Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Garmin 3006 having trouble finding satellites

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 3006 having trouble finding satellites

Old 04-25-2010, 05:38 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 325
Likes: 0
Received 12 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Garmin 3006 having trouble finding satellites

Okay so here is my problem. My Garmin will occaisionally have trouble location satellites. Sometimes it will go days without a problem, and sometimes minutes. Last weekend it worked fine both days, yesterday I turn it on and it can't find satellites, than gives the message lost remote connection. Took about 10 minutes to find the satellites and than worded fine for a couple hours. Than couldn't find satelliets and took about 15 minutes to find them again.

Anybody have simliar issues or any idea how to fix.
Old 04-25-2010, 05:41 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 325
Likes: 0
Received 12 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Correction it is 3206 not 3006 went out today and experience same problems, check the connections and they looked good.
Old 04-27-2010, 05:51 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 5,957
Likes: 0
Received 419 Likes on 263 Posts
Default

I think you've either got a bad plotter or a bad gps antenna. I'd call Garmin and replace the gps antenna/sender first.
Old 04-27-2010, 12:08 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 3,692
Received 168 Likes on 142 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Irish Harmony View Post
Okay so here is my problem. My Garmin will occaisionally have trouble location satellites. Sometimes it will go days without a problem, and sometimes minutes. Last weekend it worked fine both days, yesterday I turn it on and it can't find satellites, than gives the message lost remote connection. Took about 10 minutes to find the satellites and than worded fine for a couple hours. Than couldn't find satelliets and took about 15 minutes to find them again.

Anybody have simliar issues or any idea how to fix.
Where is your GPS antenna mounted?? Does it have a clear view to the southern sky?
Make sure you do not have a cable/power/wiring issue with the GPS antenna. Could just be a bad connection to the chartplotter. Does it show up as an instakked devide when you turn on your chartplotter on the page you have to agree with the software terms ?

Jim

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.