Notices

Furuno radar question

Old 08-02-2004, 09:18 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Odessa, Florida 33556
Posts: 1,331
Default Furuno radar question

I have a 2KW furuno radar (radome). It was not working, so I went to work to find out why. Turns out, the belt on the radome had jumped off its track. I got the belt back in place, but my question is: will the Radar accurately show the positions on targets? IE: If I am moving along, and their is a boat off to port, will the radar screen still show it off to port? Is the relationship of the motor and the belt critical? Or does the radome know which end of the dome is the bow?

The boat is currently in the driveway, and I am surrounded by oak trees, so their is no way for me to know if it is reading accurately right now.
John is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 10:00 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Indian River, De
Posts: 2,960
Default RE: Furuno radar question

John, It will work just fine. The belt just rotates the antenna and has nothing to do with the relative position of targets. But I'd be more concerned with why the belt "jumped" out. Is it cracked and dry-rotted, or is there a misalignment between the drive motor and the scanner pulley?
CaptWill is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 03:31 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Odessa, Florida 33556
Posts: 1,331
Default RE: Furuno radar question

Yea, I was wondering that myself. I ran it in the driveway for a half hour without any problems, and everything looks fine, so I just do not know.
John is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 08:18 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mass.
Posts: 924
Default RE: Furuno radar question

You didn't mention which model you have, but if you start the unit in "installation mode," you will find a menu item for heading adjustment. Just go out and pick a stationary target such as a big buoy about 1/2 mile away and motor straight towards it and check to see that it shows dead ahead on your radar display. If not, use the heading adjustment setting to realign the display until the target is right on the zero degree line.

If there is an "autotune" option in your installation menu, do that first.
Saltdog is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread