Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Suzuki NMEA 2000 newtork + standard Suzuki gauges - it can be done

Notices
Like Tree39Likes

Suzuki NMEA 2000 newtork + standard Suzuki gauges - it can be done

Old 10-05-2017, 09:24 AM
  #1901  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 1,794
Default

That network diagram looks OK and is basically how my engines are connected.
A couple of things to try or test:
  1. Test with only one of the engines connected to the backbone you have mounted in the bilge. So basically remove one of your "T"s back there.
  2. Make 100% sure your terminators are OK on both ends of your backbone.
  3. Make sure your house battery powering that Simrad unit and the N2K network
    is giving you a solid 12.5V or better.
  4. Check that main backbone cable for continuity.
  5. Turn the key on for your motors before powering on the MFD.

Good luck!
fly186 is online now  
Old 10-05-2017, 06:36 PM
  #1902  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 201
Default

If you can run a motor while testing or have a battery charger on the battery. Nmea2000 can be temperamental with low voltave. Also make shore the nmea2000 network is powered from the same battery as the gps. Check the house and start batteries negatives are connected together aswell. Try one motor interface at a time as they may be both setup as port or starboard. Good luck
norton79 is offline  
Old 10-27-2017, 07:04 AM
  #1903  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 9
Default

Finally .. Done

thanks all for your support
edy9wie is offline  
Old 11-01-2017, 05:07 AM
  #1904  
Senior Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,336
Default

Latest and greatest.

Name:  E3B01BFA-AD0E-4D28-8C1C-AFDB0F6E2D86_zpsews1lr3p.jpg
Views: 1486
Size:  161.8 KB
Corrado650 likes this.
InternationalMarineMike is offline  
Old 11-01-2017, 08:08 AM
  #1905  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Chesapeake Bay - Cove Point to Sandy Point
Posts: 455
Default

Sub'd for information.
sonofasonofasailor is offline  
Old 11-15-2017, 01:52 AM
  #1906  
Senior Member
THT sponsor
 
InternationalMarineMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8,336
Default

We will be seeing some new stuff coming in a few month from Suzuki relating to gauges. They will be releasing a Gateway that will allow your engine data to get alarms from your NMEA2K Chart-plotter without having a gauge in the mix. Some guys can use a GO5 for example as a gauge. This will have the same housing as an engine interface cable but different software.

Mike
InternationalMarineMike is offline  
Old 11-19-2017, 11:13 PM
  #1907  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 11
Default

Will this new stuff be just software updates or a completely new engine interface cable ?
Lotus is offline  
Old 11-20-2017, 09:12 AM
  #1908  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Chesapeake Bay - Cove Point to Sandy Point
Posts: 455
Default

x2 in for answers. Will it remedy the need for those with older Suzuki 4s to have to use the hard to find 2.3 interface cable?
sonofasonofasailor is offline  
Old 11-26-2017, 03:24 PM
  #1909  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 30
Default

Also subscribing for updates...thx.
tuckdaway is offline  
Old 01-24-2018, 09:04 AM
  #1910  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Default Interface cable for 2004 DF140

Moonlighter, Thank you for the wealth of information.
I have a Suzuki interface cable with software version 2.9 on my 2004 DF140, and after reading your post I contacted John from Bayside Suzuki Marine regarding these cables and reprogramming them. He said that he may be able to reprogram it. This has been the best result for me as I have wasted so much time trying to find a cable with version 2.3.
Thank you again for providing that information.
ZukiDF140 is offline  
Old 02-07-2018, 11:23 AM
  #1911  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,024
Default

Originally Posted by InternationalMarineMike View Post
We will be seeing some new stuff coming in a few month from Suzuki relating to gauges. They will be releasing a Gateway that will allow your engine data to get alarms from your NMEA2K Chart-plotter without having a gauge in the mix. Some guys can use a GO5 for example as a gauge. This will have the same housing as an engine interface cable but different software.

Mike
Few months is taking a long time.
Have to decide next week, suzuki or Verado
keizerh is offline  
Old 02-07-2018, 06:31 PM
  #1912  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: virginia beach,virginia,u
Posts: 359
Default

I was wondering as well
fishnut is offline  
Old 02-08-2018, 07:07 AM
  #1913  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 1,794
Default

Maybe Suzuki will announce something about this gateway device at the Miami show?

Last edited by fly186; 02-08-2018 at 08:19 AM.
fly186 is online now  
Old 02-24-2018, 07:02 AM
  #1914  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 23
Default

Some time ago, I ordered the parts needed for my engine, a DF150 from 2009.

36668-88L00 SMIS ADAPTER
990C0-88149-000 ENGINE INTERFACE CABLE

Last weekend, while we where out fishing, the engine stopped, and when checking the engine - started with the oil, as it both smoked and it smelled like something was real hot.

It was white as cooking milk, and was pouring out of the oil level dipstick hole.

So, since I no longer have an working Suzuki DF150, and never got to install the kit, I want to to sell it.

Will this work on newer Suzukis engines? Can you update them with a Lowrance HDS unit?
The question came from someone with a DF140A 2017.
cral is offline  
Old 02-24-2018, 01:18 PM
  #1915  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Default

Hi cral, sorry to hear that happened to your engine. Could you please pm me as I might be interested in purchasing the engine interface cable...

ZukiDF140
ZukiDF140 is offline  
Old 03-01-2018, 10:29 AM
  #1916  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 32
Default

Another noob looking for sage advice. Twin 2018 DF-150s with analog gauges; trying to plug into a new NMEA 2k backbone (w/ Lowrance Elite 9ti's). I believe I need two Suzuki SMIS Adapter to SDS (990C0-88136) to connect to the maintenance ports on the motors. I also believe I need two Suzuki SMIS Engine Interface Cable v3.5 (90C0-88149-350) to plug the aforementioned SDS/SMIS cable into a NMEA two-way tee connector. Am I headed in the right direction???
techcwby is offline  
Old 03-01-2018, 08:33 PM
  #1917  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,780
Default

Originally Posted by techcwby View Post
Another noob looking for sage advice. Twin 2018 DF-150s with analog gauges; trying to plug into a new NMEA 2k backbone (w/ Lowrance Elite 9ti's). I believe I need two Suzuki SMIS Adapter to SDS (990C0-88136) to connect to the maintenance ports on the motors. I also believe I need two Suzuki SMIS Engine Interface Cable v3.5 (90C0-88149-350) to plug the aforementioned SDS/SMIS cable into a NMEA two-way tee connector. Am I headed in the right direction???
Yes, correct. Adapters plug into engines, then interface cables into adapter and to a network T piece at other end.

Buy a NMEA2000 starter kit from Lowrance to set up the network. You will probably need an extra T piece if more than 1 Elite ti is to be attached to the network.

I always recommend extending the adapter cables to make them long enough to run from the engine, thru the rigging tube, and up to the dash. This way you keep the sensitive interface cables and T pieces up behind the dash where they are nice and cool and dry. Just cut the wires and splice in a length of suitable cable, and double heat shrink the joins.
techcwby likes this.
Moonlighter475 is offline  
Old 03-08-2018, 04:53 AM
  #1918  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: SE NC
Posts: 848
Default

I thought I'd share this. I looked and looked for pictures but could not find them before. I really was just curious what it looked like.

I have twin 2007 DF200s. Using software 2.3 on the engine interfaces, I have had 3x C10 gauges for 2 years now I think and they have been great. My only issue is one engine shows hours from when I installed the gauges and the other one shows the correct hours. I know the hours are correct because my Suzuki tech hooked it up when I first bought the boat used.

I just installed a Simrad Evo2 and hooked it up to the network, turned the key switch on to activate my network (this will be changing, I will be adding a data bridge and power on both sides). The Simrad displayed a popup saying "Suzuki Gauge Interface has been enabled". I figured it might happen but wanted to see.

Anyways, here is what it looks like. Engines clearly not running and position is blurred out.



Moonlighter475 likes this.
DOYAM is offline  
Old 03-08-2018, 01:36 PM
  #1919  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,780
Default

Originally Posted by DOYAM View Post
I thought I'd share this. I looked and looked for pictures but could not find them before. I really was just curious what it looked like.

I have twin 2007 DF200s. Using software 2.3 on the engine interfaces, I have had 3x C10 gauges for 2 years now I think and they have been great. My only issue is one engine shows hours from when I installed the gauges and the other one shows the correct hours. I know the hours are correct because my Suzuki tech hooked it up when I first bought the boat used.

I just installed a Simrad Evo2 and hooked it up to the network, turned the key switch on to activate my network (this will be changing, I will be adding a data bridge and power on both sides). The Simrad displayed a popup saying "Suzuki Gauge Interface has been enabled". I figured it might happen but wanted to see.

Anyways, here is what it looks like. Engines clearly not running and position is blurred out.
Thanks for that info! Great to know that C-10 will work with older engines running software right back to V2.30.

What software version is running on the C-10’s? Both running same version?

Do you get the correct engine hours for both engines showing on the Simrad?

Last edited by Moonlighter475; 03-08-2018 at 01:45 PM.
Moonlighter475 is offline  
Old 03-09-2018, 05:00 AM
  #1920  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: SE NC
Posts: 848
Default

Originally Posted by Moonlighter475 View Post
Thanks for that info! Great to know that C-10 will work with older engines running software right back to V2.30.

What software version is running on the C-10’s? Both running same version?

Do you get the correct engine hours for both engines showing on the Simrad?
All 3 C10s are running the same version and I have tried switching engine interface cables. The hours remain incorrect. I even tried starting fresh last year to no avail as suggested here: Suzuki C10 gauges - working great - need ideas for one thing

Also, someone else had this same issue here: http://www.suzukioutboardforum.com/f...s-engine-hours

I sent him a message to see if he got his resolved. If I get it resolved, I always try and report back. I know this thread is long but its a WEALTH of information and I give you (Moolighter) all the credit for that, thank you. I dont think you know how many people you have actually helped.

I can play more this year with the Simrad. Also, I have the rear deck panel out so I can reconfigure the sender if needed.

Last edited by DOYAM; 03-09-2018 at 05:10 AM.
DOYAM is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread