Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Garmin transducer cable installation problem

Notices

Garmin transducer cable installation problem

Old 08-02-2004, 07:16 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poole - UK
Posts: 2
Default Garmin transducer cable installation problem

Thanks if anyone can help a first timer - I am sure others have come across this but I have yet to find an answer.

How can I avoid drilling a large hole in my new hull to run the connector of the transducer cable through (Garmin 120). I would much prefer to drill a smaller hole and pass the cable through and re attach the connector in some way.

I know about the warranty issue but my hull (and its warranty) is far more important. So is it wise for me ( a fairly competent person) to either cut and rejoin the transducer cable or disect / remove the connector and resolder the wires back on to it once I have been able to pass the cable through the hull.


Many thanks

Roger
pottnoodle is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 08:00 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,414
Default RE: Garmin transducer cable installation problem

Although the official advice is that you should not cut the cable, the reality is that I've done it and carefully soldered the two ends together and waterproofed the connection. The wires are color coded, however they are very thin. You should think about where you want to make the splice. I made the splice about three feet from my fishfinder so I could have easy access if something went wrong. You can find a diagram of the wiring at the airmar site which will tell you how many wires you are really going to have to connect.

Before you do this, be prepared to replace the transducer if it doesn't work for you or with your fishfinder.....You can always drill that hole in your transom larger..it's a bit more difficult to make it smaller. Drill the hole in your transom where you can enlarge it if you have to.
Think Tweiss is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 08:20 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC USA
Posts: 331
Default RE: Garmin transducer cable installation problem

What kind of boat do you have? Do you have a splash well drain? On my Edgewater I was able to run the transducer cable through the drain. See the following picture:

anothergirl is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 08:38 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
PLEDGER
 
HOTSPOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 13,395
Default RE: Garmin transducer cable installation problem

Another alternative:



HOTSPOT is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 10:15 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: On the wild side !!
Posts: 5,696
Default RE: Garmin transducer cable installation problem

HOTSPOT,

Nice install. What type of tubing is that? Is it split the entire length?? How is it fasten to the hull?

Thanks
BW23 is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 11:47 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poole - UK
Posts: 2
Default RE: Garmin transducer cable installation problem

Thanks all for your responses.

The boat is a Glastron SX175 with stern drive so I do not have many other options apart from going through the hull - otherwise it is up and over the back.

Regards

Roger
pottnoodle is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 08:26 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
PLEDGER
 
HOTSPOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 13,395
Default RE: Garmin transducer cable installation problem

BW23 - 8/2/2004 11:15 AM

HOTSPOT,

Nice install. What type of tubing is that? Is it split the entire length?? How is it fasten to the hull?

Thanks
It is a product by Wiremold. I found it at the local hardware store. Yes, it is split the entire length. It has 3M adhesive on the back to which I added some 4200. It has not moved and it also cleans up good and does not retain stains. I just hate those black wires going up the transom of my sexy ride, nor do I like those wire clamp thingys with the screws.
HOTSPOT is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread