Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Furuno Auto Pilot

Old 09-01-2004, 05:25 PM
  #1  
Senior Member

Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada and Pirates Cove, OBX, NC
Posts: 20,222
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Furuno Auto Pilot

Bought full Furuno system from Yacht Jim . . . great stuff 12 in screen plotter 12 KW radar etc.

Today I heard from a Furuno dealer down the road that the newer Furuno autopilots are causing problems and that they are working on a fix . . . anyone heard anything

Thanks
auguste is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 06:51 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: West Palm Beach,FL,USA
Posts: 1,306
Received 35 Likes on 21 Posts
Default RE: Furuno Auto Pilot

Yes, there were software issues.
Current units being shipped have new software and they have been probelm free for a couple of months. Contact Furuno and make sure you are getting updated units.

I was actually on a Bertram 630 today helping to move it before Francis comes. It had the Furuno pilot and it worked like a champ.
cravenMH is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 07:39 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 525
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Furuno Auto Pilot

Furuno 511 pilot. One glitch. Somehow the communication speed to the heading sensor got screwed up. Couldn't figure it out for several hours. Not sure what caused it but everything works fine now. Unit purchased/installed in May '04. Not sure how new a unit has to be to have the latest software from the factory. Anyone know? Perhaps I should contact Furuno direct.
CohoMike is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 06:41 AM
  #4  
Senior Member

Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada and Pirates Cove, OBX, NC
Posts: 20,222
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: Furuno Auto Pilot

Thanks for the info guys
auguste is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 09:17 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 1,166
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Furuno Auto Pilot

I had my Furuno 511 installed late March 04 and so far it has been working well, but I still haven't tried it out in anything really challenging. I was told by High Seas Technology that there may be still further software updates that they would keep me informed about. There were a lot of delays on these units (500/511) due to software issues so it wouldn't surprise me if there were still glitches. This may be irrelevant for me since Frances is supposed to come ashore about 2 miles from our marina, and even though the boat will be on land, doubt it will survive.
djcxxx is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 09:49 AM
  #6  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,759
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: Furuno Auto Pilot

WHAT??? Furuno has a software bug???? NOO!!!!!! I thought only Ray had software bugs when they released new products???

See, it happends to them all.
Birdman is offline  
Old 09-02-2004, 09:23 PM
  #7  
Senior Member

Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada and Pirates Cove, OBX, NC
Posts: 20,222
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: Furuno Auto Pilot

Paul Buske of Reel Obsession fame called me this evening . . . he talked to Furuno and the problems have been sorted out and the software glitch has been resolved.

auguste is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 04:53 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 2,538
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Furuno Auto Pilot

I had/have one of the very first Nav500's. The 500 and 511 are IDENTICAL except for the screen size. The original boards were either outboard or inboard. The newer boards have a jumper setting. It was working intermittently for about a month and I was forwarded to Furuno cust service in Washington. After about 2 weeks of troubleshooting, they wanted my course computer (Brain) and gyro back. I pulled it on monday and sent UPS overnight to Wash. ($131, which they paid me for) and they looked at it, upgraded both units and sent them back. I received both on Thursday. I have had not a seconds trouble since. I use the screen as an info screen and will rely on it solely for navigation once it is set (Only for ocean trolling) I turn my normal plotter into full screen fishfinder. Once we start fishing, no one touches the steering wheel all day. The advanced auto mode is awesome. Even the Crappy rudder feedback unit has performed great. I would definitely get this unit again.
Somethin-Fishey is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 11:15 AM
  #9  
Senior Member

Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada and Pirates Cove, OBX, NC
Posts: 20,222
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: Furuno Auto Pilot

Thanks for the update.
auguste is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.