The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-07-2010, 11:34 AM   #1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Clearwater Florida
Posts: 173
Default DSC Displayed on E120

Anyone have DSC messages (location) displayed on the Raymarine E series? If, so please describe your setup.

Thanks,
mawyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 11:45 AM   #2
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Richmond & Kilmarnock, VA
Posts: 5,542
Default

I have it displayed on a Garmin 3210. Everytime I get a DSC Call, the caller shows up on my plotter screen. It depends on your radio--my uniden 625 talks both ways, while my Icom 304 didn't. Look at your radio/gps interface. If it's 4 wires, then you should have two way communications. If only two, then it's one way from the gps to the radio. What radio do you have?
Buoy Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 12:23 PM   #3
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,376
Default

Mawyatt, I've heard the same thing, the E-series is supposed to be able to show you the position on the chartplotter for a DSC position request. From what I can tell it works on the newer E-Wide series and not the classic. If you look in the wide series owners manual they talk about displaying on the chartplotter a friend's position and having that vessel in your "Buddy List". There they do talk about adding the MMSI number of another vessel to your list, but I see no mention at all of this feature in the E-Classic series. A friend of mine told me his E-120 is supposed to be able to do that and if the statement is true, I haven't seen it.
Team Ruby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 12:28 PM   #4
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Clearwater Florida
Posts: 173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buoy Scout View Post
I have it displayed on a Garmin 3210. Everytime I get a DSC Call, the caller shows up on my plotter screen. It depends on your radio--my uniden 625 talks both ways, while my Icom 304 didn't. Look at your radio/gps interface. If it's 4 wires, then you should have two way communications. If only two, then it's one way from the gps to the radio. What radio do you have?
Thanks. My Northstar VHF has NMEA0183 "in" and "out" and I have the "out" wired thru a mux into my Ray E120 MFD "in". The VHF "in" is wired directly to the E120 NMEA "out".
mawyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 12:35 PM   #5
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Clearwater Florida
Posts: 173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Ruby View Post
Mawyatt, I've heard the same thing, the E-series is supposed to be able to show you the position on the chartplotter for a DSC position request. From what I can tell it works on the newer E-Wide series and not the classic. If you look in the wide series owners manual they talk about displaying on the chartplotter a friend's position and having that vessel in your "Buddy List". There they do talk about adding the MMSI number of another vessel to your list, but I see no mention at all of this feature in the E-Classic series. A friend of mine told me his E-120 is supposed to be able to do that and if the statement is true, I haven't seen it.
Thanks. I have the E classic I assume because it came in the boat (3/2008). I have everything wired up (see above post). This should be a software issue since the interface to the E120 is NMEA0183. I know the interface works because I can read GPS on the VHF and VesselView (Mecury Marine monitor) and get heading inputs from the KVH heading sensor via NMEA0183 on the E120 MFD.

I have pinged Raymarine on this.
mawyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 12:42 PM   #6
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,376
Default

Please post a follow up when you hear back from Raymarine. I have several boats that have the E-series classics on them and it would be great to have them display a position request on the chartplotter like some Garmin models will do. I see no reference to DSC position reporting in the online E-120 manual and to my knowledge that should be up to date.
Team Ruby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 02:28 PM   #7
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 3,452
Default

It works fine on the original e.......first you get a text style message and then it asks you if you want to place a waypoint at that location and it names the waypint the dsc message......works just fine.....this is using an Icom 504 and 2 classic e80s
offshorebri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 04:41 PM   #8
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Clearwater Florida
Posts: 173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by offshorebri View Post
It works fine on the original e.......first you get a text style message and then it asks you if you want to place a waypoint at that location and it names the waypint the dsc message......works just fine.....this is using an Icom 504 and 2 classic e80s
Thanks. This is exactly what Raymarine just said. So it sounds like I am good to go with my setup and classic E120.

Thanks for reply
mawyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:16 PM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.