Notices

Transducer placement

Old 08-03-2004, 10:19 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lake Hartwell SC
Posts: 782
Default Transducer placement

I am having a problem with my Lowrance 105C fish finder.
A few weeks ago it went out, called Lowrance they replaced it right away. But since I have reinstalled it I have a new problem, that I did not have before.
When running on plane it will not work, just flashes the last depth known.
I have my transducer (transom type) mounted at the very bottom of the boat under the bracket. I have included this pic when she was primed to show the "V" I have.



Do you think I need to move it? and why was it working there before?

Thanks Billy
Captain Billy is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 10:31 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austin. Tx US of A
Posts: 1,182
Default RE: Transducer placement

If it's the skimmer type and you have it mounted in the same holes, you probably just have it a bit too "nose down".
Nimrod is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 10:36 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lake Hartwell SC
Posts: 782
Default RE: Transducer placement

I did not send the transducer back. It has not moved since I installed it with the first unit.
Billy
Captain Billy is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 12:09 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CA & San Carlos, Mx
Posts: 20,518
Default RE: Transducer placement

I sent my Lowrance LXC15MT back to the factory twice, bought another transducer at their suggestion, and it would still never give me more than 290 feet.
I then installed a Garmin cheapy (240Blue) that works great to 1000 feet, so I can under stand your frustration with Lowrance's service.

I would check to see if the face of your tranducer is in perfect condition, to make sure that the painter didn't affect you here, prior to replacing the unit.
Bullshipper is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 07:41 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lake Hartwell SC
Posts: 782
Default RE: Transducer placement

The paint was done before the transdcer was installed. The face looked ok. At low speeds it works great. But when I hit around 25mph (start planning) it starts flashing.

Thanks Billy
Captain Billy is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 12:02 PM
  #6  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: E Mass
Posts: 58
Default RE: Transducer placement

Billy,
Are there any 'gain' adjustments on the base unit? You might need to set the new display unit to your old settings...?
bpink is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 12:22 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CA & San Carlos, Mx
Posts: 20,518
Default RE: Transducer placement

Billy,
This will also happen if when more turbulence and bubbles that are drawn under the hull at higher speeds, reach the bottom of the face of the transducer at higher speeds.

Dropping the unit down vertically an 1/8" to a 1/2" in its slotted holes (not tilting), will usually get it below this thicker zone of turbulence, that is also not escaping up in a such a vertical angle between the transom face and the transducer at higher velocities.
Bullshipper is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 03:41 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lake Hartwell SC
Posts: 782
Default RE: Transducer placement

I have played with all the fine tuning to no gain. I will lower the transducer this weekend. Hope it helps.
Thanks for all the help, this is a great site!
Billy
Captain Billy is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 06:40 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CA & San Carlos, Mx
Posts: 20,518
Default RE: Transducer placement

If that doesn't work, the Lowrance makes a fair softball for 3 flies up.

If the surface of the paint is now thicker or has any texture, this will hold a thicker layer of still water to it that will actually become the new surface that laminates against the water that is moving. This also causes a thicker level of turbulence and requires a drop in the level of the transducer face that needs clean smothly flowing water to send and recieve a clear signal at speed.

I would put her to the bottom of the slot, align it parellel to the bottom of your hull and try it. If she now works 100% and you don't create a water geyser from the disturbance with the lower depth, you've got it. Raising it in 1/8" increments will make a world of difference, and can be done with a pencil and a screw driver at the dock. New 5200 comes after screwing with it.
Bullshipper is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 11:18 PM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 14
Default RE: Transducer placement

Maybe you are not getting clean water under the transducer
I've got an 18 foot Fraser Craft and does the same thing
davros is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 05:29 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 303
Default RE: Transducer placement

If you have to drill new holes....
You could install a 4" x 12" piece of starboard to your transom, and then screw your exsiting transducer to that. Any other future adjustments or additions (like another depthfinder, etc) can be made very easily then.

thanks, Fishing-Rod
Fishing-Rod is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 02:32 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lake Hartwell SC
Posts: 782
Default RE: Transducer placement

Bullshipper - 8/4/2004 1:22 PM

Billy,
This will also happen if when more turbulence and bubbles that are drawn under the hull at higher speeds, reach the bottom of the face of the transducer at higher speeds.

Dropping the unit down vertically an 1/8" to a 1/2" in its slotted holes (not tilting), will usually get it below this thicker zone of turbulence, that is also not escaping up in a such a vertical angle between the transom face and the transducer at higher velocities.
Thanks Guys

That did the trick, lowered it to the bottom of the slide about 1/8"


IS THIS IS A GREAT SITE OR WHAT!

Billy
Captain Billy is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 06:49 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CA & San Carlos, Mx
Posts: 20,518
Default RE: Transducer placement

Glad it worked out for you. These companies advertise their "low profile low drag units" but I find that you have to go lower than they suggest in the literature
Bullshipper is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread