Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Standard horizon?

Old 12-11-2009, 05:46 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Camden SC / Little River SC
Posts: 412
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Standard horizon?

I have a small crack on the screen of my unit that has grown. The unit still works great, but I would like to get it fixed. My question is, should I get this fixed or just leave it alone?;? Again the unit still works great, and I dont have alot of extra cash on hand due to x-mas for the little one. Is there a cheap way to fix it, or am I looking at a huge chunk of change?
Old 12-11-2009, 06:05 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location:
Posts: 456
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

How old is the unit?
Old 12-12-2009, 12:13 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 157
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Aqua Loco,

What model do you own? Remember Standard Horizon offers a three warranty. If you have any questions please contact technical support on Monday - Friday 7am-5pm PST.
Old 12-12-2009, 09:05 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Freeport,NY
Posts: 1,595
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Good show Jason. You support THT and stand behind your products. I had a problem with my VHF and you guys were right there. Can't ask for more.
Old 12-13-2009, 06:29 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Camden SC / Little River SC
Posts: 412
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I bought the boat used, so I guess that the unit was put on it when it was first bought. I think it is only 3 years old. I dont have the book for the unit , but it says GPS Plotter 1000, along the bottom. I will be calling Standard Horizon on Monday Morning. Thanks for the help Jason.
Old 12-14-2009, 06:39 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location:
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Unless you can get the unit repaired for free, after 2 years (3 max!) it rarely makes sense to have electronics fixed- they cost an arm and a leg to fix and you'll be left with a very outdated unit. This is especially true for plotters that have come wayyy down in price.

You can get a nice plotter now for $300 or less, so you may want to consider just replacing the unit.
Old 12-17-2009, 11:51 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Gulf Shores, Alabama
Posts: 4,265
Received 231 Likes on 126 Posts
Default

SH has a flat rate repair charge after the warranty expires. It's guaranteed for life but perhaps only to the original owner. It's worth a call to them, IMO.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.