The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-10-2010, 11:45 AM   #1
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mebane, NC
Posts: 1,624
Default adding fuse panel in E-Box - question on +12V source

A quick question about voltage supply lines and proper fusing.

Currently I have a 4 (maybe 6) fuse block for accessory circuits under my console which is fed from the rear of the boat at the battery switch.

Right now all my stuff that is up at the "top" of the T-To is fed down into the console and connected to the accessory fuse panel or to accessory switches. I'm considering moving a small fuse panel up to the electronics box to feed the VHF, the two spreader lights, a console light (and locate the switches for these lights up in the E-box) and perhaps an accessory +12V plug (if I have a spare fuse slot) - so, I'll need to provide a power feed up into the E-box.

What is the proper way to do this? Do I need to make a dedicated run back to the battery switch for this panel, or can I connect the +12V feed to the E-Box from the point of the accessory fuse box, and if so, I assume that I need to put a dedicated fuse at this point to protect the wire running from this connection point up to the fuse panel is the E-box?

If I'm not making sense, I'll put together a quick diagram to clarify what I'm asking...

thanks...
mwardncsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 11:58 AM   #2
Admirals Club
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Suffolk, Va.
Posts: 16,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I don't see why you could not just run a feed off the line coming to your CC from the switch. On mine it has a post and with a nut that connects the wire to the fuse bank so you could just jump it there. I think the only concern would be the size of the wire. You could also run another wire from the switch.
fishingfun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 12:49 PM   #3
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mebane, NC
Posts: 1,624
Default

fishingfun - that was my thought - I'm not pulling any more amps than I would have otherwise as I'm just spreading the connecton points - I guess the main question is if I need to fuse the new wire that runs to the Ebox and the panel there, or would that wire be protected by the fuse a the start of the main run....
mwardncsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 12:56 PM   #4
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 2,005
Default

Sounds like a recipe for disaster. It may not be pulling more amps now, but just like most of us we tend to live by Bigger Faster and Better. With the new fuse block you may be more apt to add things. also if you have a problem with the first fuse, or the first fuse block you lose both. Redundency in the marine enviroment is always a very good thing.
Will it work, yes. That doesnt mean its the right thing to do.
Dan
steelhead130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 01:27 PM   #5
Admirals Club
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mebane, NC
Posts: 1,624
Default

steelhead - fair point - although that potential issue exists today as I could overload the existing panel beyond the carrying capacity of the wire, admittedly the chance of doing so is lower with the limited circuit taps/fuse slots in the current panel than if I add on a new panel with extra spare slots...

I also realized that the fuse panel has a connection point to daisy chain to another fuse panel - so they are obviously designed to gang together - although I guess typically done so back to back vs. having another run of cable.

Perhaps I'll just leave the VHF wired into the accessory panel as it is now, and then run a single wire up to the E-box to feed the switches for the spreader & console lights - sizing the fuse at the accessory fuse panel for the wire feeding a new small switch panel.
mwardncsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 01:42 PM   #6
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 21,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwardncsu View Post
..........

can I connect the +12V feed to the E-Box from the point of the accessory fuse box, and if so, I assume that I need to put a dedicated fuse at this point to protect the wire running from this connection point up to the fuse panel is the E-box?
You can do this, you will be fine.

Use the "aux" fuse location you are using now and use the proper fuse rating for the wire you run to the E-box. Don't forget a negative wire of the same size.

This is no different than installing a "sub panel" (electrical) in your home's garage or shop. There's a breaker in the main panel that feeds the sub panel which has breakers for circuits connected to it.
rwidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 07:21 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,449
Default

if your running LED spreader lights you should be fine. otherwise you might want to check your wire length and size. halogen bulbs draw a good bit of of current.
philgorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:57 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.