Notices

Floscan accuracy?

Old 12-10-2003, 08:44 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location:
Posts: 287
Default Floscan accuracy?

After reviewing my log book, my floscan was reading a consistent 8% high for my last 10 fill ups except for my last fill up when it was within 1%. On all previous fill-ups the motors had a lot more time run at idle or somewhere under cruise(3800-4200). The last fill up was after an offshore trip & 95% of the time was at cruise. Anyone else have this kind of discrepency? Any thoughts on fixing this problem. Thanks, Joe
JOE L is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 08:51 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Floscan accuracy?

I haven't had that discrepency but I did have to recalibrate mine one time. It had been reading within about a percent and then it just went off by 6 or 8 percent, don't really remember how much or even which direction to tell you the truth. Anyway I recalibrated it and everything has been fine since then.

We run pretty consistantly ourselves. A run out at cruise of about 2 hours, then a full day of trolling, followed by the run home, probably 2/3 of our fuel use is running, the other third trolling speeds.

Thom
Thom is offline  
Old 12-12-2003, 06:03 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,162
Default Floscan accuracy?

Mine has consistantly reported very close to 2% more fuel used than actually was used. That's with the previous two motors and the current motor. So, I know I have a little more in there than it says I do.

Thom,

I'd love to know have to do the recalibration thing. I have two sensors for mine. I changed them out one time just to see if there was a difference. Didn't notice any to speak of.

Something that has started to bother me though:

Mine has a Needle that marks GPH, somewhat like a speedo needle. The totalizer is a digital readout. Anyway, the needle seems to want to stick here of late. It'll be "stuck" at zero for a while, (in the meantime, the totalizer is still counting), then come to life and pop up well over where it should be reading. There again, the totalizer seems to function perfectly. I think it started when I had the Suzuki installed in 2000. They re-did all my wiring and sucked it up into the harness at the switch. I'm guessing it may be a bad ground.

Any thouhgts?

Shawnodese 19' Cape Horn 200 Suzy
capt_dalton is offline  
Old 12-12-2003, 06:03 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,162
Default Floscan accuracy?

Mine has consistantly reported very close to 2% more fuel used than actually was used. That's with the previous two motors and the current motor. So, I know I have a little more in there than it says I do.

Thom,

I'd love to know have to do the recalibration thing. I have two sensors for mine. I changed them out one time just to see if there was a difference. Didn't notice any to speak of.

Something that has started to bother me though:

Mine has a Needle that marks GPH, somewhat like a speedo needle. The totalizer is a digital readout. Anyway, the needle seems to want to stick here of late. It'll be "stuck" at zero for a while, (in the meantime, the totalizer is still counting), then come to life and pop up well over where it should be reading. There again, the totalizer seems to function perfectly. I think it started when I had the Suzuki installed in 2000. They re-did all my wiring and sucked it up into the harness at the switch. I'm guessing it may be a bad ground.

Any thoughts?

Shawnodese 19' Cape Horn 200 Suzy
capt_dalton is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread