Notices

In-line fuse installation

Reply

Old 07-23-2010, 12:36 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Default In-line fuse installation

This is my first post....so here goes.

I have to replace the in-line fuse that runs from my battery to my CC that runs my bait well, bilge, lights and sonar...in that order. Upon having power issues with these items I looked near the battery at the in-line fuse holder and discovered a nasty corrosion build up that undoubtedly was causing a short in the system which explains my electronics working sporadically.

My question is...Is there anything special I need to know about how to remove the old in-line fuse and install the new one? I think all I need is the fuse holder, the fuse, a pair of wire cutters and then the sealed wire to wire connection so I can connect the fuse holder wires to the existing wire that runs to the CC and the battery. I've never connected wires together...is it hard? I think it is 12 gauge wire, but how do I confirm that? Any tips would be appreciated.

This is mainly a temporary quick fix. I plan on installing a power switch in the offseason on the CC so I don't have to miss valuable fishing time this summer!
ndboston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 05:07 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PBG, FL
Posts: 8,933
Default

No real way to confirm unless u can read it somewhere on the wire. But u have the right idea. Just make sure u get the right size fuse. Seems weird does this wire go to a bus bar or fuse panel that sends power to those items u mentioned? When u fix it put in 1 big wire to a bus bar under the helm on a 50 amp thermal breaker.
bradv is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 06:07 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Solomons, Maryland / Now just visiting Marathon
Posts: 4,777
Default

Sealed (heat shrink) marine barrels and a sealed fuse holder for each appliance.
It will say it on the package, they aren't the standard ones you buy in a home depot or radio shack,
When you separate the old stuff, take a little piece of the wire to the store with you and match size.
Steve_250 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 10:13 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Default

I'm pretty sure that the wire just goes directly to the CC and connects first to the baitwell before then going to the bilge, nav lights, and sonar. I didn't see any bus bar and to be honest I'm not sure where that would be and what it's purpose is. Can you clarify? I know, it's probably pathetic I don't know this stuff at 30, but I don't really have anybody to teach me the ins and outs. I'll definetely make sure that all connectors are purchased form a marina and are properly water sealed components. Thanks
ndboston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 11:31 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 6,386
Default

Maybe this will help. Look at the 6 guage red wire going to the circuit breaker. It is coming straight off of the battery switch common post, through the breaker and then to a blue seas fuse box. Also the 6 guage black wire is coming from the negative side of the battery to the fuse box. All of the house electronics are then run to the fuse box.

HH
Attached Images  
HeadHunt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 11:40 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Nice example. I def do not have a fuse box. What is the purpose of the circuit breaker? I thought that was what the fuses are for?
ndboston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 11:52 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 6,386
Default

Originally Posted by ndboston View Post
Nice example. I def do not have a fuse box. What is the purpose of the circuit breaker? I thought that was what the fuses are for?
It serves the same purpose as an inline fuse... to protect the circuit.
HeadHunt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 12:44 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Angier NC
Posts: 443
Default



Is this the type of fuseholder you need to replace?

Ray
rhartjr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 01:27 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
triumphrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Masaryktown, Fla.
Posts: 16,697
Default

You questioned the need/use of a circuit breaker...are you not aware of them?

Once your fuse blows, you had better have another to replace it, after you corrected why it blew, or youre gonna be in trouble.

Screwing up this install and connection could cost you in the long run, especially if out at sea and you don't have power to something as necessary as your radio.

If it were mine, I would have someone a little more qualified working on it...
triumphrick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 08:09 PM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 2
Default

Originally Posted by HeadHunt View Post
Maybe this will help. Look at the 6 guage red wire going to the circuit breaker. It is coming straight off of the battery switch common post, through the breaker and then to a blue seas fuse box. Also the 6 guage black wire is coming from the negative side of the battery to the fuse box. All of the house electronics are then run to the fuse box.

HH
Wow. Sorry to jump in here but I was just hunting around for some pictures of boat wiring done right. Need to re-do a few things that have been bugging me. HH I love your picture that is what I'm aspiring to. I was especially interested in using the terminal blocks to connect those really small wires (not even sure what guage) like the ones that interface my GPS, FF, and VHF. Gotta get to work on that. Thanks for the inspiration.
bardwell02 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: