Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

C-MAP & The Bahamas...where did I go wrong?

Notices

C-MAP & The Bahamas...where did I go wrong?

Old 04-10-2003, 08:37 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ma
Posts: 9
Default C-MAP & The Bahamas...where did I go wrong?

Used C-MAP's card coverage for the Bahamas this past winter....let me tell you that the coverage was off. I'm trying to figure out where the errors are and apparently it is due to the fact that this region has not had a recent official survey in years!
I've also heard that Garmin produces for the same area and has better coverage. Can anyone confirm this...if not for the Bahamas, any where else?
Monkeyfist is offline  
Old 04-10-2003, 12:58 PM
  #2  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ma
Posts: 9
Default C-MAP & The Bahamas...where did I go wrong?

20 views and no replies? WTF?!
Monkeyfist is offline  
Old 04-10-2003, 02:27 PM
  #3  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wintersprings,FL USA
Posts: 72
Default C-MAP & The Bahamas...where did I go wrong?

Monk
I used c-mapNT last summer in the Abacos and it seemed to be fine. My c-map was about 1 year old at the time.
John S is offline  
Old 04-10-2003, 05:39 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Skaneateles, New York
Posts: 5,483
Default C-MAP & The Bahamas...where did I go wrong?

I find the Garmin BlueCharts are excellent in my area. No sure if there available for the Bahamas. www.Garmin.com Send them an e-mail or call. Great service.

Boston Whaler, "MUMBLER", 24' Outrage, twin 175 HP Evinrude Ocean Pros. Snowball, the cat...
Mumblerone is offline  
Old 04-14-2003, 03:49 PM
  #5  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Pierce, FL
Posts: 31
Default C-MAP & The Bahamas...where did I go wrong?

I've got the regional BlueChart Card for Florida -Jax to the Keys, west to Bahamas. I fish out of Fort Pierce and have been up to 50 miles south. The card was very accurate... marinas, land masses, and intercoastal waterway. So far, very satisfied. Planning a trip to Bahamas for July. Can update you further afterwards.
justdocked is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 01:39 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Miami, FL - 2003 Seacraf
Posts: 100
Default C-MAP & The Bahamas...where did I go wrong?

I went to Bimini last year and my C-Map was MOSTLY accurate but at one point it showed me crossing an Island! I thought it might be the DGPS but it had a good fix. Dunno whether they've updated their data since then but I'll never trust it out there again.

SEVENX aka SPEARHEAD

sevenx is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 05:50 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Posts: 118
Default C-MAP & The Bahamas...where did I go wrong?

I had a older Chartchip for CMAP that showed me being on land on a few occasions. The newer chip has never yet been wrong. (This happenned in Baltimore harbor). The chip said I was in a parking lot 200 feet away from the turn at the rusty scupper. Not a good thing.
But the new one seems to be Dead Accurate.

jjmcdonald@hotmail.com
jmcdnald@cisco.com
irish is offline  
Old 04-17-2003, 06:18 PM
  #8  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 91
Default C-MAP & The Bahamas...where did I go wrong?

Used Bluechart in Bimini, had the same thing happen and showed me running across the Island. My guess is that the charts that Blue Chart and the other vendors charts are based off of have not been updated for a while in the Bimini area. I would NEVER use charts as my only means of Navigation. Only use it as a guide and let my eyes and the water color tell me the rest.

Lucky
reel luck is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread