Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Anybody got an old Loran they don't want?

Notices

Anybody got an old Loran they don't want?

Old 07-21-2004, 06:50 PM
  #1  
bg
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cypress, TX USA
Posts: 327
Default Anybody got an old Loran they don't want?

I've got a book full of Loran numbers that I'd like to look for but don't have a working reciever. Anybody got one with the antenna and cables that they'd like to sell me?
bg is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 09:05 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Pensacola, Fl.
Posts: 7,370
Default RE: Anybody got an old Loran they don't want?

Your best bet is to go to Ebay and look for a Sitex XJ-1. I have one. bought it new for $550.
It's not for sale even through I have a DGPS Sitex and for the new boat a Garmin 2006C.
It's just worth more money to me than anyone would be willing to pay.
warthog5 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 09:21 PM
  #3  
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Copiague,NY
Posts: 43
Default RE: Anybody got an old Loran they don't want?

I sent you a pm
johngus is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:28 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location:
Posts: 213
Default RE: Anybody got an old Loran they don't want?

BG:

Drop over to E-Bay and search for Loran-C. I have my late father's SiTex 790 with coupler and documentation for sale there.

Ian
iawright is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 07:20 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bonita, CA
Posts: 495
Default RE: Anybody got an old Loran they don't want?

BG,

I have an older unit I bought new and it has been on the shelf for some time. It can be portable (but the battery is bad) or connected to 12v. I also have a Loran antenna coupler that you mount any CB antenna (the full lenght whip is best) to and works great. I had this setup on my small boat back in the 80's and it worked well. I believe I still have the owners manual as well.

It's yours for the shipping cost if you can use it. UPS shipping cost approx 12.00. I can get specific if i have your zip code.

Let me know --

John Jensen is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 07:21 PM
  #6  
bg
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cypress, TX USA
Posts: 327
Default RE: Anybody got an old Loran they don't want?

Sold! 77433

email me at [email protected] and we'll get it finished up.

Thanks!
bg is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 08:22 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 1,994
Default RE: Anybody got an old Loran they don't want?

bg i was at sailtech in clear lake today. they have a lot of loran c's on consignment. call them 281 334 4690
AGULHAS is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 08:32 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Narragansett Bay RI
Posts: 1,039
Default RE: Anybody got an old Loran they don't want?

For about a $150 or less you can get a handheld GPS that will take loran TDs. Why waste money on a tempermental loran unit?
rogerstg is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 10:40 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Pensacola, Fl.
Posts: 7,370
Default RE: Anybody got an old Loran they don't want?

Because the conversion from Loran TD's to the GPS TD's is not acurate. Could be 1/4 mile off.
It's been discussed MANY times.
warthog5 is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 12:51 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Narragansett Bay RI
Posts: 1,039
Default RE: Anybody got an old Loran they don't want?

warthog5 - 7/23/2004 10:40 AM

Because the conversion from Loran TD's to the GPS TD's is not acurate. Could be 1/4 mile off.
It's been discussed MANY times.
I must have missed that conversation. However, unless he is using the same unit that the TDs were recorded on and in an area that has not had many rf changes recently (like cell towers, DGPS beacons, etc) he will still be up to 1/4 mile off. The repeatability tends to be unit/condition specific. Heck, last season that I used my old loran off RI, 25% of the time it was off more than 1/4 mile.
rogerstg is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 03:26 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 1,994
Default RE: Anybody got an old Loran they don't want?

bg i think you will have better luck in the gulf than on the east coast with accuracy. the grid i think has less correction or is truer or whatever. anyway i think the read in the gulf is more accurate.
AGULHAS is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 04:36 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default RE: Anybody got an old Loran they don't want?

There's one in the Trading dock right now:

http://thehulltruth.net/forums/threa...=30106&posts=6
Birdman is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 04:56 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 720
Default RE: Anybody got an old Loran they don't want?

I have got a Sitex XJ-1 with antenna and some extra couplers that are sitting
around in my garage. Sent you a PM
RamblinOn is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 05:06 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Pensacola, Fl.
Posts: 7,370
Default RE: Anybody got an old Loran they don't want?

I would contact RamblinOn. The Sitex units in their day were top shelf stuff.
The Sitex 790, 797 are before the XJ-1. They have the same features, but they turned the XJ-1 sideway's
This allowed to have BIGGER numbers on the screen. There is a XJ-2 also. it goes out 3digets past the period.
XJ-1 goes 2 digets past the period.
I don't think there were a lot of XJ-2's sold? the numbers flipped [3rd diget]so fast that it wasn't worth having.
warthog5 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread