Notices

Garmin 320C installed.....strange!!??

Old 07-22-2004, 08:03 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 170
Default Garmin 320C installed.....strange!!??

I installed my new Garmin 320C, transom mount transducer yesterday and at first power up, unit was DOA, well at least headed that way. The screen was flashing on and off bright white with red vertical lines going across. I called Garmin and the tech had no clue, said he had never heard of that problem before. Very good tech support timewise though. He recommended I just bring it back, man I guess that $424.99 price at West Marine was too good to be true. I brought it back and come to find out the sku # on my box was different from the other ones they had in stock, come to find out my unit was discontinued!!!???? Same box, same unit, just a different sku#. They claim the unit I had was no longer in existence anywhere in West Marine inventory. Luckily they made good and exhanged the unit, same price. Go figure. Fired up the new unit works perfect, picks up depth at 42 mph. Works great so far.
highway74 is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 08:08 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,401
Default RE: Garmin 320C installed.....strange!!??

Hmmmm - exact same thing happened to me when I bought mine in may 03 - at that time I bought one of the first units delivered to the Naples Fl West Marine store - got it home and it did the same thing - red lines - took it back to West and exchanged it - new one has worked perfect ever since - I wonder if somehow you got one that was one of the first ones also?
Glen E is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 08:26 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 170
Default RE: Garmin 320C installed.....strange!!??

Maybe, I wonder if that was the reason for the sku# change, bad lot?? Could have been sitting on the shelf a while, ie; the big discount.
highway74 is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 08:49 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CA & San Carlos, Mx
Posts: 20,221
Default RE: Garmin 320C installed.....strange!!??

Nah, they just sold gershy's to highway. Sort of like the selling the Brooklyn bridge.
Bullshipper is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 09:08 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 170
Default RE: Garmin 320C installed.....strange!!??

Bull, do I have to pay you a fee next time I cross the Brooklyn Bridge or is it still for sale?? lol
highway74 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread