The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-17-2010, 07:24 AM   #1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: South Shore
Posts: 14
Default HDS Problem Reading Navionics Chip

Anyone else having problems with Lowrance HDS units reading Navionics Platinum Plus chips? I am running the HDS-5M and 5X units (networked) and took the updates for the 5M and I have "Navionics" selected under chart detail. The problem is sporadic...sometimes I get the Navionics and sometimes I get a crude 1 dimensional chart with no detail. To date, mutiple power-up/downs of the unit will resolve but a major PITA!
188Oyster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 07:36 AM   #2
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sandwich, MA
Posts: 20

Sounds like your software/firmware update didn't take. I would repeat the process from the start (re-download the update) and re-flash the unit.

Remember, when it says to push the power button at the end of the update, tap it. Don't hold it down.

Re-flashing the unit has solved the vast majority of these issues.

Sorry for the inconvenience and thanks for your business!
Jeff@Navionics is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:04 AM.

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.

Powered by vBulletin® Version
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.