Notices

L470 reads 2.0 feet!

Old 07-26-2004, 12:17 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NewJersey
Posts: 7
Default L470 reads 2.0 feet!

Help! I have a Raymarine L470 fishfinder with bronze thru-hull transducer. Anyone ever have their fishfinder just read 1.9 - 2.1 feet? Temperature and speed work fine. I tried performing factory reset to no avail (per manual and Raymarine), and shipped the unit back to Raymarine for service - they said it worked fine.
After re-installing, I turned it on and it read the correct depth (35 feet in sand) per the chart for the area I was in, in auto mode showing proper contours with surface and fish symbols. Yea!
I looked about 15 minutes later, and the unit was back to reading 1.9 - 2.1 feet with no bottom! It had switched to a 5 foot range. I switched to manual range to 80 feet, manual sensitivity (low) and I was able to get a bottom line at 35', but no surface line or fish symbols, and the depth read 1.9 -2.1 feet.
The unit is only 2 years old with very limited use.

Any ideas?
Thanks! FlukySue
FlukySue is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 12:34 PM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location:
Posts: 65
Default RE: L470 reads 2.0 feet!

FlukySue, after the re-install and the sounder read correctly, did you drift for the next 15 minutes or were you underway. If you were just siting and drifting in the cirrent with the echosounder operating, I'd suggest that you have air-bubbles on the transducer face. E Fitz.
E Fitzgerald is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 12:52 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default RE: L470 reads 2.0 feet!

Yep, sounds like the spot you have the ducer may not be the best spot. Is it always in the water, does it NOT have any air bubbles or turbulent water under it? Is it too close to your prop or lower unit...?? Are you in REALLY dirty water? The water in my river where I dock is VERY dirty, and always shows at 2' on the FF, beacuse it is about 4-6' deep but so muddy the FF thinks it's shallow.
Birdman is offline  
Old 07-27-2004, 11:35 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NewJersey
Posts: 7
Default RE: L470 reads 2.0 feet!

Thanks guys!
I waited to turn the unit on after re-installation until we were in the ocean with extremely clear water clarity (amazing!) over a sandy bottom. I turned it on after the boat was stopped, the engines were off, and we were drifting. Then we continued to drift. I was happy to see the unit appeared to be working correctly, at least for several minutes.
The boat is a Pro-Line 2950 with twin outboards - the transducer is located 5-6' forward of the stern, and was installed by the dealer when new with a fairing block, about 4-6" from the centerline. It is always covered by water, even when on plane.
Every year, I lightly sand the transducer and apply 2 light coats of the MDR transducer antifoulant. I'm wondering if I should have the boat hauled, and remove the antifoulant with mineral spirits???
Thanks,
FlukySue
FlukySue is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 10:26 AM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southern Maine, USA
Posts: 45
Default RE: L470 reads 2.0 feet!

I have an L750 that will "freak out" occasionally. In 40-90 feet of water it will read less than 3 feet, then go back to normal reading. I use an in hull puck. Only does is once in a while...
Foggylink is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread