Notices

Garmin 160 F/F

Old 11-24-2003, 02:30 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plymouth, Ma. USA
Posts: 657
Default Garmin 160 F/F

Is this unit any good? How does it compare to the Blue series? Is the tranducer the same for both the Blue series and regular 160?
Thanks in advance!!
Offshore 20

Capt. John is offline  
Old 11-24-2003, 03:04 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wilmington, N.C.USA
Posts: 1,077
Default Garmin 160 F/F

Offshore 20,
I have the regular 160 and have been happy with it. It came on the boat so I really didn't have much choice. I'm not sure how it compares to the blue. I do know that it is very sensitive to any voltage change. It will shut off sometimes when I hit a big wake of a large wave while running in the ocean.

Bluemelvin is offline  
Old 11-24-2003, 03:21 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plymouth, Ma. USA
Posts: 657
Default Garmin 160 F/F

Bluemelvin My 160 came with boat as well and I have not had a chance to use it yet. I am not expecting anything spectacular, but hoped it would work ok.

Capt. John is offline  
Old 11-24-2003, 03:35 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,414
Default Garmin 160 F/F

the 160 is the same as the 240 but has less resolution on the screen which makes it a little harder to read than the 240. The 160 and the 240 use the identical sensors. The blue series is dual frequency and uses a different transducer. The reason for two frequencies is that 50mhz is better in deeper water (400' or so). In shallower water, you'll use the 200 mhz transducer anyway which is what is used by the 160/240.

You can always upgrade to the 240...same physical size and same wires...just swap units.

The views and/or opinions stated by the author in this post are the views and opinions of the author
Think Tweiss is offline  
Old 11-24-2003, 03:38 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,414
Default Garmin 160 F/F

Bluemelvin...if your 160 is cutting in and out, it means you have a bad connection in the power cable. Either your connector is corroded or...and more likely...the fuse holder and fuse are corroded. Many folks just eliminate the fuse holder all together..just cut the wire and splice it. Most people forget to check the fuse/fuse holder for corrosion...

The views and/or opinions stated by the author in this post are the views and opinions of the author
Think Tweiss is offline  
Old 11-24-2003, 03:52 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wilmington, N.C.USA
Posts: 1,077
Default Garmin 160 F/F

Thanks Think Tweiss, I will have to check the fuse holder. I tried cleaning the block that all the wires connect to but that didn't help much. It was kinda green too so I bet the fuse could use some help. I pulled the connection off the back of the unit and sprayed some CRC in there hopeing that would help some but it still cuts off.

Offshore, yes it marks okay. I pick up bait and ledges on the bottom in 50 to 80ft of water okay. I could use it while running in the waterway until I broke the transducer off the transom.( don't ask) After I epoxyed it back together I loose bottom every now and then.

Bluemelvin is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread