Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 4xxx and 5xxx question

Old 07-23-2010, 05:18 PM
  #1  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt Pleasant, SC
Posts: 16,437
Received 1,105 Likes on 612 Posts
Default Garmin 4xxx and 5xxx question

Once hooked up to my engine, is it possible to make the engine and fuel gauges part of my combination pages?
Old 07-23-2010, 05:43 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Joe View Post
Once hooked up to my engine, is it possible to make the engine and fuel gauges part of my combination pages?
no...only the 6's and 7's will do it
Old 07-23-2010, 05:55 PM
  #3  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt Pleasant, SC
Posts: 16,437
Received 1,105 Likes on 612 Posts
Default

Thanks Glen. That would be a cool software upgrade
Old 07-25-2010, 04:43 AM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin GPS

The larger units have a NMEA 2000 port in the back for engine info to displat on screen
Old 07-25-2010, 11:05 AM
  #5  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt Pleasant, SC
Posts: 16,437
Received 1,105 Likes on 612 Posts
Default

Toddo, I have the engine info, I just wanted to make that part of the "combinations". Apparently, that can't be done on the "smaller" units.
Old 07-26-2010, 03:08 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,841
Likes: 0
Received 440 Likes on 253 Posts
Default

Joe, they aren't smaller, just outdated. The 6xxx/7xxx are replacement models for the 4xxx/5xxx, though there is some overlap in availability. Expect the older models to go eol at some point soon.

They are probably just scaling up on the new units before killing the older. They don't want to cliff revenues by trying to cut over too soon. It's a balancing act that can be costly if done wrong.
Old 07-26-2010, 09:50 PM
  #7  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt Pleasant, SC
Posts: 16,437
Received 1,105 Likes on 612 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gerg View Post
Joe, they aren't smaller, just outdated. The 6xxx/7xxx are replacement models for the 4xxx/5xxx, though there is some overlap in availability. Expect the older models to go eol at some point soon.

They are probably just scaling up on the new units before killing the older. They don't want to cliff revenues by trying to cut over too soon. It's a balancing act that can be costly if done wrong.

You are correct. I hadn't even looked at the 6xxx/7xxx models before you said that. They look like nice units--but it will be quite a while before I upgrade.
Old 07-27-2010, 02:51 AM
  #8  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The older 4xxx and 5xxx do have a NMEA 2000 port in the unit which can display limited info ex: tach, fuel. The new 6xxx or 7xxxx will be able to display a full network of guages. The 3 digit units can't do any of these features.
Old 07-27-2010, 03:42 AM
  #9  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 78
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yeah, really stupid you can't show that info on a combo page or as part of a customizable data box. It's all just a software feature.
Old 07-27-2010, 10:23 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Todo are you guessing or have you looked at engine data on the 4 -and 5's? They do data better than anyone except simrad....

And the 3 digit units will do engine data too...546 and 740
Old 07-27-2010, 01:57 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,563
Received 469 Likes on 311 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gerg View Post
Joe, they aren't smaller, just outdated. The 6xxx/7xxx are replacement models for the 4xxx/5xxx, though there is some overlap in availability. Expect the older models to go eol at some point soon.

.
Actually they will not be replacing the 4xxx/5xxx with the 6xxx/7xxx.
The 4xxx/5xxx competes with the Raymarine C-Wides; the 6xxx/7xxx is marketed to compete with the E-Series.
Old 07-27-2010, 03:27 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,841
Likes: 0
Received 440 Likes on 253 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by LI32 View Post
Actually they will not be replacing the 4xxx/5xxx with the 6xxx/7xxx.
The 4xxx/5xxx competes with the Raymarine C-Wides; the 6xxx/7xxx is marketed to compete with the E-Series.
sorry, that's silly.
Old 07-28-2010, 05:30 AM
  #13  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

yes have seen it displayed at the Miami boatshow 2008. to see basic engine function you have to purchase


NMEA 2000® Starter Kit
Part Number: 010-11442-00
Suggested Retail Price: $ 99.00 USD



Quantity: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Add To Cart.
.FeaturesImagesProducts Do you need to build a basic NMEA 2000 network? Look no further than our NMEA 2000 starter kit. This kit includes an NMEA 2000 drop cable (2 m), NMEA 2000 backbone cable (10 m), NMEA 2000 power cable (2 m), two NMEA 2000 T-connectors, NMEA 2000 male terminator and NMEA 2000 female terminator
Old 07-28-2010, 06:55 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by toddo View Post
yes have seen it displayed at the Miami boatshow 2008. to see basic engine function you have to purchase


NMEA 2000® Starter Kit
Part Number: 010-11442-00
Suggested Retail Price: $ 99.00 USD



Quantity: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Add To Cart.
.FeaturesImagesProducts Do you need to build a basic NMEA 2000 network? Look no further than our NMEA 2000 starter kit. This kit includes an NMEA 2000 drop cable (2 m), NMEA 2000 backbone cable (10 m), NMEA 2000 power cable (2 m), two NMEA 2000 T-connectors, NMEA 2000 male terminator and NMEA 2000 female terminator
no..... that won't do it by a long shot... and that kit comes in the box of every 4000/5000 kit anyway - nothing to buy except the engine interface for each type motor out there.
Old 07-28-2010, 08:39 AM
  #15  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,757
Likes: 0
Received 24 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gerg View Post
sorry, that's silly.
Why is that silly? They are essentially the same units with the same functionality and software. The only difference on them really is the processor and amount of memory. The 4/5000 series are slower, less memory, and CHEAPER. While the 6/7000 series are alot faster, have more storage capacity (for WP's, routes, tracks), but are more expensive. Most people will do just fine with the 4/5000 series, but if you have some extra jingle in you pocket, get the 6/7000 for the benifit of speed.

Makes alot of sense to me.
Old 07-28-2010, 10:36 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,841
Likes: 0
Received 440 Likes on 253 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Birdman View Post
Why is that silly? They are essentially the same units with the same functionality and software. The only difference on them really is the processor and amount of memory. The 4/5000 series are slower, less memory, and CHEAPER. While the 6/7000 series are alot faster, have more storage capacity (for WP's, routes, tracks), but are more expensive. Most people will do just fine with the 4/5000 series, but if you have some extra jingle in you pocket, get the 6/7000 for the benifit of speed.

Makes alot of sense to me.
I said it was silly, not that it wasn't true.

It's silly because there isn't enough differentiation between the 4/5 and the 6/7 other than performance. There is significant differentiation between the E and C series however, both in terms of features and networking abilities.

The units are just too similar. They either need to radically reposition the 4/5 or kill it off. I suspect they will kill it off once they have the bugs worked out on the 6/7. The 6/7 still isn't mega yacht designed, so they still have room for an upscale product, especially since they seem to be upsizing the triple digit model display sizes.

If they want a single station option for a 10-12 inch display, it isn't the 4/5 series. At least not today.
Old 07-28-2010, 05:19 PM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,563
Received 469 Likes on 311 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gerg View Post
I said it was silly, not that it wasn't true.

It's silly because there isn't enough differentiation between the 4/5 and the 6/7 other than performance. There is significant differentiation between the E and C series however, both in terms of features and networking abilities.

The units are just too similar. They either need to radically reposition the 4/5 or kill it off. I suspect they will kill it off once they have the bugs worked out on the 6/7. The 6/7 still isn't mega yacht designed, so they still have room for an upscale product, especially since they seem to be upsizing the triple digit model display sizes.

If they want a single station option for a 10-12 inch display, it isn't the 4/5 series. At least not today.
You do realize the Raymarine has a G-series for the mega-yacht crowd?
The E-series is not mega-yacht material as it doesn't come in a black-box variety.

How can you say a 25% difference in price, plus the additional features and speed of the 6/7 isn't enough to differentiate it from the 4/5, which can be had for a price that is less than its true competitors: C-wides and NavNet3d; and for not much more than a Lowrance. At the volumes Garmin sells the 4/5's and now the 6/7's (it sells more of those than Furuno sells NavNet3d and Raymarine sells C-wides and E's combined), it can easily afford to have both in its lineup.
Old 07-28-2010, 08:13 PM
  #18  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 66
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I should do some homework here but I was wondering what the compatibility issues are with replacing the 5212 with the new 7212. Screen. Interchangeability and peripheral issues??? I currently have the GSD 22 and the GDL30A and GMR 18HD with the 17 antenna.
Any insight would be appreciated..
Old 07-28-2010, 08:16 PM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by hwbjr View Post
I should do some homework here but I was wondering what the compatibility issues are with replacing the 5212 with the new 7212. Screen. Interchangeability and peripheral issues??? I currently have the GSD 22 and the GDL30A and GMR 18HD with the 17 antenna.
Any insight would be appreciated..
complete swap out except for power cable which is improved....
Old 07-28-2010, 08:20 PM
  #20  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 66
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I should do some homework here but I was wondering what the compatibility issues are with replacing the 5212 with the new 7212. Screen. Interchangeability and peripheral issues??? I currently have the GSD 22 and the GDL30A and GMR 18HD with the 17 antenna.
Any insight would be appreciated..

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.