Notices

blue chart and my pc (?)

Old 11-26-2003, 05:06 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 685
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

OK I have a garmin 2006c with a new england blue chart (mus003r). I have the AC/pc cable which allows me to use the damn thing at home. I can see the thing from my pc I even updated the software. But why can't I look at the chart on my pc? Is this possible? What I want to do is add waypoints and routes from my pc without having to manipulate all the little keys on the 2006c. Lastly I am having a problem with a contour line that disapears. any one else have this problem? For those who know, above the claw there is a contour line from coxes ledge to the claw. not that line but one just south of it. when i try to use this thing that line disapears and I lose the inside fingers. ne help thanks

live like the fish are biting 32 luhrs conv. new yanmar diesels
rpmunroe is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 05:20 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 5,294
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

rp,
Unfortunately, you're gonna have to lay out again for the Map Source cd-rom. Then you can view, download and upload to your machine. The other problem I can't help you with. Good luck.

Mud Runner is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 05:46 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 685
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

which map source cd rom? Will the usb card reader be sufficient? I have one of those coming in.

live like the fish are biting 32 luhrs conv. new yanmar diesels
rpmunroe is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 06:01 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: miami
Posts: 812
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

please tell us exactly what you bought, what you did, so we can help. also, do a search for blue chart on recent posts and you'll see descriptions of all the different components and software, firmware, etc., to avoid confusion

for example, did you buy the blue chart on a mapsource cd-rom and get an unlock code you used after you installed mapsourece on yur puter? do you just have memory chip w/ map on it? etc.

have a great holiday.
landlubber is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 06:42 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 685
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

I have a gArmin 2006c a bluechart chip for the 2006c and a computer I also have the usb chip programmer and a ac/pc cable so I can hook the 2006c up to the computer I have no mapsource products other than the chip.

live like the fish are biting 32 luhrs conv. new yanmar diesels
rpmunroe is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 07:45 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 5,294
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

Rp,
You'll have to buy the mapsource cd to view the map oon your chip. You don't need an unlock code. The unlock code is for a gps with an internal memory that has to have a map uploaded from the cd-rom. What you actually need is the software program from that cd which enable you to view, download, uplaoad and save data from your gps. The update you applied clearly states that
"WARNING: This software will not work unless you already own a MapSource product.

That's the size of it. Plain & simple. It pissed me off when I found that out two machines ago.

At least you won't have to bring the machine home when you plan a trip. I just downloaded the map from the chip and then view it on the pc when I need to. You would only need an unlock code with your machine if you bought a blank chip and needed to program it with a map.

Good luck & hope this helps.

Mud Runner is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 02:47 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Cocoa, Fl.
Posts: 131
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

Can't help with the charts, but with the waypoints I use EasyGPS (free) on my Garmin 182c to upload and download waypoints and routes. I routinely save my bottom fishing numbers just incase something happens.
Mr. T is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 05:43 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: miami
Posts: 812
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

mud runner got it for you. only other things to add are:

1) this is why you should get blank memory cards sted of ones w/ maps on them;

2) i carry extra memory card case one gets fried, wet;

3) check here and garmin site for news of updates to firmware and software.

4) get expertgps, a few more options than free version. w both you can dowload, w/ one clik, ariel photos. very, very cool.

5) do NOT use any cleaner, abrasive or anything but damp, soft rag to clean your screen!!!!!!!

6) always back up your waypoints, put on disk and store them in fireproof safe. if you fish or dive in florida, you can send me a copy and and i'll store them, safe and sound for ya!
landlubber is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 06:32 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 685
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

How do I upload the map from my chip onto the pc? Do I do this through the ac/pc cable directly from the 2006c or can I only do this once the usb card reader arrives.?

live like the fish are biting 32 luhrs conv. new yanmar diesels
rpmunroe is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 06:47 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: boca raton, fl, usa
Posts: 781
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

anyone know when Garmin will incorporate the Explorer series of Bahamas charts into bluechart data ? I heard jan 2004, any other news...
heatzig is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 06:50 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mass.
Posts: 924
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

rpmunroe, I have exactly the same situation as you. The question is whether you want to add waypoints from the chart or whether you just want to add waypoints. If you get a waypoint management program such as GPS Utilty (small version is free download), you can create the waypoints on your PC and upload them to the Garmin.

A hybrid approach is to create the waypoints on the Garmin using the chart and cursor and give them simple names that don't take time to enter. Then upload to the PC, use the GPSU software to edit the names, and download back to the Garmin. Simpler than it sounds. This is a no-cost solution to your problem.
Saltdog is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 07:24 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: miami
Posts: 812
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

first... no idea about blue chart updates for bahamas, or anywhere else. i [I]think[/I they're due for update very soon for florida areas, tho.

now.....just plunk down a few bucks for map source cd-rom, which will make your life a whole lot easier. think i paid $100 or so for it.

w/ mapsource, you can upload waypoints AND maps (and routes, tracks) from your unit to mapsource on puter via usb card reader OR serial connection (which sometimes gets error messages, dpending on what else you have connected to other serial ports -- which is why USB is so much better for all periphials than serial).

w/o mapsource.......you can NOT upload maps to puter. that's a major bummer. BUT you can upload waypoints and other stuff to 3rd party waypoint management software like easy- or expertgps, via your serial connection.

so just buy mapsource already!
landlubber is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 07:36 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 685
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

OK landlubber I think you are getting me there and the other software looks cool too. So here is my last thought on the matter. (does this make sense) I purchase the mapsource americas cd rom which comes with one unlock code. I upload the charts I want to my spare garmin chip and use this intstead of the chip I have.Then to offset the cost of the new cd I sell my garmin chip as it is now redundent anyway. Does that makes sense or am I not looking at something here. As it is I have everything already except for the mapsource cd rom.

live like the fish are biting 32 luhrs conv. new yanmar diesels
rpmunroe is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 09:40 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: miami
Posts: 812
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

YES, that makes perfect sense. however.... again, i do recommend carrying backup chip.
landlubber is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 10:02 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 685
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

Ok I got it I am going to try to get the cd tomorrow unlockit and upload the chart if this all works I will get a back up chip 8mb should do . Then I will have a chip for sale.

live like the fish are biting 32 luhrs conv. new yanmar diesels
rpmunroe is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 11:37 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: miami
Posts: 812
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

i'd go minimum 16 mb chip. my map set for south florida is 12 mb.
landlubber is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 11:52 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 685
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

ok 16mb it is I hope this works. The sucky part is I just bought the ac/pc cable thinking I could do it that way. I am curious now as to what the purpose of this cable is? If all it is good for is a remote power source and a thingy for waypoints. The usb programmer is cheaper and dosn't require removal of the unit.

live like the fish are biting 32 luhrs conv. new yanmar diesels
rpmunroe is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 12:44 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: boca raton, fl, usa
Posts: 781
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

the mapsource data can also be downloaded to a handheld backup garmin GPS as the unlock code works for two garmin devices. Thats how I justified buying the CD, programmer and blank 16mb chip.
Eric
heatzig is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 02:10 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 708
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

rpmunroe,

Hang on to that ac\\pc cable.
you will need it to update the firmware on your chartplotter .

Cheers... Tyee.
Tyee 2 is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 07:43 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: miami
Posts: 812
Default blue chart and my pc (?)

actually, you can update firmware via usb chip thingy. you'll still need the ac/serial adapter to run unit at home, to clear tracks/odometer, and to noodle w/ various settings (except you can't do some settings unless boat's in water for sonar, and attached to gps antenna). and i like to make sure all waypoints and routes are loaded correctly from puter, too.
landlubber is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread