Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Best Place for Structurescan Transducer on a Skeeter Bay Boat

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Best Place for Structurescan Transducer on a Skeeter Bay Boat

Old 05-23-2010, 12:13 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best Place for Structurescan Transducer on a Skeeter Bay Boat

Guys where is the best place to mount my Strucutrescan transducer. I have add pics so ya'll can have and idea of my transom. Thanks in advance





Please post pics if you can of your mounts. Thanks

Joey
Old 05-23-2010, 05:06 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 128
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Here's a shot of where I mounted the SS transducer on my Key West bay boat. As with any transducer, locate it between ribs and strakes.

Old 05-23-2010, 09:43 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Jay.
Old 05-24-2010, 07:48 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ttt
Old 05-24-2010, 10:47 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mebane, NC
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I have mine mounted to the center / top of the pocket/step that looks similar to what is on yours - it fits perfect in my Se aHunt BX24. Advantage is that its out of the way reducing the chance for damage. The downside that I think I'm seeing is that some of the side-to-side is blocked due to the couple of inches that its tucked up - it just can't "see" all the way out to the sides like it could if mounted off the rear of the transom - of course, you just need to check that when mounted off the transom if you're "view" would be blocked by the outboard. I've thought about moving mine outboard like JeeDees -just don't know if its worth going through all that trouble of having to fill/reseal the existing holes, etc....
Old 05-26-2010, 05:17 AM
  #6  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,582
Likes: 0
Received 191 Likes on 127 Posts
Default

The should be within a foot of each other. I would suggest mounting it just to the right of your other ducer, maybe 8" apart. Try to keep it to th left of the strake.
Old 05-26-2010, 07:44 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 128
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by yachtjim View Post
The should be within a foot of each other. I would suggest mounting it just to the right of your other ducer, maybe 8" apart. Try to keep it to th left of the strake.
What's the reasoning for your recommendation? Anything other than making best use of the overlay feature?
Old 05-26-2010, 02:29 PM
  #8  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,582
Likes: 0
Received 191 Likes on 127 Posts
Default

Because tehy are supposed to be within 1' of each other and there is a nice spot for it.
Old 05-26-2010, 06:14 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 128
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I would definitely consider how far out the 50/200 transducer projects rearward. It would be a shame for it to partially block the left side-scan. With the LSS-1 transducer mounted further to the right and consequently "above", there is a remote possibility.
Old 06-28-2010, 06:08 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 135
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by JayDee View Post
Here's a shot of where I mounted the SS transducer on my Key West bay boat. As with any transducer, locate it between ribs and strakes.

JayDee,

I've been contemplating getting the HDS-10 for my Triton to replace my LCX-25C. How much spray do you get from the Structure scan transducer?

Also, does it read at all speeds, or is there a point where you lose the signal?

Last edited by FloriBama; 06-30-2010 at 04:29 AM.
Old 06-29-2010, 02:04 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 528
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Here is where Skeeter mounted mine

I have a 2010 Skeeter ZX22v with a HB 997 sidescan. In the attached photo you can see that it came from the factory with the transducer mounted on the starboard side of the jackplate at the bottom.
Attached Images  
Old 07-20-2010, 03:30 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
240 LTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Upper Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 21,774
Received 3,065 Likes on 1,319 Posts
Default

k,

So you must be idling (going slow) to use it correct?

Jeff

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.