Notices

Garmin 172 antenna problem?

Old 07-26-2004, 10:25 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location:
Posts: 57
Default Garmin 172 antenna problem?

I recently had a brand new Garmin 172 installed by my mechanic. He mounted the GPS antenna on a Shakespeare mount. My problem is that although the unit works, I cannot initialize it. The unit says that it cannot locate the satellites and I get absolutely no signal strength (bars) along the bottom. Is it most likely the antenna? Can the antenna be defective from the factory? Could the mechanic have spiced the antenna for any reason on the install? I'm calling him tomorrow to ask about the install, but would appreciate any input. Thanks!
spinedoc is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 10:34 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Raleigh & Holden Beach NC
Posts: 2,024
Default RE: Garmin 172 antenna problem?

Could be the antenna itself, but most likely the cable or the connector....try borrowing a working antenna to the unit to see if you get a signal....
Preoccupation is offline  
Old 07-27-2004, 04:55 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pa. - 20 Crestliner
Posts: 1,772
Default RE: Garmin 172 antenna problem?

I dont know if this applys or not, but some of the new units have to have power to the antenna also...Dont know if Garmin does this or not. Just something to check out..
Shorty is offline  
Old 07-27-2004, 05:50 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,414
Default RE: Garmin 172 antenna problem?

even if the garmin is an active antenna, the power runs thru the coax wire from the unit...so that's not the problem. It doesn't use separate power wires...
Think Tweiss is offline  
Old 07-27-2004, 09:04 PM
  #5  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 31
Default RE: Garmin 172 antenna problem?

Where are you located? You do not have it listed.

Make sure the antenna has a clear view of the sky, seems cmmon sense, but if the antenna is mounted low down and you have a hard top or tower, you may not see enough of the sky. Also, when the installation was done, the connector was probably removed. If so, it needs to be remade correctly and the centre core of the co-ax soldered to ensure a good electrical connection. If not this will affect the voltage going to the antenna AND the signal coming back.

Robert
r.furborough is offline  
Old 07-27-2004, 09:16 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location:
Posts: 12
Default RE: Garmin 172 antenna problem?

All I can tell you is I pulled mine out of the box, mouted the antena on my t-top, ran the antenta wire fromT-top, thru electron box, T-top tube and CC to unit, hooked it up,turned it on and it has been running fine ever since.
tomo is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread