Notices

Flo Scan Verses Navman

Old 07-15-2004, 04:50 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location:
Posts: 13
Default Flo Scan Verses Navman

I'd like to install a fuel flow monitor in my twin engine 375HP each gas guzzling vacation station and I want to know if anyone had an opinion as to which would be more accurate. I am thinking of either the Flow Scan Twin Scan model or the Navman 3100. I was told that the Nav man uses a spinning gadget to sense fuel flow making it less accurate than the Flo Scan which uses a fume sensor. Any thoughts or opions would be appreciated.

Thanks
Ratherbee is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 06:42 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sugar Land, Texas
Posts: 203
Default RE: Flo Scan Versus Navman

Installed FloScan 7 years ago. It has been trouble free and dead nuts accurate from day one. Do yourself a favor, get the FloScan.

Bob
Bob VH is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 09:09 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 2,406
Default RE: Flo Scan Verses Navman

I have the Navmanand the accuracy is phenomenal. In 2400 gallons of fuel, the cumulative error hs been 20 gallons (add all the errors, whetehr plus or minus and get the total). The absolute error has been less than 2 gallons (add all the plusses and subtract all the minuses).

Pricewise, you can pay almost $1000 for the Floscan 9000 or get more functionality with the Navman 3100 for about $400.

Harry
Harry Brosofsky is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 02:33 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Salem, MA
Posts: 319
Default RE: Flo Scan Versus Navman

Bob VH - 7/15/2004 5:42 PM

Installed FloScan 7 years ago. It has been trouble free and dead nuts accurate from day one. Do yourself a favor, get the FloScan.

Bob
Installed it 4 years ago and I had the same experience with a 150 johnson! Sucks down 11 GPH at cruise and the floscan is dead on!
All Relative is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 09:26 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 671
Default RE: Flo Scan Verses Navman

Do any f you know if the Navman works with fuel systems that return fuel?
Doxy is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 09:39 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 2,406
Default RE: Flo Scan Verses Navman

Not when I bought mine. They now offer a diesel model, so that may have changed. Best bet is to look on http://www.navman.com. The diesel transducer has positive displacement measurement (measures amount and subtracts amount returned). If it is gasoline safe, it should work with an EFI motor with return.

Harry
Harry Brosofsky is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 09:50 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Broadway/Snead's Ferry,NC
Posts: 4,355
Default RE: Flo Scan Verses Navman

Have had the Navman...read through their chartplotter for one year. It has been great, but the sender and cable are mated as one piece and if the sender goes bad you will have to route a new cable with the new sender....I just snaked mine with a dummy string for when it happens. Greg
Greg Manning is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 10:49 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 685
Default RE: Flo Scan Verses Navman

I just installed two floscans Can't say enough good stuff about them. If there only a little more money or even a bit more go with floscan!! Not saying the other is bad but man these are good and so are the people at floscan.

Lastly though purchase the unit through some-other-website.com GREAT PRICES!!!!!
rpmunroe is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 10:50 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 685
Default RE: Flo Scan Verses Navman

ask me where I got mine boat fix or something.
rpmunroe is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 11:15 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chapel Hill and PKS, North Carolina
Posts: 6,494
Default RE: Flo Scan Verses Navman

I never heard of a fume sensor, but that doesn't mean it doesn't exist. I had FloScans years ago and they had a spinning turbine type sensor. Saphire as I recall. They were very accurate and trouble free. I have a Standard Horizon 240 with twins, which I believe is identical to Navman, and one ducer went out after a year of light use.
glacierbaze is offline  
Old 07-24-2004, 12:28 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hammond, LA
Posts: 17,415
Default RE: Flo Scan Verses Navman

money tree in the back yard? either will work
no money tree in the back yard? navman is the choice
cgrand is offline  
Old 07-24-2004, 04:18 PM
  #12  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location:
Posts: 3
Default RE: Flo Scan Verses Navman

A "Fume" sensor?

The FLoScans I have experience with use spinners. And they clog. Ask Capt. Don to the main board.
They also break, and it cost him as much to replace the sensor as the entire NEW NavMan costs.

FloScan was on the market first and are the most costly... However, this ain't rocket science.
If the price difference is what was quoted earlier, I would go with the NavMan.

The fuel meters in the digital instrument cluster that came with my Yahama four strokes are just as accurate as my
fishing buddy's FloScan, so FloScan does not have any silver bullet technology available only to them.

Tom
Shark II is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 05:07 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 671
Default RE: Flo Scan Verses Navman

Harry Brosofsky - 7/23/2004 9:39 PM

Not when I bought mine. They now offer a diesel model, so that may have changed. Best bet is to look on http://www.navman.com. The diesel transducer has positive displacement measurement (measures amount and subtracts amount returned). If it is gasoline safe, it should work with an EFI motor with return.

Harry
Thanks Harry,

I looked into the floscan for twin diesels and I think it was going to run me over $2k. I'll check out the Navmans.
Doxy is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 09:12 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 685
Default RE: Flo Scan Verses Navman

I just hooked up floscans fot twin diesels the 620-bos-2k ( i think) I got them from boat fix dot com they were $1100 for the pair.
rpmunroe is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 10:19 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Pensacola, Fl.
Posts: 7,370
Default RE: Flo Scan Verses Navman

glacierbaze A fume sensor is a whole diffrent animal.
http://homepages.ihug.co.nz/~bvdb/gd10.html

warthog5 is offline  
Old 07-26-2004, 01:10 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chapel Hill and PKS, North Carolina
Posts: 6,494
Default RE: Flo Scan Verses Navman

Warthog5 --I understand that kind of sensor, but not one that measures flow rates as suggested in the original post.
glacierbaze is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 11:39 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: St. Leonard, MD
Posts: 3,956
Default RE: Flo Scan Verses Navman

warthog5 - 7/25/2004 10:19 PM

glacierbaze A fume sensor is a whole diffrent animal.
http://homepages.ihug.co.nz/~bvdb/gd10.html

My wife gave me one of those for Christmas. I put it in the bathroom.......
gw204 is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 02:02 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Narragansett Bay RI
Posts: 1,039
Default RE: Flo Scan Verses Navman

gw204 - 7/28/2004 11:39 AM

My wife gave me one of those for Christmas. I put it in the bathroom.......
How can you read with that racket in there?
rogerstg is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 05:04 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 671
Default RE: Flo Scan Verses Navman

rpmunroe - 7/25/2004 9:12 PM

I just hooked up floscans fot twin diesels the 620-bos-2k ( i think) I got them from boat fix dot com they were $1100 for the pair.
Thanks for the info. I went back to floscan's website because the $2,000 did sound like a lot. I was wrong, the 9000 series list for $1980 apiece, factory direct at $1485. I was actually looking at $3,000 plus my time for install!!
Doxy is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 09:25 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 685
Default RE: Flo Scan Verses Navman

Boat fix dot com is actually even less than factory direct. (don't know why) or at least for mine they were.
rpmunroe is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread