Notices

VHF Antenna Cable

Old 12-01-2003, 07:26 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Manteo NC, Charlestown RI
Posts: 3,645
Default VHF Antenna Cable

Quick question, is it ok to cut this cable to length required?

202 Scout Sportfisher (for sale)fish out of Point Judith, RI
NewMoon is offline  
Old 12-01-2003, 08:43 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: On the wild side !!
Posts: 5,695
Default VHF Antenna Cable

IMHO....yes you can cut it.....but no shorter than 3-4 feet from the antenna.
BW23 is offline  
Old 12-01-2003, 08:53 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Manteo NC, Charlestown RI
Posts: 3,645
Default VHF Antenna Cable

BW23, Thanks I wasn't sure if it would have an effect on the SWR match of the antenna to radio.

202 Scout Sportfisher (for sale)fish out of Point Judith, RI
NewMoon is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 06:19 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Skaneateles, New York
Posts: 5,483
Default VHF Antenna Cable

No problem...just make sure the new connector is put on perfectly.

Boston Whaler, "MUMBLER", 24' Outrage, twin 175 HP Evinrude Ocean Pros. Snowball, the cat...
Mumblerone is offline  
Old 12-02-2003, 12:42 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
PLEDGER
 
HOTSPOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 13,395
Default VHF Antenna Cable

And unless you are a real good at soldering, I would highly recommend Shakespeare's CenterPin connector. A monkey could install the connector and it WORKS, makes a real good connection.



Support THT and become a Captain's Club Member

HOT SPOT <'})))><<

Sea Pro SV2300 Yamaha F200
Ford F250 SD 4DR 4WD PowerStroke
HOTSPOT is offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 06:43 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Thornton's Ferry,NH,USA
Posts: 10,631
Default VHF Antenna Cable

Mu $0.02

It's easier to make a cable shorter than longer. Allow yourself some extra length to reroute the cable later if you change something in the console. Comes in handy if the original plug gets damaged or corroded and you want to cut it off and put on another.

--
We come into this world cold, naked and afraid. Then things turn bad.
Kamper is offline  
Old 12-03-2003, 07:46 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default VHF Antenna Cable

And another two notes: Shakespeare tells you at their site not to cut the cable any less than 3 feet.

Antenna tend to last about 5 years for me, and I change connectors every spring. Each connector requires that I cut the old one off, and I cut them back about six inches and check for corrosion in the shielding. So at a minimum I need Shakespeare's 3 feet plus my 2 1/2 feet (five years times six inches) plus a foot 'cause sometimes I do stupid @#$%, and leaving about 7 feet is a minimum for me. Makes about two nice sized loops, easily held in place with zip ties.

Thom
Thom is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread