Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine Bird Mode

Old 04-15-2010, 11:39 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Raymarine Bird Mode

I have an upsetting issue that I have been dealing with Raymarine on. I recently rigged a boat with a new E140W touch screen multifunction display and 4 KW open array. One of the selling points of the new E series is the "Bird Mode" radar gain presets. I have been learning the new electronics and noticed the "Bird Mode" preset does not highlight on the radar screen. I contacted Raymarine tech assistance via e-mail to confirm that a software upgrade made be needed to activate the mode. The tech replied that a software upgrade is not needed, it is a hardware upgrade and that I need to send in the entire radar pedestal to Raymarine, at my expense, for them to repair. I was floored. I called and spoke with the tech who offered no addtional assistance except to speak with a warranty manager who was absolutely worthless. The only acceptable solution IMO is for Raymarine to ship a local installer a new pedestal and have it swapped out on my boat at their expense. This is not a warranty issue. IMO it is a re-call if the open array was not programmed to work with the newly released E Series. Any thoughts on how to proceed with Raymarine?
Old 04-15-2010, 12:15 PM
  #2  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,574
Likes: 0
Received 187 Likes on 123 Posts
Default

This will be part of an upcoming software update. The radar and everything esle attached to your E140 gets updated when your E140 gets updated. So the feature will be there when its released assuming you are doing your updates.
Old 04-15-2010, 12:40 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Jim, thanks for the info.
Old 04-16-2010, 07:06 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Clearwater Florida
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Will this mode work with the older E120? I just updated the E120 to v 5.52.
Old 04-16-2010, 10:58 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,555
Likes: 0
Received 654 Likes on 519 Posts
Default

Bird mode and high speed mode will not be supportet for E-Classic. Dual range will be supported in next software release.

I don't think there are any technical reasons for not supporting Bird mode and high speed mode for E-Classic. We should contact Raymarine to try to convince them to implement support for Bird mode and high speed mode for E-Classic.
Old 04-16-2010, 11:36 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Raymarine Digital Radar

I had noticed that as well on a E120W we have. It appears that the "Bird Mode" feature is only active on the new HD domes. Any digital open array looks like it will require hardware and software modifications that have yet to be released by Raymarine. I did use it the new HD digital domes and was very impressed with target resolution and the rotation time seems to be twice as fast.
Old 04-16-2010, 03:08 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Clearwater Florida
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have the RD424HD dome and an older E120 display. Just got everything wired up but still need to get the dome mounted on the arch. Will this combo work in "bird mode"? I try and play with it this weekend assuming I can get the dome mounted.
Old 04-17-2010, 03:38 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,555
Likes: 0
Received 654 Likes on 519 Posts
Default

Bird mode is only supported by HD-domes and Super HD open arrays.

mawyatt, I have commented E Series Classic and Bird mode above.
Old 04-17-2010, 05:31 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: FL USA
Posts: 1,738
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

So, to get the benefits of HD Radar if I buy a HD Dome I need to also buy a new E Series MFD. I'm not going to do that.
Old 04-17-2010, 06:39 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,555
Likes: 0
Received 654 Likes on 519 Posts
Default

You need a C Series Wide or E Series wide to get all the advantages of the HD domes.

But you will get signal strength coded in 256 colors, better resolution, improved automatic operation and dual range mode also when combined with E Series Classic.

The differences in HD dome radar functionality between the new and old MFD's are High Speed mode (48 rpm) and Bird mode.
Old 04-17-2010, 06:42 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Port Orange, FL
Posts: 455
Likes: 0
Received 31 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

4kW will give you limited "bird visibility" regardless. You really need 6kW or more.

I can't imagine that "bird mode" is anything you could not tune manually.
Old 04-17-2010, 07:26 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,365
Received 341 Likes on 231 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by fish_on View Post
I can't imagine that "bird mode" is anything you could not tune manually.
That makes sense to me.

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
We should contact Raymarine to try to convince them to implement support for Bird mode and high speed mode for E-Classic.
That would be true for the new C-Wide machines as well.

Let me explain my "real world" experience with the new HD digital "RD418HD" Raymarine scanner. I have it connected to a new C-Wide series MFD. There is no "bird mode" preset which may be selected on the C-Wide machine. This may be confirmed by referring to page 109 of the C-Wide user's manual, where "bird mode" is conspicuously absent. This is to be contrasted with the new E-Wide machine. Its user's manual does provide for a "bird mode" preset as set forth on page 127.
Old 04-17-2010, 09:11 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,555
Likes: 0
Received 654 Likes on 519 Posts
Default

If C-Wide don't support Bird mode yet, it will do so after next software update
Old 05-21-2010, 03:49 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,555
Likes: 0
Received 654 Likes on 519 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
Bird mode and high speed mode will not be supportet for E-Classic. Dual range will be supported in next software release.
I was told by the Norwegian Raymarine distributor that dual range with E Classic and HD Digital radar was not supported in v5.52, but this is wrong. I have been testing dual range today and it works.



The boat is parked indoor with a open door in front during this test, so don't mind the strange echoes.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.