Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

HDS Structurescan transducer install

Old 02-21-2010, 01:22 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: oregon
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HDS Structurescan transducer install

Can I mount the structurescan transducer right next to the 83/200 transducer or do I need to space them out a little? Will the two transducers next to each other cause turbulance in the water flow for the other? The next possible location between the strakes would space the transducers apart a little less than a foot. This will be going on the transom of a Alumaweld 20' Super Vee LT. It has a outboard jet and prop (can switch back and forth).
Old 02-21-2010, 04:12 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mebane, NC
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

TCM - is it just the picture, or is the StructureScan transducer not installed parallel to the water surface - it looks like its mounted parallel to the angle of the boat? Any reason not to mount it parallel to the water?
Old 02-21-2010, 07:07 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

If you want to use the overlay feature, the recommend that they are no farther than 1 foot apart.
Old 02-22-2010, 07:01 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 2,026
Received 135 Likes on 84 Posts
Default

I spoke to a Lowrance rep at the AC show and then called the tech support line. Both told me no further than 3 feet apart so they are looking at the same thing at the same time. I think I'm going to put one on each side of the engine, they would be about 2 feet apart.
Old 05-08-2010, 01:24 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 15,830
Likes: 0
Received 992 Likes on 797 Posts
Default

tcm, what's the distance between your transducers?

I will only get 4" center to center, do you think this will be a problem?
Old 05-08-2010, 04:54 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SW CT
Posts: 187
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

i installed mine in the same fashion as TCM. They are approx 5" apart. ill tell you how it works when i get the boat wet this week
Old 05-08-2010, 07:12 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 128
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The Side Scan crystals/elements are aimed out to the side horizontally. Make sure the SS transducer is slightly BELOW or lower on the transom toward the keel than the conventional transducer. If you don't, the conventional transducer could possibly be in the way and block the side scan signal, just keep this in mind when mounting.
Old 05-11-2010, 01:44 PM
  #8  
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 45
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I found that by installing the transducer close to the bottom of the boat, the forward motion of the boat, up on a plane, would push the unit up and give me a fairly big roostertail.

The advice I received was that since sidescan only works while going slow, mount the unit high enough on the transom to stay out of the way while on plane, but in the water while going slow or trolling. It worked.
Old 05-12-2010, 02:24 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Solomons, Maryland / Now just visiting Marathon
Posts: 4,878
Received 34 Likes on 24 Posts
Default

Any more opinions on this?
I'm getting pulled out of the water Friday to install it.....
Old 07-12-2010, 03:18 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 15,830
Likes: 0
Received 992 Likes on 797 Posts
Default

I'm going to do my second StructureScan transducer installation tomorrow. This time on a boat doing more than 50 mph.

On my other boat I installed according to instructions, bottom of ducer in plane with bottom of the hull. This created a large drag and a lot of water disturbance.

I don't need StructureScan other than while going at trolling speeds. I'm thinking about mounting the ducer 4-6" up on the transom. Anyone with experince of such placement?
Old 07-12-2010, 03:58 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 128
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Seems you would get a lot of swirling water/turbulence up that high. Don't you think?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.