Notices

GPS memory?

Old 07-14-2004, 11:41 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: wilmington, nc, usa
Posts: 2
Default GPS memory?

I'm trying to decide on a Garmin GPSmap76 or a GPSmap76S. One has 24mb of memory and the other 8mb of memory. Can anyone tell me if the extra 16mb is worth the extra 100 bucks? I live in SE NC, so I would probably want to DL Onslow Bay into the unit from the Blue Charts CD. Can I fit this in the unit with 8mb of memory? If not, how much can I squeeze in there? I'm not really sure how much I'll get out of the electronic compass and the barometer, so I'm just looking at the extra memory. Thanks!
CapeFearDiveGal is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 04:44 PM
  #2  
NPH
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 626
Default RE: GPS memory?

I have found with everything except wives, more memory is always better!!!! Your plans for now will work with just 8MB but what about next year? I have also found that with Garmin, you cannot fit 2 of any map on an 8MB chip, and the logic that they have used to split the maps, almost always means you need at least 2 maps for any area that you are going to be in!
NPH is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 05:47 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default RE: GPS memory?

8mb of map data is close to nothing. Get the more memory, if you can remember!!
Birdman is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread