Notices

Firing Up A Garmin 188C Indoors

Old 08-05-2004, 02:36 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Adirondacks/Englewood,FL
Posts: 128
Default Firing Up A Garmin 188C Indoors

Have a Garmin 188C here at the house that I will be installing in my boat when I head south in October. I would like to practice with its Simulator Mode. How can I power it up. Is it as simple as running the red wire to Positive on a 12 volt battery and the black ground to Negitive. I'd hate to blow it up.
Salty Peter is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 02:46 PM
  #2  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lindenhurst, Ny, 11757
Posts: 4
Default RE: Firing Up A Garmin 188C Indoors

That's it. Red to positive and black to negative. I got the 188c over the winter and playing around with it all winter inside the house. The only thing was that I had to stick the antennae out the window to get a good reception. But that was no big deal.
This system is unbelievable. So easy to use, and the depth finder reads great. I can watch my sinker go to the bottom and come back up on the screen. Picks up everything.

Good luck with the unit.

John
"Simple Gesture"
simple gesture is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 03:41 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: miami
Posts: 812
Default RE: Firing Up A Garmin 188C Indoors

splurge for the dc/puter serial adapter, and you can play around w/ waypoints and such on yur puter, too. spend a little more to get the USB card reader, makes it much easier to transfer maps and updates than by serial. of course, you'll need mapsource for the puter, too.


landlubber is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 07:26 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Pensacola, Fl.
Posts: 7,371
Default RE: Firing Up A Garmin 188C Indoors

There is a 12volt car battery under my computer right now, for just that purpose.
warthog5 is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 10:10 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Wilson, NC/Goose Creek Landing
Posts: 1,032
Default RE: Firing Up A Garmin 188C Indoors

You can get the AC / PC adapter from Yacht Jim at www.byownergroup.com for $49. I just got one and love it. Lot easier to input waypoints on the PC and download to the the Garmin.

I called Garmin and they sent me the Trip & Waypoint Manager software for free.

Did you get the Bluechart chip too?
rdsrb5 is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 11:10 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Portsmouth RI
Posts: 4,153
Default RE: Firing Up A Garmin 188C Indoors

12V battery will work fine, just put an inline fuse per Garmin's recommendation in line on the hot side.
Sleeper is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 07:00 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Adirondacks/Englewood,FL
Posts: 128
Default RE: Firing Up A Garmin 188C Indoors

Took rdsrb5's advice and ordered the AC/PC adapter. I have the Blue Chip for SW Florida. Do I need the Map Source Blue Chart CD for my computer to plot way points and routes? When I download info to the 188c will I be downloading to my blue chip or do I need a blank chip. One more question, if I but the Blue Chart can I load it on more then on computer?
Salty Peter is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 07:57 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location:
Posts: 187
Default RE: Firing Up A Garmin 188C Indoors

I have been wondering about the same questions? I too have the cord and a preprogrammed chip. But how do I run the gps to computer and vice versa? What software is needed? Can we add data to our preprogrammed chips? How can I swap waypoints with friends?
scottdade is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread