

It is definitely the calibration. This has happened to me a couple of times. I know it is off when my boat shows up crooked on the gps screen. You just have to recalibrate it. I think for mine what causes it is the sensor get bumped in rough seas.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.