Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Interface a garmin 2010c,icom 502,furuno 582l.

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Interface a garmin 2010c,icom 502,furuno 582l.

Old 03-22-2003, 11:21 PM
  #1  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: petersburg,va.USA 235 se
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Interface a garmin 2010c,icom 502,furuno 582l.

I am attempting to interface garmin 2010c,icom 502,furuno 582l.I donot know exactly which wire to use on the garmin.The furuno looks like I might need another cable for it.I also need to know what fuse size to use on my garmin.I would like to see dep,temp,speed&dsc.HELP PLEASE

[This message was edited by slum lord on 03-23-03 at 06:09 PM.]
slum lord is offline  
Old 03-23-2003, 06:04 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Interface a garmin 2010c,icom 502,furuno 582l.

You got me on this one ... not on how to hook them up, I'll tell you how to do that, but on your wording. You are asking how to hook up specific pieces of equipment in the first paragraph and then in the second you tell us you're still looking, giving the impression that you haven't bought the stuff you want to hook together yet. Very confusing.

OK, here's how it works for each of the three devices, which, by the way, are easy to interface with one another. First what you got there.

The Garmin (be it either the 2010 or the 2006, color or monochrome) has an antenna which is actually the GPS itself, the outher unit is just the display head. The cable comming down from the antenna has bunches of wires of various colors in it and a couple of them are for data transfer and two of them are for power for the unit. In the case of the Garmin, and only the Garmin of the three devices you mention, the battery negative wire from that cable (the black wire) also acts as half of the circuit (Data transfer negative) for the data transfer ports. We'll get back to colors at the bottom but I just want you to understand how it works first.

The second device, the radio, does not come with the necessary wires to do the interface for it, youi have to make your own but that's not a problem at all. On the back of the radio, no matter which model of ICOM you should end up with, there is a female plug. The plug is of the type known as RCA. It has a shoulder with will act as the negative side for the data transfer (data input in this case) and a hole in the middle which supplies t he data positive end of the circuit. So for this one ou need to buy a plug and some wire. The plug you will need is sold at every Radio Shack in the country for about a buck. You need to get wire too, and the length will be determined by where you mount stuff and how you plan to route the wireing. Deal with it.

The third item, the Furuno, also requires additional wires. You need to get the data transfer cable for it, and just to save you some time in looking just give Consumer Marine Electroncis a call to get one. It will cost you right about $35 - Ouch! You need it though, at least if you want to do the interfacing, which you should do. The cable you get from Consumer will have 4 wires in it. The wires will be Black, White, Green, and Yellow. Two of them are for data Output and two are for data Input.

OK, now the hookup. For the sake of simplicity I'm going to give colors to the wires you will be using on the back of the ICOM, I'm going to call the Data Negative wire from the ICOM (the one that will connect to the out shell (shoulder) of the plug you will be buying from Radio Shack) Black and the one that connects to the Center Pin of that connector Orange - of course your colors may vary. Keep in mind that all you are doing here is connecting the data output from the GPS to the input from the other two devices and the Data Output from the fish finder to the data Input from the GPS. Positive side wires connect to Positive side wires and Negative side wires Connect to Negative side wires. In the case of the GPS when all of this is done you have to go into the setup, go to the COMM submenu, and turn on NMEA Port 2 and change the default setting from "Garmin" over the "NMEA". Then you will need to go to the setup of the Furuno and change its setup to turn the NMEA interface port On and set it to version 2.0.

Here we go:

Garmin Black wire to battery ground (plus leave provisions to connect two other wires to this one). Also connect to Furuno Green wire and Furuno Black wire and to ICOM black wire (shoulder, or outer shell, of the RCA plug).

Garmin Gray wire (Port 2, Data Output Positive) to ICOM Orange (Data Input Positive - center pin of the RCA plug) and to Furuno Yellow (Data Input Positive).

Garmin Violet (Data Input Positive) to Furuno White wire (Data Output Positive). While you didn't mention wanting to do this you should know that the fish finder does output depth and water temperature data which can be displayed on the Garmin and the depth will be captured as part of a saved waypoit - so I tossed this connection in for free

ICOM Black wire (RCA Plug outer shell) to Garmin black wire (also connected to battery ground) which will also have wires from the Furuno connected to it as mentioned elsewhere.

ICOM Orange wire (Data Output Positive - center pin of the RCA plug) to Garmin Gray wire (which will also be conected to the Furuno)

Furuno Green wire to Garmim Black

Furuno Black wire to Garmin Black

Furuno Yellow to Garmin Gray

Furuno White to Garmin Violet (Garmin Data Input Positive)

There, that was simple enough, wasn't it? If this is at all confusing please let me know and I'll go to one of those drawing programs that I am so very bad with and I'll draw you a small picture of it all.

Thom

Thom is offline  
Old 03-23-2003, 04:07 PM
  #3  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: petersburg,va.USA 235 se
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Interface a garmin 2010c,icom 502,furuno 582l.

Thanks Thom,kinda new at this computer stuff.Sorry about the confussion.Bottom paragraph was done earlier.I wiil try this long weekend.I do not know exactly what size fuse to put in fuse block for garmin.I would think something around 2a to 6a.Any suggestions.I presently have a 1986 sea ray 268 sundancer & a 235 cc seapro.Soon as a buddy stops by and show me how to post pictures I will do so.Still working on 268 dancer(party barge)& Trying to get 235 ready for fishing.Thanks alot for the info.See ya on the c bay.
slum lord is offline  
Old 03-23-2003, 04:13 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 679
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Interface a garmin 2010c,icom 502,furuno 582l.

Hate to single you out, but when your the best, well.....

Anyway, I've got a question along the same lines. My JRC 500F only has one nmea out plug on the back. I need to send info out to both a radio and a radar. Is it OK to to put two wires on one pin of the nmea connector in order to get gps info to both units?

I'm pretty sure what you just did in the post above is the same idea but I don't have the wires right in front of me.
sean9k is offline  
Old 03-23-2003, 05:58 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Interface a garmin 2010c,icom 502,furuno 582l.

Sean,

Thanks ....

Sure, no problem, you can send the output to more than one device. Some of the older Garmin's could only handel up to about 4 devices, but now days I think their voltage has been increased (and someone told me to what from what but I don't remember) so its not a problem at all.

The GPS doesn't actually know or care who (what other devices) is listening, it will send out its string of data sentences no matter what. The other devices have sentences they are listening for and when they come across they will make use of them, at the same time other sentences they can not read are ignored.

Thom

Whoops! Slum Lord, your GPS probably draws around 1 amp (I didn't bother to look but you might want to) and so I'd probably use a fuse of about 2 amps. I'm sure the Garmin manual will tell you what size fuse to use. I'd go look for you but my manual is in the boat at the moment.


Thom is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.