The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-17-2010, 01:10 PM   #1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 137
Default Mounting a VHF and GPS antennae to a single mount

instead of adding another mount for a backup VHF antenna, I was hoping to just add a single mount where i could put both the VHF and GPS antenna. Has anybody ever come across such a thing?
oob241 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 02:27 PM   #2
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 21,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oob241 View Post
instead of adding another mount for a backup VHF antenna, I was hoping to just add a single mount where i could put both the VHF and GPS antenna. Has anybody ever come across such a thing?
No.

You might want to lay your VHF antenna down for bridge clearance or to get it temporarily out of your way, but you would never want to lay your GPS antenna down.

Did you know, at least with Garmin, you can surface mount the GPS antenna if you have a flat, horizontal surface?

Or that they make an "undermount" adapter that allows you to mount it under a (non-metalic) surface?

Mine is mounted under my flybridge helm console, out of sight and out of the weather. It works just fine, gets all the satellites at full strength.
rwidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 07:32 AM   #3
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 137
Default

thanks ron. that's a good point about laying it down. i have an older northstar that's finnicky enough so i don't think moving it from the t-top will work. thx again.
oob241 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 07:43 AM   #4
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 21,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oob241 View Post
thanks ron. that's a good point about laying it down. i have an older northstar that's finnicky enough so i don't think moving it from the t-top will work. thx again.
You're welcome.
rwidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:52 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.