Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

New AP/Shadow drive feature in v5.7 (Garmin 4000/5000 series)!

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

New AP/Shadow drive feature in v5.7 (Garmin 4000/5000 series)!

Old 05-02-2010, 10:56 AM
  #1  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,757
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default New AP/Shadow drive feature in v5.7 (Garmin 4000/5000 series)!

I found a REALLY nice new feature while using my AP yesterday with the new version of software. If you are Navigating a track or route and have the AP engaged on the route or track, and then you grab the wheel to avoid something (crab trap, bouy, another boat...) and the Shaddow drive kicks on "YOU HAVE THE HELM", when you let go the old version would put the AP into HEADING HOLD mode instead of continueing on the Route or track. You had to re-engage it to the route or track. Well, when you let go now with the new version (5.7), the AP goes into Heading Hold, BUT, the plotter now asks if you'd like to Re-Engage the route. See the screenshot below. If you hit "ENGAGE", the AP takes over and continues on the route.... Works REALLY nice!!

It's amazing to me, how many things Garmin add's to the software and improves on, without every telling anyone?? Why the secrets Garmin? I don't understand why they don't list all this additions in the change list...??

Anyway, thought you folks would be interested, caught me with a nice suprise yesterday avoiding a crab trap....

Anything else we should know about, not listed???
Attached Images  
Old 05-04-2010, 09:55 AM
  #2  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,757
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Anyone else notice this?
Old 05-04-2010, 10:17 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MONTERREY, MEXICO
Posts: 334
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

On another post, someone posted by the AP wont navigate under 10 ft. In your pic there are areas of 4.5 ft.

Was this done by moving the defaults on the Garmins ? Im installing a pair of 4210's and hooking them
to a furuno AP500, will i get this feature ?
Old 05-04-2010, 01:25 PM
  #4  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,757
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

It will navigate over any depth you program in as a "Safe Depth" in the My Boat configuration. 10' might be the deault "safe depth".

However, that is ONLY referring to the Auto-Guidance" features. With the normal AP navigation (either heading hold, or following a route), the AP will go wherever the route or heading hold takes it, including across land!! Water depth or the safe water depth setting makes no difference, as with any other AP.
Old 05-04-2010, 03:30 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,841
Likes: 0
Received 440 Likes on 253 Posts
Default

Shadow drive never really worked for me. I just disengage the AP now. It's only a feature if it works.
Old 05-05-2010, 07:06 AM
  #6  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,757
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

What didn't work? I LOVE it, really nice especially now that ti re-engages after avoidance...
Old 05-05-2010, 08:09 AM
  #7  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,869
Received 214 Likes on 117 Posts
Default

Now THAT is a great update!

I kept hammering the Garmin engineer here in town SPECIFICALLY for that! You guys don't have to thank me. I was a huge whiner on that one...

I kept telling him what a PITA it was after avoiding crab-pots that you would have to re-engage again.....and again.


(it's nice to speak and have an ear for those that CAN make a difference)
Old 05-05-2010, 02:04 PM
  #8  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,757
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Yea, was a very nice surprise when it popped up!! I had complained about it as well last year. But I have no problem giving you credit for it!!

It's actually amazing to me how many things Garmin has changed for "us", THT users in general. I had a list (still have it) in PDF format of changes needed we all asked for. It originally had about 40 items on it over time. They knocked off 36 of the 40 items. Only a few items left.....
Old 05-06-2010, 05:46 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,066
Likes: 0
Received 286 Likes on 176 Posts
Default To add to the discussion .........

A different perspective .......

http://themarineinstallersrant.blogs...being-run.html
Old 05-06-2010, 09:39 AM
  #10  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,757
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

What is the reference "cititzens outraged" in the title?? Is that just a joke / catchy title?
Old 05-06-2010, 09:42 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,066
Likes: 0
Received 286 Likes on 176 Posts
Default He's being

sarcastic
Old 05-06-2010, 12:51 PM
  #12  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,757
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

gotcha.... Probably not such a good thing to be sarcastic about, given the recent (last few years) incidents with yachts running over smaller boats while on AP.

The entire time I read the article, I thought for sure that was where it was going,,,,
Old 05-08-2010, 05:51 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Stuart FL
Posts: 1,293
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Mine does not work that way. I don't think anyway. Mine allows you to steer around something, but then it reengages automatically with no question popping up. It wants to return to the original track (too quickly) to continue it's course is my problem. So for that reason, I don't use it. If I need to avoid something, I disengage it (very simple one button touch). Then to continue, I restart the waypoints track on the GPS, so when I restart the auto pilots waypoint track it goes straight there from where I am now (not before I dodged a obstacle). I understand the reasoning, but for that reason, Shadow drive has prooven to be virtually useless for me.
Old 05-09-2010, 09:52 AM
  #14  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,757
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

grin,
Then is it probably installed wrong or defective. It sounds to me like it's not connected properly, either electronicly (there are some NMEA connections on it) or physically, it needs to be located close to the helm, horizontally .... check the manual and check your install closely.

Mine has worked really nicely since day one.
Old 05-09-2010, 11:28 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,841
Likes: 0
Received 440 Likes on 253 Posts
Default

Mine is installed per the specs. Horizontally about 2-3 feet of hose from the helm. It sometimes works, and sometimes fights me at the helm. The connections are solid.

If it is defective, it is going to stay that way. The feature just isn't that important that I'm going to endure the mess to drain my helm station and send it back.

I just disengage the AP. This year I'll probably just turn it off in the controller.

Great idea. Just doesn't work.
Old 05-10-2010, 06:38 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Stuart FL
Posts: 1,293
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It works correctly. The problem is when the Shadow drive releases control of the off track turn, the auot pilot/gps regain control as they should, but, I am no longer on the original GPS track. The autopilot turns back to the original track line (as it should), to stay on the exact track that was designated when the waypoint was plotted. To restart a new track from the new position, that you have drove off of using the shadow drive, the GPS needs the waypoint track redrawn/restarted. The only way to do this is to restart the track, or let the auotpilot return to the track as it is instructed to by the GPS. The problem is it wants to return to that track a little too quickly for my taste, and I would rather just go to the waypoint from where I am now.
If your driving along and see a boat in your path ahead, and you use the shadow drive to turn off track and avoid well in advance, then the shadow drive regains control and turns directly back to the original track is my problem. I guess for a quick turn to dodge a trap bouy it might work. I usually see stuff I am trying to dodge well in advance (even trap bouys) and the Shadow drive is worthless if you are changing course to avoid collision well in advance because it will get you right back on the original track very quickly after you release the wheel. It is the GPS instructing the auto pilot where to go, not the function of the shadow drive itself.
A GPS does not work like a compass and simply point you toward the waypoint. A GPS draws a track, and if you stay on that track (which your auotpilot will do) you go perfectly straight to the waypoint while correcting small deviations the entire way. If you simply point the boat at the waypoint manually and don't correct as per the GPS, current may have you driving a huge cruve toward the waypoint. Autopilots don't do that. They stay on track and correct the track the entire way. The Shadow drive allows you to go off track, but the auotpilot/GPS work together to quickly get you back on the original track as soon as the Shadow drive releases its control.
It might be good for soem applications, just not mine. Who knows, maybe I'll grab the wheel someday to make a quick turn to miss something right in front of the boat and it will have done it's job. My automatic ingrained proceedure is to hit the disengage button while simutaneously steering away though. For the above reasons. I doubt I will ever use the Shadow drive because of that. It works, it's just useless for the above reason to me.
Old 05-10-2010, 03:08 PM
  #17  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,757
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Grin,
Sounds like you are referring to offshore long haul type usage, that's not what the Shadow drive is really designed for. When offshore, you can sometimes slowly drift off course on purpose to avoid something like a tanker, a boat drift fishing (you don't want to get to close to/run thru his slick...). In those cases, as you mention, you would not be able to use the shadow drive feature. And with or without the Shadow drive, the same problem exists of the AP wanting to get back on the original "Rumb Line".

RM used to have a feature called "RESTART XTE", maybe they still have it? But it would re-draw the Rumb line from the boats current location, to the next WP, and instruct the AP to forget the old line and follow the new one. That is a feature Garmin needs to add, a button that says "REDRAW NAVE LINE". I suggested this to them 2 years ago, I'm going to suggest it again, thanks for reminding me.

But again, the Shadow drive is really just designed to dodge something quickly, like a jet skier you see out front and want to run down errr, um, I mean avoid hitting, or a crab pot, bouy.... and then continue on. Not the long haul slowly avoid type situation.
Old 05-11-2010, 06:26 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Stuart FL
Posts: 1,293
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Got it! Then it works great! My Northstar 952 has a "restart" button on the plotter screen. I use it and its' quick and easy to get the job done.
Old 05-11-2010, 08:08 AM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Floaters
Posts: 6,426
Received 582 Likes on 282 Posts
Default

I run 75 miles just to get to 1500 feet of water. My AP is mandatory. I'm excited about the update. I'm going to go download it now. I wish Garmin would email us when updates come out.
Old 05-11-2010, 08:23 AM
  #20  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Floaters
Posts: 6,426
Received 582 Likes on 282 Posts
Default

Birdman, how do you do those screen shots?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.