Notices

what to do with second chartplotter ?

Old 12-14-2002, 08:06 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,811
Default what to do with second chartplotter ?

I know, tough problem... Anyway, my boat came with a garmin 162; I'm already feeding its output to my dsc vhf. I have a handheld gps as a backup as well.

I also just got a raymarine radar plus chartplotter. I got the chartploter model because it was almost the same price as the radar alone, and I figureed it is a good relacement for the garmin some day. However I haven't yet purchased a gps antenna for it.

My question is, should I spend the extra $600 for the raymarine antenna and "stuff", or just feed it from the garmin for now? I realize there will be latency using the garmin feed. Will the raymarine be superior to the garmin (they are both mono displays btw, so no overlay until I get a new ff) in any way?

Decisions.... and no matter how hard I try, I can't spend the same dollar twice.....

I'll be mostly in LI sound this year, with a few offshore trips if I feel up to it. I expect to be offshore quite a bit at some point though.

** sigh **
gerg is offline  
Old 12-14-2002, 08:32 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default what to do with second chartplotter ?

Man, that's a tough call. I think I'd probably sell the 162, and take the money from it and buy the GPS head for the Raytheon, in fact I'm pretty sure that's what I'd do. Then you only have to spend that bill once.

You'll loose a bit on the GPS side, not much, but I don't think it will matter a bit and the integrated Raythone package will be much better overall - just my gut feeling of course.

Thom

"For every complex question, there's a simple answer. And it's wrong."
(--H. L. Mencken)
Thom is offline  
Old 12-15-2002, 04:28 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ft Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 363
Default what to do with second chartplotter ?

One other option might be to get a JRC GPS antenna. JRC makes several generic GPS antennas that can be easily configured internally to mate to almost any GPS reciever (I know they work with Ray stuff). They have proven to be very reliable and are much less expensive than the Raymarine antennas. A good electronics dealer and maybe even a good online or mailorder house specializing in electronics can set you up, and then you will have built in back up.
keysdisease is offline  
Old 12-15-2002, 09:35 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 869
Default what to do with second chartplotter ?

I don't know how protected your helm area is, but I use a 162 as a back-up to my navnet, The navnet has a chart plotter so we are in a similar situation. I use the NEMA output from the Garmin to connect to my laptop and use an old copy of Jeppsen charting software as a backup chart plotter. Plus all my routes are stored on the laptop and I haven't figured how to load them into the Cmap yet. For long trips I keep the range on the furuno at a couple of miles and the range on the laptop at 20 or so, doing this I get perspective of where we are going. I know this won't work for everyone but it is an option.
finadict is offline  
Old 12-15-2002, 01:25 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bonita, CA
Posts: 495
Default what to do with second chartplotter ?

finidict,

I use GPS Utility to download/upload my waypoints between my computer and a Furuno 1850DF, a Magellan NAV6000 and a Garmin eTrex Summit. It is a great program. You may want to try it.
www.gpsu.co.uk/

"Snow Goose", John Jensen
John Jensen is offline  
Old 12-15-2002, 05:29 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,811
Default what to do with second chartplotter ?

I checked out the JRC antennas, a comparable nmea version is about $140 cheaper than the Raymarine, although I couldn't get that one in a seatalk version (so it could also talk to anything else I get from raymarine). Is the seatalk version a better choice for Raymarine units or doesn't it really matter?

I'm also leaning towards Thom's advice to sell off the garmin with the bluechart kit and pc cable I got for it. I just need a streak of nice weather to work under the tarp and on top of the hardtop. Maybe I'll wait till I get the boat back in the water and see how I like the raymarine first.

** sigh **
gerg is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread