The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-12-2010, 11:00 PM   #1
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Default Homeport Question

Is there a method to create a colored zone on a chart using HP? I have areas that have been closed to fishing and I would like to create these zones so that I do not enter these areas while fishing.
Thozguys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 11:42 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 45
Default

What machine do you wish to use?

Last edited by fishfl; 05-13-2010 at 05:26 AM.
fishfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 07:21 AM   #3
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,689
Default

Not that I know of / don't think so. Wish there was!! I wish we just could move bouys around, and move designated channels around... don't understand why those are hardcoded into the charts. Not a Garmin thing, they all do it. Wish we were given more flexability with the charts.
Birdman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 03:16 PM   #4
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Default

I have a Garmin 4208.
Thozguys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 06:06 PM   #5
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 10,398
Default

Maptech will do that and a lot more. So will Raytech planner and nobeltech I believe.

You can't move buoys, but you can create zones. And, you can annotate the charts just like you do on paper, so you can draw a line and add a note.

Garmin is so 1990's.

But, if all you want to do is plot a course outside of a specific zone, you can create a route around that zone in homeport and just make sure to not plot any waypoints inside it when trip planning. It would suck to have to waste a route on the chartplotter (you only get 20) just to set boundaries, but that is the only option you have. No limit in homeport that I'm aware of.
gerg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 08:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 70
Default

http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/Garmi...tplotter-.html
alwayssomewhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 11:50 PM   #7
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,689
Default

Thanks for the link always. I do exactly that, I save tracks to mark the area. Never really thought of it as a technique, but I guess it is.
Birdman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 05:03 PM   #8
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Default

There are no bouys that designate a restricted zone, just GPS coordinates. Our fish & game just loves to hammer someone if they cross these boundaries and you happen to have a fishing rod onboard. I just want something to prove that I did not cross these areas and also something to show when I am about to cross these boundries. It is about to get even more restrictive as the environmental Nazis with their crap science are closing more areas to fishing. Gotta love our elected officials both here and in DC. California is just the begining, they are demostrating the process that will be used to close fishing everywhere else, both freshwater and ocean.

It is one thing to get a ticket for an infraction of a rule being broken, but the court costs are unbelievable. A $150 infraction will cost $650 after all the court costs here.

Thanks for the link, this should help greatly.
Thozguys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 08:37 AM   #9
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,435
Default

So is this what you want to be able to do .......

bluewaterpirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 10:20 AM   #10
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,689
Default

Tom, that's great, but how do ya get that on the plotter?

Personally, I'd like the ability to move bouy's. On LI the chart bouys are nowhere near the real bouys. So I'd like to put them where they belong, and move them throughout the year as the CG moves them with moving shoals....
Birdman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 10:47 PM   #11
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Default

I followed the instruction on the above link, it was very helpful. How did you annotate and fill in the exclusion area?
Thozguys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2010, 05:43 PM   #12
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 61
Default

BlueWaterPirate, is the ablity to annotate and fill the region only available on the 2010 G2 Vision card or native to Homeport?
Thozguys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:15 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.