Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

Notices

Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

Old 07-14-2004, 09:02 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston,Tx,U.S.A
Posts: 11,692
Default Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

Have you seen it yet !!!2Kw and mounting box for 1200.00!!!!


15 - 50 kHz elements!!!

3.5" ceramic 200kHz element

Hold on to your ducers boy's look's like somebody is getting serious about finding Fish!!!!!


John
jtburf is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 09:42 AM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location:
Posts: 65
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

What is the beam angle at 50kHz? Is it a conical beam or a fan-shape?

Thanks in advance for the information. E Fitz.
E Fitzgerald is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 10:27 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 2,538
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

Had already planned on upgrading, but I don't have enough room in my bilge to mount it. Something like 8" wide and 14" long was the rough demensions I got. It hooks to a BBF1 the freq are fixed, but when hooked to a BBF3, it not only doesn't need the diplexor and can be used as 2 different ducers, you get to select which frequencies.

BBF3: "It also utilizes Furuno's Free Synthesizer (FFS) transceiver which means you can easily select from a broad range of frequencies. Dual Frequency, Select two from 28, 38, 50, 88 or 200 kHz"

Dunno how the DSM would handle it.
Somethin-Fishey is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 04:08 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 2,406
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

Works with a DSM per Peter Braffitt. I almost got one, but decided against it for the dpeths I commonly fish.

Harry
Harry Brosofsky is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 04:41 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 2,538
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

Harry Brosofsky - 7/20/2004 5:08 PM

Works with a DSM per Peter Braffitt. I almost got one, but decided against it for the dpeths I commonly fish.

Harry
Does the DSM still need the diplexor, does it use one on the M260? if so, it probably does on the R199 also. That's the beauty of the BBF3, it can process the frequencies independently of each other and the data travels twice as fast because it doesn't have to alternate frequencies.
Somethin-Fishey is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 06:03 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 2,406
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

No diplexer required on the DSM/M260..at least as far as I know...I didn't add one, there may be a built in diplexer on teh M260 though.

Harry
Harry Brosofsky is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 06:07 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 2,538
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

Yes, it's built in if the equipment requires it. It depends on the actual model of M260 you order.
Somethin-Fishey is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 06:09 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 2,406
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

I just ordered the one to work with the DSM. I can read both 200 and 50 HZ simultaneously.

Harry
Harry Brosofsky is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 06:29 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

No FF will require a cross over network (diplexer). All the diplexer does is make sure that when you are running 50Khz that the maximum amount of signal is exciting the 50Khz elements. Its a filter.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 06:49 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 2,538
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

Harry,
It's actually transmission strength...sort of. The BBF1 and DSM-250 (I belive) operate on the same principle. They can only receive 50hz or 200hz info, not both simultaneously. What the transducer does is "Diplex" the signal. That means it transmits 50Hz them 200Hz back and forth to the Black Box (BBF1 and DSM-250) This info is seen by the Black box to be different and processed as individual signals. The BBF3 however has 2 leads going directly to the transducer, one for 50Hz elements and one for 200Hz elements. Both frequencies are variable however. This gives basically twice the bandwidth for data to the unit and you can speed up the scroll rate. You can actually attach 2 physically different transducers to the BBF3, one for low freq and one for high freq. I'm not sure if the BBF1 or DSM-250 would benefit greatly from using this ducer due to restrictions on info or if it is available diplexed.

OK, while typing I was searching, it is available diplexed, but they don't list specs, but here it is compared to the M260 in verbage form:

R199R199 vs. M260:
• Beam widths are narrower, concentrating energy for better target detection and bottom detail.
• Figure of merit is 6 dB higher at 50 kHz and 200kHz, as compared to the M260. This is equivalent to 4 times the sensitivity at each frequency.
• The Q at both 50 kHz and 200 kHz is significantly reduced, which means even much lower ringing and even better discrimination between closely spaced fish and between fish and bottom.


The R199packs an 88mm (3.5") ceramic at 200kHz, and fifteen dedicated elements operating at 50kHz, Like its externally mounted cousin, the R99, this in-hull is so precise, fish are no longer camouflaged by their surroundings. If there are fish anglers will "see" them– in the shallows or depths!
Somethin-Fishey is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 06:51 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 2,538
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

Sea_Dad - 7/20/2004 7:29 PM

No FF will require a cross over network (diplexer). All the diplexer does is make sure that when you are running 50Khz that the maximum amount of signal is exciting the 50Khz elements. Its a filter.
What about when you have both freq's up simultaneously? A filter has losses....
Somethin-Fishey is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 07:02 PM
  #12  
SIM
Senior MemberVendorCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington Island,Wi USA
Posts: 13,904
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

Not to highjack anything here.......but someone here(I think it was JTburf) assisted me on a M260 setup for a customers Navnet with black box and it works awesome. We used that huge retractable transom bracket and after some fine tuning to keep the spray down at high speeds we never lose the bottom , even at high speeds (alright its on a GB so its not that high a speed ). Sitting in a 1-2 foot sea you can see the bottom go up and down with the boat and the detail is incredible. Highly recommend this t-ducer setup. It works great! Customers very happy.

One problem though.........the owner wanted a seperate RayMarine speeddepth emp as a back up. We put the other t-ducer on the other sponson and when you fire up the Furuno.......we loose the depth on the Raymarine. Cant use the both of them at the same time. I have done several installs with multiple t-ducers with units closer then this and no problems. Must be that big dog 260 clockin out the little Raymarine unit.

Thanks for the help.

Andy
SIM is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 07:17 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 2,538
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

Andy,
I think all of us here have the M260, Myself, Harry and JTburf. If you think the M260 transducer is big, you should see this thing! The box is 8.2" wide, 17" long and 9" high. It probably takes a gallon of mineral oil to fill that thing up The transducer is probably 7.5" wide and 16" long and 5" thick!! It probably weighs 6-8#
Somethin-Fishey is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 07:57 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

Somethin-Fishey - 7/20/2004 6:51 PM

Sea_Dad - 7/20/2004 7:29 PM

No FF will require a cross over network (diplexer). All the diplexer does is make sure that when you are running 50Khz that the maximum amount of signal is exciting the 50Khz elements. Its a filter.
What about when you have both freq's up simultaneously? A filter has losses....
true but that the price you pay to have a xducer perform better in one frequency over the other. The 260's with the diplexors are tweaked for deep deep water. Why airmar hasnt provided a xducer specifically tweeked for 200 Khz is surprising. As it it used for more than 98% of fishing in waters 300' or less.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 08:22 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 2,538
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

Sea_Dad - 7/20/2004 8:57 PM

Somethin-Fishey - 7/20/2004 6:51 PM

Sea_Dad - 7/20/2004 7:29 PM

No FF will require a cross over network (diplexer). All the diplexer does is make sure that when you are running 50Khz that the maximum amount of signal is exciting the 50Khz elements. Its a filter.
What about when you have both freq's up simultaneously? A filter has losses....
true but that the price you pay to have a xducer perform better in one frequency over the other. The 260's with the diplexors are tweaked for deep deep water. Why airmar hasnt provided a xducer specifically tweeked for 200 Khz is surprising. As it it used for more than 98% of fishing in waters 300' or less.
Kinda my point though. I do most of my fishing in >200ft of water. Half of the time in >300ft. For me 200Khz is great for bottom fishing, I can tell when a grouper farts but 50Hz is where it's at for trolling. You can see much more ocean. I would gladly pay more for better 50Hz resolution. Maybe I'm just that 2%.
Somethin-Fishey is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 08:27 AM
  #16  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niantic,CT
Posts: 67
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

I recently got a m260 setup from tropica marine. They sent me a R199 box by accident, it was huge, I should have taken a picture. I was trying to find somewhere to buy mineral oil in 5 gallon pails.
Joeguy is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 08:45 AM
  #17  
SIM
Senior MemberVendorCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington Island,Wi USA
Posts: 13,904
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

Somethin-Fishey - 7/20/2004 7:17 PM Andy, I think all of us here have the M260, Myself, Harry and JTburf. If you think the M260 transducer is big, you should see this thing! The box is 8.2" wide, 17" long and 9" high. It probably takes a gallon of mineral oil to fill that thing up The transducer is probably 7.5" wide and 16" long and 5" thick!! It probably weighs 6-8#
William,

Sounds like a neat setup if you have the room for it. Wonder if they make a transducer bracket for it?

I have a new uncut tank we did not use on the M260 and the installation hardware. Anybody have any use for it?

Andy
SIM is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 10:24 AM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mass.
Posts: 924
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

Andy --

You really need to go with a different frequency with the high power fishfinders if you want a second unit operating at the same time. I have a depth only 235Hz Airmar "Smart Sensor" mounted 6" from my big 1 kW transducer for the Furuno BBFF1 and it works perfectly. It also has the advantage of being flexible since it can display through any device that accepts NMEA inputs. Mine is interfaced to a Garmin 2006C for example.
Saltdog is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 10:48 AM
  #19  
SIM
Senior MemberVendorCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington Island,Wi USA
Posts: 13,904
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

Saltdog,

The Airmar 235 smart sensor.....what is that? A transducer that uses a NEMA out? Hook up to my nema in on the Raydata unit??

Thanks,

Andy
SIM is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 10:58 AM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default RE: Airmar R199 2Kw transducer and mounting box!!!

Somethin-Fishey - 7/20/2004 8:22 PM

Sea_Dad - 7/20/2004 8:57 PM

Somethin-Fishey - 7/20/2004 6:51 PM

Sea_Dad - 7/20/2004 7:29 PM

No FF will require a cross over network (diplexer). All the diplexer does is make sure that when you are running 50Khz that the maximum amount of signal is exciting the 50Khz elements. Its a filter.
What about when you have both freq's up simultaneously? A filter has losses....
true but that the price you pay to have a xducer perform better in one frequency over the other. The 260's with the diplexors are tweaked for deep deep water. Why airmar hasnt provided a xducer specifically tweeked for 200 Khz is surprising. As it it used for more than 98% of fishing in waters 300' or less.
Kinda my point though. I do most of my fishing in >200ft of water. Half of the time in >300ft. For me 200Khz is great for bottom fishing, I can tell when a grouper farts but 50Hz is where it's at for trolling. You can see much more ocean. I would gladly pay more for better 50Hz resolution. Maybe I'm just that 2%.
but you dont need the filter for it to work really good for you. I can see 2500' with ease with my B256 on 50Khz. The way I look at the filter is if you are deep dropping a 600' and really need to know if there is bait fish down there or not. Otherwise it doesnt add as much value as it degrades the 200khz sensitivity.

But hey thats why they make both.
Sea_Dad is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread